We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Property, Great People, Book with Donald...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
be-22
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
be-22
be-9
be-12
be-11
be-5
be-16
be-20
be-29
be-31
be-19
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Winthrop...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Property, Great People, Book with Donald Schnell and family!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My fiancé and I stayed here and couldn’t be happier with the accommodations or the service received. We were lucky enough to stay at both the beach estate and beach villa ( see our review of the beach villa at it respective page) The beach estate is a great deal of house and was beautifully appointed with attention to detail at every turn. It was amazing to find details obviously created by the master craftsmen and women at Schnell studios hidden in the walls and lighting. The cascading landscape from master bedrooms, to hot tub, to pool and onto the beautiful beach is second to none and unforgettable. One subtle touch which I found particularly unique was the wrought iron gate at the top of the stairs to the beach. This added the feel of a much older dwelling and conjured thoughts of privateers. The outdoor lighting was artfully placed and created a magical ambiance each and every night. We also rented a jeep from Donald and it was practically brand new. I highly recommend renting the jeep from Donald as his rates are the most affordable and having the ability to travel at leisure is a huge bonus. The island is incredible and this villa is a great location to the center of town. We were a bit apprehensive about driving on the wrong side of the road but found we immediately adjusted after the first day. From that day forward we were competing to get to drive the jeep, it was so much fun! We would rather come to St. John than anywhere else. The locals are incredibly friendly and each and every night was a gift. Make sure to make the trip to Maho beach for a chance to see the turtles, it was one of our favorite parts of the trip. We would highly recommend any of Donald’s villas, as his properties and service are outstanding!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing, especially the cascading landscape !!!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connie s
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Getaway!!!!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Wonderful oasis! Everything we could ask for, wonderful pool, perfect for those relaxing days! Unique surroundings, loved all the details. Don and his son, were wonderful to work with, made it easy with all the arrangements made by them. Close to town. We rented a car and went from beach to beach snorkeling. Great kitchen and great to have laundry room. We will be back next year. Love, Love, Loved it!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the great location and pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericka636
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
“Love, Love, Love!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in July 2012

I absolutely LOVED this house!!! Perfect set up for a large family and BEAUTIFUL!! Close to town!!! We are heading back soon and plan to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The set up of the house, pool, and hot tub!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swiftmi
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
631 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Decent rental”
Reviewed 30 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this rental house with friends for a week. There are pros and cons to the house.
First the pros
Great location just a few minutes from town
On the water(although swimming is not the greatest here) but still a great spot to read in the afternoon
All bedrooms had there own bath and were private
Nice pool
2 refrigerators which was helpful with a full house
Kitchen was sufficiently equipped

Now the cons
We had one room where the air conditioner did not work and it took 4 days to get fixed
Although there are TV's in the bedrooms there are not working remotes for most
There are safes in each of the 5 bedrooms but only 2 had keys to be able to use them
We were not given keys to one of the bedrooms and after requesting them they were never supplied. This couple put valuables in another room to be locked up when we were gone.
He hot tub broke and was still not working 4 days later when we left.
Overall it appeared the house needs some maintenance

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Maintenance issues
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annieisla...
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful rental - Beach not so great”
Reviewed 19 February 2012 for a stay in June 2010

We stayed in the Beach Estate in June, 2010. I had a difficult time finding this on Trip Advisor to write my review....

Home was unique and very nice. Clean kitchen with everything you could want...

The bedrooms were very nice and very clean. The entire villa was "outside" which was good and bad... Our daughter was eaten alive by mosquitoes the first few nights, so we went to bed early. The view was incredible from early morning until late in the evening and there were plenty of Iguanas living at our house which we loved!

The only downfall about this rental and many others in St. John is the beach. You have to drive to the North Shore beaches...the beach here is more of a step down into the water and there are boats everywhere...you cannot swim or snorkel here for the most part. The villa is right next to the Westin which also has a man made beach. Nothing like the north shore beaches.....just know that if you are staying here. We have been back to St. John and we stayed at Caneel Bay which is roughly the same price, but a slice of heaven...you are on Caneel Bay and the location can't be beat!

All in all, I would return to St. John over and over again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house was unique and very
Liked least: The location and some of the quality was falling apart...I also didn't like that the bedrooms were all outside....we had kids in our room the whole stay
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing