We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,430)
Filter reviews
4,430 results
Traveller rating
1,693
1,416
758
359
204
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,693
1,416
758
359
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviews morning star frenchman's reef aqua terra coco joes the main hotel harbor wing sunset grill rum bar swim up bar adventure center main pool sea cliff infinity pool night kayaking garden view st thomas tennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 4,430 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017

needed to stay in the area before loading onto a catamaran. Nice hotel with lovely beach. Service could be a little faster but you need to operate on island time. Enjoyed seeing the iguanas on the grass, using the beach toys and having a cocktail at sunset. Breakfast buffets were plentiful.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank SherryG487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear SherryG487,

It is great to hear you enjoyed your time at our resort before embarking on your catamaran cruise, and that you loved all that our resort had to offer for all ages!

Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed our lovely beaches, cocktails at sunset, and meeting our little friends on the island, the Iguanas! We are happy to hear that you were very pleased with our plentiful and delicious breakfast buffet!

We appreciate your review, and hope one day we will welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

I went on a sunset sail on June 24, 2017 with 8 of my guests located at the Marriott dock. From the time we boarded the catamaran we were treated like royalty. Our glasses were always full and the food was very tasty. We loved the pulled pork the most. The crew was helpful taking group pictures and the temporary tattoo at the end of the trip was a special treat. We didn't want to leave at the end of the trip and were ready to do it again. I highly recommend the Vi Cat over other sailboats on the island for a sunset cruise.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank islandmon1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear gltrager,

Thank you for your rave review on your catamaran cruise from our resort, and letting others know you would highly recommend, especially for a sunset cruise!

We appreciate your review, and hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We stayed in the Morning Star section in summer 2010 and we were spoiled on the access to the beach and laid back and quiet vibe of the place. So much so, that now we are planning a similar adventure and I am having a hard time choosing another island and hotel based upon my fond memories of the trip!

Room tip: we chose ground floor..way to go!
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Anne G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful and memorable experience with us, and to let us know you are looking forward to returning to celebrate your 40th! We are happy you will once again have the chance to experience so much of what our property offers!

We agree that the Frenchman's Reef is beautiful and picturesque, and we look forward to welcoming you back again - hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We stay at Marriott hotels when we can this one is below par. The property is in need of upgrading. We were at the Morning Star which is right on the beach(Nice) but the linens were worn and the room was dated.
We would not stay there again, it was not awful but not up to what we consider Marriott standards.

Room tip: If you want to be on the beach choose the Morning Star rooms
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Tommy S,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the many areas where we did not excel during your stay with us. We greatly value your opinion and want you to know it is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way.

We are glad to hear you loved your beach time, and location of your accommodations at the Morning Star, but learning how we disappointed a guest in so many ways while staying a few days with us is not something we take lightly. As the new general manager on property I will agree with you that there is a lot of work to be done and I am working to address each and every issue you brought up. From maintenance to staff training, we have a lot of work to do to enhance our guest experience and I really value your expert traveler's opinion on the areas in which we are falling short.

Guests like yourself put a lot of faith in the Marriott name, and we will be working hard to make sure our resort offers the quality, and hospitality that our guests have come to expect when staying at one of our properties. We do hope one day, to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Not the best place to stay on the island. The food is very expensive and there are no other options. The staff can be hit or miss. Some are excellent and others are downright rude. The beach is lovely but the waters are rough. It's s hike from the main building to the beach but there is a shuttle for a tip of course. No ice in the beach area so I had to purchase daily. I'm not impressed. This place is a wallet buster and I will not return.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Amyjsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Amyjsloan,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and providing such detailed comments.

We are glad you enjoyed the beach and pools while here with us.

We are sorry that you did not find that our property offered a good value in regard to food and beverage costs. Our rates are competitive with other full‐service hotels that offer similar levels of amenities, services and facilities. However, if we were not able to communicate that value for your travel dollar, then we do indeed apologize.

We do hope you will return to our resort, we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews