We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Deal On Island--Loved It!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Tamarind Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Tamarind Court
Ranked #3 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Deal On Island--Loved It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

If you're seeking clean, secure and convenient BUDGET accommodations, you've found the best deal on the island. I stayed here in December for 5 nights, and loved it!

I did a ton of research, and narrowed my choices down to Maho's eco-cottages and this inn. My decision was based on my preferences and recent reviews, and the Inn exceeded all my expectations.

At check-in, I was informed there was no cable in my single room. So, the manager (Stephanie) surprised me with an early Christmas gift (a FREE upgrade to a queen & private bath).

Nice, large room with clean linen. Bamboo furniture with island feel. Cable TV. Daily housekeeping available. I preferred the ceiling fan, fresh air and sleeping to song birds over the A/C. No street noise, and a dog's seldom barking was not an issue. Free wifi & nightly bugs in courtyard. No wifi or bugs in room. Although my room was an exceptional value, I felt the single rooms with shared bath at $75/nt +tax were a bit too expensive.

Walk to supermarkets, shopping, restaurants, bars, etc. Hike to Honeymoon beach. Taxi to Cinnamon beach then taxi over to Trunk beach to compare. Take $1 Vitran bus to Coral Bay and explore & dine.

I recommend Starfish's bakery, watching both USVI tourist TV stations, taking the 2.5 hour island tour ($25), and the Beach Bar for live entertainment.

To summarize, I have nothing but high praise for both managers (Stephanie & Gina). Friendly, FIVE-STAR service. Thanks for making my stay a pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Request a room with a mini fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Global_Tourist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    48
    31
    26
    24
See reviews for
18
53
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Your comments on here worried me, but I went ahead and kept my reservations! I knew it was not a beach front resort, it was a place to sleep and get ready at befor my ventures out on the beautiful Island of St. John. It turned out to be clean and comfortable, I NEVER saw ANY bugs in my room or halls!!! unlike my friends staying at the resort!!! they had them in there room everyday!!! I sat in the cafe and on the porch with the managers and other guest who stay there often and even employees of the island that live there short term. they were all very friendly and very accommodating! the food was great and the drinks were perfect! I had use of FREE snorkel gear and fresh clean beach towels every day! and a short walk into town everyday was perfect! the price was right for me and I would stay there again! I had a wonderful experience!!!
THANK YOU TO ALL AT THE INN of Tamarind!!! Debbie :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDeeOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I have stayed here numerous times & have always had a great experience. True that it is not the Westin, but it's an awesome value. I paid $110 for a room with king bed, private bathroom, window A/C unit & tv. No frills but who's gonna do more in their hotel room than sleep when in beautiful St. John. I've always found the staff to be very friendly & helpful. The courtyard restaurant serves an awesome breakfast & features theme-night dinners 6 nights a week. The food is excellent, fairly priced & portions are huge. It's also a great gathering spot for drinks with the locals who always have a funny story to tell & tips to share. The Tamarind is located within walking distance of many restaurants, bars & shopping. If you're low-maintenance and don't need all of the amenities a large resort has to offer, this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdldallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

If you're looking for the Westin, then go to the Westin. If you are looking for a laid back, fun, friendly, family style local vibe then this is it!

Located in Cruz Bay, it's close to everything. No need for a car, just a short walk up the road to this friendly establishment. If you do have a car, the parking lot is right behind the inn and very convenient.

Get to know the others at the Tamarind bar located in their courtyard. Breakfasts are great and very affordable. Big screen TV's with sports and news.

The rooms are simple, but comfortable. Each has it's own air conditioner, TV and a place to hang your clothes. The towels and bed linens are clean and there is a "spiff up" service offered at no extra charge.

This is a great place to stay because it is very affordable and family friendly. I will be back and it won't be soon enough! Thanks Tamarind!

Dean

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deandoeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Location is th only thing thats really nice about the Inn. Room is small but ok if you just need a place to sleep and shower, Staff was not frinedly or really cared if your there or not. I am surprised that the owner is not very friendly and a spent more time talking to locals instead of guests , the old saying goes you never know who your talking to and treat ever one the same..This place needs a new proprietor plan and simple , one who cares about her guests , I was never told that breakfast was comp , or that there where beach towels , or that there were coolers until i spent all day gone to the beach ...The only plus was the A/C ... no blanket at all just a old sheet and two hard pillows oh well once you go you know...Location is the only selling point and far as price goes its hard to believethat they get 100.00 a night for a room the size of a childs room with no bathroom in the room ..

Room Tip: Choose a condo elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DEVigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cruz Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.1 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.6 km away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.6 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tamarind Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tamarind Court

Property: Inn at Tamarind Court
Address: Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quant Inn blends island charm, resonable rates and conveniently located in the town of Cruz Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tamarind Court Hotel Cruz Bay
Inn Tamarind Court
Inn At Tamarind Court St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing