We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
200
242
127
76
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
242
127
76
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sapphire beach st john stayed in building grocery store two story other islands corner unit laid back snorkeling equipment rental car full kitchen bar and grill burger negative reviews vrbo marina condo
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We stayed one night before starting the rest of our vacation. We couldn't find check in, nothing was labeled, the office smelled, and our unit was dirty and in need of updating. When I went to complain saying that the price we were compensated some money. Unfortunately there were no other units available. He did tell me that we were staying in one of the worst units. I saw that some of the other units were renovated and looked beautiful. The beach and water are beautiful so we spent most of our short stay there so we wouldn't have to be in the room. Check the unit you are staying in before going.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank candygirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Excellent would go back again had a fabulous time room was right on beach loved it everything was right there beautiful pool and ocean at your footstep lots of water activities and other islands are close by

Room tip: B106/7 right on beach
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank abdistef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We rented our place in Building B (Corner Unit) from a private owner. It was luxurious, comfortable & we did not want to leave. The views as we walked through the front door were jaw dropping. The beach was so close (maybe 25 steps) and we walked it every morning & every night. Our condo had a full kitchen so we cooked our meals & enjoyed them on our balcony outside. There is a super nice chair guy who will deliver your beach chair to the place of your choosing. He is a wealth of knowledge. There is a pool bar on site that serves drinks, sandwiches which were all very good. Our unit came with snorkeling equipment, so we would go out early in the morning to check out the beautiful creatures in the live coral reefs. It was like floating on top of an aquarium! The water is crystal clear, warm & mesmerizing! We have already booked our next vacation there this fall. It's a perfect spot for a relaxing, fun, getaway. Warning: some condos are in a rental program & have not been updated. Steer clear. Be sure to rent your condo from a private owner using a site such as HomeAway & VRBO.

Room tip: Rent your condo from a private owner.
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank YorkieLover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We were booked at the Crystal Cove but were "upgraded" to the Sapphire Beach Resort. Only thing we could figure is that all the balconies open over the beach which was gorgeous. The studios are large but very dated and in need of major updating. Rooms were clean though and service was good. Great for a few days but not for a long vacation. Wifi service was poor.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bobsadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

First, let me start by saying, if you're going to stay here, you really need to book a condo through an owner. There are so many beautiful condos listed on VRBO and the owners take pride in them. They are very well maintained and absolutely stunning. (No, I am not an owner). Just take a little time and do some research and you will have an amazing time. Everything is so new and clean and the views are out of this world. Our condo had a fully stocked kitchen so we went grocery shopping and made breakfast every morning. There’s no better way to have breakfast than sitting on a balcony with a beautiful view!

The resort itself is very nice. There was little bit of construction in the parking lot but it didn’t bother us at all. It's a safe, gated community. The beach is wonderful. It is a public beach so it could get crowded if cruise ships are in, however we never had a problem with over-crowding. The snorkeling here is also amazing. There’s a little full service beach bar there that also serves burgers and dogs and other sandwiches. They also have live music, which was a lot of fun. They do stop serving food at 5 and close at 6. Having the beach bar there was a huge plus for us. Otherwise, there were really no restaurants around. There is a small restaurant up the hill called Slice that serves mostly pizzas. They also have a full-service bar.

We rented a car, which we were very happy we did. We got to see a lot of the island. We went to Coki Beach and Megan’s Bay, but Sapphire Beach is just as wonderful as they are. We got used to driving on the left side. A couple of times we did take a taxi at night to go in Red Hook for dinner. Red Hook is minutes away and $4 per person. The taxi stand is right by Building A and there was always at least one taxi there. There is also a marina on sight which is very convenient if you want to rent a boat or go on a dinner cruise or a snorkel adventure. We also caught the ferry out of Red Hook to spend the day at St. John.

Overall this was a wonderful trip! We enjoyed it so much, we will be coming back. The condo owner we rented from was a very gracious host and was very responsive to any questions we had. There’s no doubt in my mind that I want to become a regular at this resort!

Room tip: First floor condos can walk right out to beach. Second floor condos are more private and have balcony with a better view
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank JanetLitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews