We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
528
167
37
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
167
37
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service sugar beach coki beach free shuttle amazing views rum punch akers ellis nature trail shoreline restaurant middle pool st thomas lower pool wrap around balcony golf cart private beach bar grill our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

I couldn't have imagined a more relaxing time. Beautiful, clean rooms with an incredible view of the ocean. The staff were friendly and were eager to make our stay comfortable as possible. We had direct access to Pineapple Beach and Sugar Beach which we used every day during our stay. Red Hook, a local retail destination with restaurants, is only a few minutes away on the free shuttle. We got food from the local grocery store in Red Hook and used the kitchen to make ourselves meals, which we took out to the balcony to eat while admiring the beautiful view. I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and the local restaurants and beaches. There is nothing better than relaxing on the balcony and taking in the sea breezes and the view. Thanks so much for joining us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The view from our room (and I assume all or most rooms) was incredibly beautiful. This in itself was reason to stay here.

Our room was a one bedroom, maybe 700 square feet which is plenty for two. It had a wrap around patio, half covered, for enjoying the views outside and glass doors for enjoying them from inside.

The location is also great. A very short taxi or shuttle ride into Red Hook and easy walking distance over to Coki Beach.

What's not great, is the attitude management (some of the front desk people) seem to have about owners/renters not within the main management company, which our room is not. Some treated us like undesirables while others were as pleasant as could be.

It did not ruin our vacation, but it was weird and noticeable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

We are pleased that you enjoyed you visit to the Point Pleasant property. But to be clear, this Trip Advisor listing is for Point Pleasant Resort (It is a Trip Advisor business listing for the resort).

The reviewer above was not a guest of Point Pleasant Resort but a guest of an owner who privately rents their villa on their own inside the greater Point Pleasant community. It is important to point out that most resort services are exclusively for guests staying through Point Pleasant Resort.

For more information, please feel free to contact the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

How could a once in a lifetime trip be any better? Everything at PPR was FUN, relaxing, friendly, clean, & respectful of the environment (although recycling needs to happen on St. T)

Our condo B16 which we LOVED (but had many steps up and down to it), had a technical problem on day 2, so PPR re-located us to B6, different, but also lovely. We especially liked the wrap around balcony and privacy of B16. In B6 we watched wildlife from our balcony, and because I'd had a foot injury prior to our visit, the PPR shuttle = FANTASTIC DANNY!!!! hauled us up and down to the lobby as we needed. The free PPR shuttle/taxi took us to the beach, ferry, grocery shopping, too. One day we rode the Safari dollar bus into Charlotte Amalie. It was easy to do, (a hot day and we are SO grateful for public transportation that is $1-2.)

Sugar Beach and the bay were a walk down, even though small beach, everyone was friendly with 3-4 families or individuals at most any time; and it was a favorite place to snorkel all the way to Pineapple Beach. So much coral and kinds of fish to see. Wildlife, plant medicine, underwater, staff shared their knowledge with us.

A simple thing like providing us with locally made soap in the bathroom, to the rum punch in the lobby, the service was professional and friendly. We found bringing earth friendly insect repellent helpful, and found coral-safe non-toxic sunscreen to wear. The sun is hot and we came from winter, so these were very important as well as wearing a wetsuit skin as we spent hours in the water. This vacation was a real splurge for us, but we would do it again in a heart beat if we could. We also think it is important to tip the many service people who assisted us. Tipping is an important way to say "thank you" as well as provide a living wage for the main industry of the island - tourism. Thank you to ALL the staff, including the ones we did not see such as maintenance, grounds, cleaners, laundry - without them, the quality offered at PPR would not exist. Lobby staff - communications system that helped us with all our questions and transportation. **Vincia**, Lydia, J'Nise, Latifa, Dean, Luiz ,DANNY, and apologies to anyone I have not mentioned.
Coki Beach is more "commercial" so umbrellas & chairs may be rented, food is good and available and the snorkeling was good. On St John, we went to Trunk Beach, but no umbrellas! Be sure to check your beach guide for these things before you go, and if you are watching your $$ add up your expenses for ferry, taxi, entry fee to Nat'l Park so you bring enough cash USD for the day.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank b r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. The fragile environment is what makes the resort so beautiful, and we truly appreciate your respect for the eco system.

Our staff is so pleased that we could assist you in getting around with your injured foot, as the terrain can be a bit challenging. That's why we offer the shuttle services and we encourage our resort guests to use them.

So glad that you were able to take advantage of the many special spots that our island offers. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We stayed in one of the villas for a week for our honeymoon. The view was just breathtaking, we had a wall of sliding glass doors that looked right out onto the ocean. There was even a small kitchenette if we didn't want to eat out every night.

The staff simply has to be the friendliest I've ever met. They are there to help and make sure your stay is a pleasant (no pun intended) as possible. They're an excellent resource for activity and restaurant recommendations! The resort itself is surrounded by mature tropical trees and plants. There are three pools, a fitness center, a restaurant/bar, and the lobby gives out the most delicious rum punch every day! They also offer a complimentary shuttle to the nearby town of Redhook and all the nearby beaches and marinas. There's also Sugar Beach and Pineapple beach right at the resort and they are beautiful! Complimentary snorkel gear was also given to us and we used it quite a bit.

Certain nights of the week they have special events for guests -- delicious complimentary appetizers are supplied and the live steel drum music was really cool. It's a great way to get to know some of the staff and other guests.

We would absolutely love to make it back here some day!

Room Tip: The villas closest to the shoreline offer the best views
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hylian_warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

We love that you chose Point Pleasant as your honeymoon destination, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in making sure that our guests have a great time. The resort has much to offer, and it's terrific that you were able to experience much of our amenities...plus the beautiful view! Congratulations and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Point Pleasant. This is our 2nd Spring trip in a row to stay here, and we will definitely be planning another trip soon. The resort offers amazing views and nice amenities for swimming. We like that this location is close to the St John Car Ferry for easy day trips to St. John. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

And we can't wait to see you next spring! Thanks so much for making Point Pleasant your go-to vacation spot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews