We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“week stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“week stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

breakfast good rooms clean food in hotel v good although wetherspoons v close for change

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    35
    34
    59
See reviews for
34
44
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Stayed for two nights, really enjoyed this cosy hotel. The bedding was fresh and the place was very clean. The Sunday roast was super and great value! Will defo stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desijat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We are four retired nurses and we have been going to the Castle Hotel for the past two years. We had our Christmas lunch recently and we must stress how beautiful and tasty it was, the quality of all courses was superb and so is the Sunday lunch. The Castle Hotel is a family run hotel with ver friendly staff who give you a good welcome and cannot do enough for you. We have recommended thishotel to family and friends and we will continue to dine there.... karil, Sue, Phyllis and Norma. X x x x

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

i have been staying in this hotel (room 304) for the last number of weeks and find it hard to find a fault with it.

The staff and management are very friendly and helpful. The waitress's have a lovely manner and very professional. The food is very tasty with good variety on the menu. The beers flow well and always a relaxed atmosphere in the bar.

The rooms are always clean and well presented. Never short of hot water. The rooms are spacious and have all the required accesories. The free wifi comes in handy too. Secure parking lets me sleep easy at night.

It is ideally located and only one nite i heard any noise on the streets which was minor.

Overall, i find it great value for money and would recommend to check the place out for yourself rather than believe some of the shocking reviews it has got.

thanks to all at the hotel for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skippy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

i have stayed so many hotel in thuis area,this is the best one,welcome reception.rooms very comfort free internet ,lovely food ,sky tv in bar area,nice shower and bath.clean room.comfort bed,i recomended to my working mates.third time in two months and definitely coming back again. again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merthyr Tydfil
0.4 km away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.8 km away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.1 km away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
9.9 km away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
12.5 km away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Merthyr Tydfil
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb privately owned hotel situated in the town centre with 45 En Suite rooms fully modernised and tastefully decorated, with telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, T.V, Hairdryer, trouser press. etc., Excellent menu's available including a la carte evening menu, off road secure parking. Convenient for all local routes and town facilities such as law courts, civic centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Merthyr Tydfil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing