We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
409
85
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
409
85
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt the penthouse continental breakfast rooms are small in town st john downtown location ferry dock mini fridge within walking distance other guests owners and staff place to stay spent one night perfect location two blocks every morning
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We go to St. John each year and while we have a villa, we could not stay there due to the storms. Our friends regularly stay at the CBBH so we knew the place. It was a no brainer where we'd stay when we visited after the storm. We could not use the Villa but could not stay away. This place is awesome. It's exactly what it claims to be - a boutique hotel. Denise and David become friends from day 1 and make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Recommendations and assistance in getting a boat to Jost was most helpful. We will be back in the spring to stay again. I highly recommend this to anyone for a day or a week or longer! Enjoy!

Room Tip: All are good. We had third floor in front.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vtdiver213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

My husband and I are yearly May visitors to St John. While we were there in May we knew we had to come back ASAP. Sincw we were both off for the a few days for the 4th of July and it would be St John Festival, we thought that would be a perfect time to return. I contacted the owner of the unit we were staying at in Cruz Bay but they were booked. I had heard good things about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel so we stopped by to check it out. It was very charming and spotless. We decided to boook it upon our return home.

The four nights we spent here were perfect. The rooms are small but we have realized over the years that St John is one destination in which we are NEVER in the room. A typical day for us is out by 9 AM, return around 4 PM, quickly change out of our bathing suits for happy hour, come home to shower and out again by 6:30 for sunset and dinner and the home to bed. The rooms are spotless and provided everythign we needed. The owners are extremely hospitable and friendly. The included light breakfast is a huge and totally sufficient. The huge perk was the cooler with ice!

I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay right in Cruz Bay. The location is absolutley perfect. We will definatley be back. We have realized that once a year is not enough for us.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

My friend and I stayed one night at this hotel and the service was EXCELLENT! Walking distance from the ferry and beach, restaurants and shop nearby. Room had AC comfy beds and a running shower that’s all we needed after a fun day at the beach. WIFI was kind of spotty in the rooms had to come out in the lounge area for better service. Breakfast was simple, oatmeal, yogurt and homemade cookies! Fingers crossed! I will be returning next year with my husband.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

This was our second stay at Cruz Bay Hotel. We were there last year, just a few months before the island was battered by the two Cat 5 hurricanes. At that time, we wanted an in-town place to stay on St. John at the beginning of a vacation that would take us to the BVI and eventually back to St. Thomas. We had read the great reviews but still had concerns about possible noise when we were trying to sleep. We are familiar with St. John and found it difficult to believe (in spite of David’s assurances when we called him to make our reservation) that a place in the midst of a bustling little town could really be quiet at night. But it was! And the comfortably firm bed and quiet, efficient air conditioning unit contributed to a restful sleep.
We returned this year, both because we like St. John so much and because we wanted to show support for the place as it rebuilds. We knew from last year that David and Denise are a very welcoming couple who made us feel at home. We were still touched to learn that immediately after the storms, they opened their hotel (whose sturdy construction and high capacity generators had kept it functioning), at no charge, to local families who had lost their homes.

Now, nine months after the storms, although The Westin and Caneel Bay are still shuttered, Cruz Bay is spruced up and bustling, with its large variety of restaurants and other services mere footsteps from the hotel. At Denise’s suggestion last year, we enjoyed dining at the Lime Inn, just across the street from the hotel and at La Tapa. Those are still reliable recommendations, but for variety, we asked for more suggestions, and we ended up with very good experiences at The Longboard, Morgan’s Mango, Ocean 362, and Da Livio, the excellent Italian restaurant on the first floor of the hotel.

The continental breakfast at the hotel, with Denise’s tasty banana or other fruit bread, is fine to get you started. If you are a big breakfast eater, an excellent choice for additional fare is the Cruz Bay Landing restaurant, just around the corner.

While last year we started our trip in St. John, this year we ended it there. We had already had lots of beach time in the BVI, so we did not spend time in the water. But when we took a hike with the National Park Service along the Lind Point Trail to Honeymoon Beach, we discovered that we did not have to walk back (thank goodness!) because a dinghy shuttle now operates every half hour between Honeymoon Beach and town. This is a great example of turning a necessity into a virtue. It is a necessity because you can no longer take a taxi to Caneel Bay and walk to Honeymoon since Caneel is closed. And it is a virtue because it makes the Cruz Bay Hotel feel much closer to the beach. You can walk down the street to the beach next to the Ferry Terminal and hop into the dinghy for a quick, very pleasant boat ride to Honeymoon, which is a gorgeous beach with all necessary comforts including a very good beach bar / restaurant.

Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is a fine pied-à-terre and suits our purposes well. And now, it feels even closer to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caribmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Visited St. John for work in May. Denise and David could not have been more helpful. We were there for three weeks and they took care of us like family. Cruz Bay Boutique has all the amenities you could ask for, and they are located right in the hear of town. The convenient locations made is possible to avoid getting in a car or worrying about a taxi. The hotel and rooms are very clean and accommodating. I wouldn't think twice about staying here again, upon my return.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews