We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Renovation Issues”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

When we arrived, we were told our Ocean Front villa would be ready at 3:30. At 5:00 they tell us the unit we were assigned would not be ready until the next day because of renovations. We were then told another unit would be ready by 5:30. Unfortunately, this unit had renovations going on and there was no TV, no hot water, shower handle was not hooked up ...plus other issues. Told the next day we could move in to the unit we were to have for the rest of the week by 11:00am. Did not get in until 5:00. As it turns out all the six units on right side of the property were under renovations. We had to walk through piles of building supplies on side walk and listen to workers all day.

The property is and has been in need of renovations for several years. Unfortunately the renovations going on are very low quality. What a shame. This is a beautiful property in a great location. The staff is great. We have stayed here four years in a row. Even with all the renovation issues, we like this property. Just wish they could get there act together and bring the property up to normal standards.

Room Tip: Ocean Villas number 1 and 14 are the best for the view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gtb315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
We thank you for staying at Blue Water Resort and are sorry to hear of the problems you encountered during your stay. We pride ourselves on providing excellent Customer Service to our Guests and addressing any and all issues with the utmost care and professionalism.

We are extremely excited to announce that all the interior renovations have been completed!

We look forward to having you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    104
    65
    30
    37
See reviews for
138
57
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Had a great time at The Blue Water Resort in Nassau. This was the first Caribbean vacation that we took as a family since the 2 kids were born, one 3 ½ and the other 18 months. Our 3 ½ year old has food allergies so we needed a unit that offered a nice kitchen for preparing ALL of our meals. Our unit was in great shape, had a great kitchen, dining room, living room area, 3 bedrooms, 2 ½ baths, large outdoor patio space and a short walk to the beach/pool area. This fit our needs perfectly. If you are looking for Atlantis, this likely is not for you - no glitz and glam. If you are looking for a small to medium sized family friendly resort in close proximity to grocery stores, shopping restaurants and down town Nassau then you may have found your resort.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 28, which is right accross from the office, furthest away from the beach/pool (only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you see all that Blue Water Resort has to offer! We are the best deal you will find on Cable Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I have been vacationing to the Bahamas for over 30 years so please trust me as this resort is not worth one minute of your precious vacation time. Vacations are supposed to be made up of happy memories not nightmares. So if you want to avoid the nightmares and have a great vacation avoid this resort. It use to be a nice place but has gone down hill steadily over the past four years.

Room Tip: There is no fitness room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
I am so sorry to hear about your displeasure with Blue Water Resort. Please find comfort in knowing all comments are thoroughly addressed with Resort Managers. We like to stay on top of these issues so that we can maintain our position as one of the most sought after resorts in Nassau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nassau hotels

dartmouth ns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My family of two adults and two children ( ages 15 and 12) stayed here for four nights from October 3rd to 7th. We were in garden villa # 19. When we arrived we were greeted by the heat, we are from the east coast of Canada so it was quite a change. I also don't really like the heat so I wasn't in a very good mood, I just wanted to get to the hotel and relax.

We got a taxi to the villa, it was around 24 dollars in American or bahamian money. Plus a tip. When we got to the resort, I was instantly dissapointed by the look of it, it looked rundown, and I'm not one who usually stays in five star hotels and resorts. But I usually stay in places that look better then that.

We checked in at the tiny office and we had to make a 100 dollar deposit in case of damage. We went to the villa and took a look around. When we got inside I was dissapointed again, the garden villas at least are smalller then they appear in the pictures. The bathrooms were tiny and the the connecting bathroom to the master bedroom had a bath towel across the window as a curtain, the villa wasn't really dirty, but my pillow case had some stains on it, all the furniture was tacky and so were the window curtains. There is also no air conditioning upstairs in the loft, it was so warm that my brother couldn't sleep up there.
Now the reason we booked this place was because there was lots of space, we don't like being cramped up in a small room. So as other reviews have said, it is not a hotel and there is no maid service.
Now I have stated some bad things, now I'll say some good: the kitchen is all new and redone, there was a small patio with a grill on it, there was plenty of space, the pool was nice, altough the beach was tiny and the tide was so high most of the time, there was also alot of seaweed and garbage that washed up. There were nice big hammocks at the pool area and a tiki bar. The ocean front villas were under construction while we were there, so I think they will eventually be renovation the whole place. There was wifi everywhere so I could chat with my friends while swinging in a hammock.

As for the location, it was alright... When we first arrived it looked kina run down, but I got used to it, there is a grocery store down the road a few minutes but it is VERY expensive. The is also a bakery within walking distance the has really good nepolians. There is a little pizza place that I can't recall the name of, but I think it milanos?
It was excellent. You can take the but to downtown Nassau, and walk around by where the cruise ships come in. The straw market is worth visiting, you can also take a boat over to Paradise Island, which we did, but didn't really enjoy because we don't really like all the touristy stuff, the fish fry is also an interesting place, but the owners of the shops are trying to get you to go to their restaurant, it's kinda annoying. Another odd thing about Nassau is they don't have real milk down there, so be aware.

If you're looking for a place to stay that had lots of space, and you don't really want to do the whole tourist thing and you can overlook the small flaws and you not too stuck up then this is a fine place to stay, but if you want to go all out and be waited on then don't stay here. Anyway I hoped this helped a little.

Greetings from Nova Scotia :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lhotp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you chose Blue Water Resort for your Vacation Rental! We pride ourselves on our Villas being the most spacious, affordable accommodations in Nassau!

We take all comments and feedback into consideration and have made the necessary improvements that will allow us to continue to be the best value in Nassau and that will keep our guests returning year after year!

We thoroughly enjoyed servicing you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to share the beauty of Blue Water!

Thank you again for your review!

Crystal at Blue Water
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Blue water resort is situated in a very nice location. 10mins walk to the grocery store, 5mins walk to restaurants, liquor store, etc etc. Private beach? Yes!!! What more can you ask for to have a relaxing moment for yourself? Sand Bar staff (Ruth & her mom) was soo accommodating. Thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Water Resort! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to share future vacations with us!

Happy Holidays!

Crystal at Blue Water
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
7.7 km away
Compass Point Beach Resort
8.8 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,564 reviews
9.4 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
6.0 km away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
1.5 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach

Property: Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau CB13317, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in November 2017. Blue Water Resort is a tropical escape. Relax in spacious three-bedroom ocean or garden villas. Step outside and enjoy the island breeze and sounds of the unending waves. Play tennis onsite or jump into the beautiful ocean-side pool. Treat yourself to the excitement of the nearby casino, go deep-sea fishing or put on your snorkel and fins. At night, visit Da Sand Bar & Grill for dinner, or visit the bright lights of Paradise Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Resort On Cable Beach Hotel Nassau
Blue Water Hotel
Blue Water Nassau
Bahamas Guanahani Village
Guanahani Village
Blue Water Resort On Cable Beach Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing