We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & Great People”

Coconuts Bar & Grill
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Coconuts is known locally as one of the oldest bar & grills in Downtown St Thomas. Since 1981. Located between Main Street & Backstreet. Upper Trompeters Gade. Cold Drinks. Great Food. Backstreet Bushwackers.
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped here on the advice of some fellow cruise passengers and I am so glad we did!! They had just reopened in late April due to storm damage and it did not disappoint , the new owners are amazing and are transplants from Colorado and I have to say the salsa they make is the BEST salsa I have EVER had! Everything we ate was amazing, you can not go wrong with anything you choose on the menu.. The bar is tiny but trust me it will be your new fav bar each time you return to the island , it certainly is our new fav!!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank CruisinInTheSun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne G, Owner at Coconuts Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Ahoy There!
Hope you had a great rest of your vacation, good to hear from you! Glad you found us in downtown Charlotte Amalie and enjoyed our housemade salsa. We are now making our own chips to go along with it. We will be sure to have some ready the next time you visit us in St. Thomas :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018

We have been stopping at Coconuts for years every time we cruise to St. Thomas. After the hurricane we wanted to support the local economy so we stopped in again for lunch. They have just reopened after renovations and they have new owners who are the nicest couple.

Sadly the dollar bills that previously totally lined the walls and ceiling have been replaced with a fresh coat of paint. Since they had just reopened a few days before, we proudly affixed dollar bills #3 and 4 to the bare walls (got to start somewhere).

The food and drinks are just as good, if not better than before. The burgers are great and we will be back again. While nothing fancy, it a great place to grab a bite and some beers.

Lou and Cindy D.

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank loudbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne G, Owner at Coconuts Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Hey there #3 & 4!!
Thanks for helping reignite the tradition of dollar bills on the walls of Coconuts! Your continued support means a lot to us. It was great to meet you and look forward to seeing you again next time. We will keep the burgers delicious and the beer cold for ya :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

I found Coconuts in this small alley while I was going for a stroll down the mainstreet of Charlotte Amalie. I had a lunch outside but you can also sit inside if you prefere it that way.

The food was good and for a good price since it quite expensive in Charlotte Amalie it was a pleasant surprise to find this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank L8391ZTsaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne G, Owner at Coconuts Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you so much for coming by and for the review! Coconuts weathered the storms and we expect to be open again soon! Please stop by again when you're downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

They have it all ice cold a/c, great value foods compared to the other restaurants in the area! Also owners are almost always there to talk to wonderful couple. Plus great great drinks and out side seating is very nice laid back vibe!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank HonestyHurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 September 2017

We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us at Coconuts! Thank you for the great review! Look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem in town!!! Alton the bartender was awesome! He served up the BEST Bushwhackers & painkillers! The coconut shrimp is delicious! The new owner was there & such a great guy! This is a must stop on the island!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank KELBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 September 2017

We appreciate the excellent feedback and are so happy you enjoyed the good and drinks! Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconuts Bar & Grill also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Coconuts Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing