We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Beware, don't buy here. We bought at a so-called discount with a maintenance fee of $641 a week. Third year it went to $741. Forth year $841 plus a special fee of $875. That's more then we paid staying at a top rated hotel on St. Johns last year.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Greg R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

We returned to STT and Flamboyan (aka Magen's Point Resort / MPR) in March for our annual visit. (Full disclosure - we are interval villa owners).

As usual, we found the resort to be clean, laid back and as we've mentioned before - like our 2nd home. The staff welcomed us and our room was ready. In the unit we found new linens (new bedspreads and sheets are great - but nothing feels better than new, fluffy towels). We did find that our bathroom was missing its window blinds but this was not an issue and we understand they will be replaced soon.

We met some new folks to the resort and gave them the usual advice - rent a car, driving is not impossible and can actually be fun, go to the "bulk" grocery stores for the best buys and of course, recommendations on restaurants and bars. And be sure to head down to Magens Bay beach for breakfast. Go early, order your food, get a seat on the deck and wait for the cruise ship folks to pour in - it's one of the cheapest and most entertaining shows on the island.

Flamboyan / MPR continues to improve the resort and for those not familiar with island "issues" or more to the point - how things progress in the caribbean, this can be more challenging than you can imagine. Nothing is cheap or happens as fast as the owners or visitors want but that's part of "island time". Please accept that this is not the Waldorf Astoria, take a deep breath, be respectful, enjoy the view and beverage/ cocktail and kick back. Nothing will be perfect today and tomorrow looks doubtful. If you accept "island time", your trip will be much better. Our borrowed slogan is "Be a traveler - not a tourist".

We hope you enjoy Flamboyan / MPR as much as we do. We've been coming back since '91 and look forward to our visit each year.

Many THANKS to Lori, Viola, Mercedes, Mike and all the Staff for another great visit. Looking forward to 2018!


Cheers,

L&J
Miami Beach

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JRD33141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Food was trendy and delicious! Vegetarian friendly. No kid menu, but our two split a burger and fries. We sat outside by the pool. Super pleasant. Great service. Not busy. A little pricey, but worth it

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank AmandaBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the resort to attend our daughter's wedding while she was in port on a cruise. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We did not rent a car. We took taxis everywhere, which can add up, but we are not interested in driving in St. Thomas. Room was okay. Needs updating and attention. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The food at the restaurant was good and staff there were friendly. The resort is close to Magen's Bay, but there is very little shoulder on the road to walk there. We did walk down and took a taxi back.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sugarsm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

This was my second visit to the resort to celebrate my friend's birthday who lives on island. The event was hosted at the resort. Excellent!

The property is charming (two nice pools and hot tubs), friendly accommodating staff (Lori the GM is super), comfortable rooms (stove, frig, microwave -- but it didn't take pictures , complete set of dishes; pots & pans). The hotel is located just two minutes from magnificent Magens Bay Beach.

The restaurant onsite offers good food and drinks at fair prices. The bartender named, Fish is a kool guy.

Cup & Cork is an awesome onsite coffee house. Awesome drinks and food! Say hello to Lee Ann.

Have fun.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magens Bay
6.4 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
640 reviews
2.1 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
25 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,821 reviews
7.5 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
718 reviews
5.4 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas

Address: 6200 Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas (Formerly Magens Point Resort)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Magens Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Price Range: €171 - €244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas is a two and a half star, unpretentious and very relaxed resort facing Magens Bay. Our facilities include two restaurants, one Italian finer dining featuring a wine-mojito bar, and the pool sports bar with burgers, bbq, pizza and sandwiches. We offer two Jacuzzis, tennis courts, a coffee-deli-wine on site shop with breakfast, a gaming room, a small fitness center offering also yoga, zumba and massage services. All our studios and villas have been tastefully redone, and are fully equipped with kitchenettes, microwaves and small fridges, plus energy efficient air conditioning units. Most units also face Magens Bay, and you can wake up to spectacular views of the bay, or watch the sun set from your balcony while sipping the cocktail of your choice. Last year RCI awarded us recognition for excellence in hospitality services, and since 2010 we have spent hundreds of thousands of dollars upgrading our facilities. We may not be for everyone, true. But if you are looking for that "limin" effect that locals brag about.. come stay with us. We promise you an unforgettable experience. Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas is what the islands should be all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magens Point Hotel Magens Bay
Magens Point Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing