We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Caribbean perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterlemon Cay

Waterlemon Cay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.00*
and up
Annaberg Plantation and Waterlemon Cay Hike and Snorkel Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A short swim from Leinster Bay, you'll find some of the best snorkeling on this small island, with its plethora of marine life.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Caribbean perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

While Trunk Bay may get more visitors, Waterlemon Cay is the picture of an ideal Caribbean scene. The snorkeling is among the best on the island, and the hike not only gets your blood moving, it keeps the crowds away!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Davis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    133
    37
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sea Turtle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was our first stop at St. John. Beautiful and quite early in the am. We saw our only sea turtle there!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sprovonsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Riding, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best Snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We found this to have the best snorkeling on St. John. Saw my first stingray here! Coral has the most color on the island and best array of fish.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lupea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing snorkeling!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The area is a bit busy with boat traffic and there isn't really a beach to hang out on but the snorkeling around the cay was amazing. We rented a dinghy from Noah's Little Arks (which I'd totally recommend) and tied up to a mooring area around the island. Once we jumped in, we immediately saw a large stingray, followed by a couple sea turtles. All in all, it was definitely one of the top snorkel areas on St. John. I would highly recommend a visit here if you're into sea life.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sprockyrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling with Easy Access”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Highly recommend circling the Cay counter clockwise to take advantage of the current. The most coral is on the northwest corner.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreaming_Yachtsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterlemon Cay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Waterlemon Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing