We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottages By The Sea
Nearby Hotels
The Fred(Frederiksted)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$343/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Club Comanche(Christiansted)
US$244
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
US$278
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
US$505
US$338
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
US$713
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
276
61
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
276
61
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorchart houselaid backthe crow's nestfull kitchencompass roseyour feetbottle of rumbeach toysother guestsown mealsrented a carfew stepsbeautiful beachgrocery storest croixsandy point
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2017

I just got back home from a week long stay at Cottages by the Sea. This was my first trip to St. Croix and I think Cottages by the Sea made me enjoy it that much more! I can't imagine staying anywhere else. This place is beautiful, just steps from the beach, and so peaceful! We were in Caribe cottage and it was perfect. We made breakfast for ourselves every morning and enjoyed it on our patio with a view that didn't seem real. I will definitely be staying here again if/when I come back. Thank you to everyone on the staff, we truly enjoyed our visit and you all were great :)

Room Tip: We used the map on the website and pictures on Facebook to help make our decision.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at Cottages By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Caribe is a great cottage, so we are so glad that you were able to stay there and enjoy the excellent view. We appreciate that you took the time to give us a great review and we are even more grateful that you had a nice, relaxing vacation because that is what we strive to provide to our guests. We hope you are able to relax with us again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

I have a hard time not telling everyone I know about this place. This was our second visit and we do not even think of staying elsewhere. It is perfect. We stayed in the Cone cottage this year. It was great. The map of the property on their website is not scaled correctly (in a good way). The cottages toward the 'back' of the property just does not allow you to SEE the water. It is truly just 5 or 10 more steps to the beach as the beach front cottages. You cannot go wrong here. Ruth was tremendous with us setting the reservation. We had an extra person on this trip and they accommodated us for their 1/2 off discounts. The office staff and housekeeping is top notch. I have nothing negative to say. We are already planning the next 2 trips back!!! The cottages are basic -not fancy at all but they have everything you need. It is peaceful and beautiful and perfect.

Room Tip: There is not a bad choice. Whether you can see the water or not, you are 10-20 steps from you cottage door to the water.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at Cottages By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hi Celia, this is Ruth. I am so glad that you enjoyed Cone Shell, my personal favorite cottage, and thank you for describing the distance of the "off the water" cottages to the beach. I talk to people all day, every day, who can't envision just how close all of the cottages are to the beach, so thank you for describing that. We do look forward to your next visit, and thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

A quaint family owned hotel that has unique cottages for your stay. As we were planning our vacation we appreciated the quick email replies to our questions and booking was easy online. The units are small so you may need to book 2. The 2nd cottage was half off which made our stay affordable. We looked at several resorts on the island and this was by far the best property we found. No matter which unit you choose, you are only a few steps away from the beach and ocean.

Each unit is different in size, decorations, and amenities. To accommodate our family of 6 we stayed in the Commodore and Crew which were next door to each other (no inner door to adjoin the rooms). The Commodore had a full kitchen while the crew had a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. There are some units that do have an inner adjoining door if this is something you need.

Units:
*Very close to the ocean and beach
*Keypad entry – you set your own 4 digit code – no room keys to worry about. Having 4 kids coming and going – this feature was fantastic!
*Beds were very comfortable and had lots of pillows
*Rooms were modern but dated. Clean (or as clean as a place can be with all the sand being tracked all over). We did have “ants” in the kitchen area. There was spray for us to use and that seemed to help. Please note that we are sure most (if not all) places in a tropical environment will have some sort of bug. It just goes with the territory.

Property:
*Plenty of beach chairs, umbrellas
*Complimentary kayaks, beach toys, snorkeling gear (most left from past guests)
*Quiet beach – only 2 hotels share a very long beach area. On either side the beach is open to the public. Locals used the beach but it never felt busy or full.
*Close to Frederiksted which had several restaurants, shops, and some sightseeing.
*Staff were very friendly & helpful. The ”front desk” was not always staffed but there was a number to call if you needed anything. ( If you are used to a big resort service this place may not be for you). We LOVED the small, quiet, private feeling this hotel offered. You are on Island time and things are relaxed as a vacation should be. We appreciated Jennifer – she was friendly and always helpful!
*There are some resort cats that roam about. Kids loved them! They are not overly friendly but they did allow the kids to pet them occasionally. They are just around. Well cared for but not a nuisance.
*Sundays & Wednesdays are green days – no housekeeping so you need to plan accordingly
*Water is safe to drink
*Air conditioners & Fans in the rooms
*Enjoyed the outside sitting areas
*Restaurant next door (another hotel)

2 grocery stores a short drive away – Stop & Shop was convenient (under 5 minute drive). Most items were a little more in price than what we were used to paying. This was true for most of the island. The Market Plaza was about a 10 minute drive and had a better produce/meat section.

Safety:
We felt safe for our entire trip. We were mindful not to be out after dark.
Resort was small enough that the kids could walk around and go back and forth from the room to the beach.

Summary:
Our family is used to the typical big box hotel chain/resort stay. We loved this place and would stay again. By staying here you trade 24hr service and some amenities for quiet, casual family time. We enjoyed the flexibility of cooking for ourselves or eating out. We didn’t mind washing dishes and didn’t need constant “entertainment.” This property was a perfect choice for us. It came close to Glamping (Glamorous Camping). We were comfortable without the fuss.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4girls4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at Cottages By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice, detailed review. Commodore is a great cottage (Crew still needs to be updated), and we are glad your family enjoyed your stay in those cottages. He are happy that you broke away from the chain/resort style hotel and gave us a chance! We are a different atmosphere, but from reading the reviews on this page today, I am reminded that being small and different works for a lot of people, so, for that, we are grateful. We hope your family visits with us again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

The cottage faced the water, the sound of the surf was very relaxing and comforting. The staff was cordial. If you are looking to kick back and relax, with the family, this is the place. You can cook in your own kitchen or eat out

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank camhein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at Cottages By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thanks for this kind and spot on review. Our goal is to be a quaint and relaxing get away for our guests. Please visit with us again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

A comfortable, relaxing group of cottages nestled along a long stretch of white sand beach on the west end of St. Croix just minutes from Frederiksted. Attractive, comfortable, well-maintained accommodations with all the comforts of home. The property is beautifully landscaped, and each cottage is only a few steps from the beach. There is nothing like relaxing in a lounge chair under the plans that line the beach or snorkeling with the fishes in the Caribbean sea. The resort is about a mile from Frederiksted, one of two historic towns on St. Croix, and an easy bike ride on one of the classic bikes available at the cottages. Although there are no dining facilities on the island, the adjacent resort has an award winning restaurant and great bar. There is also great music and many dining options in town. A perfect, secluded beachside getaway with easy access to the activities of town.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandDweller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at Cottages By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review. You may be happy to hear that we just got all brand new bikes and a new kayak! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us on our little stretch of beach, and we hope that you come to visit with us again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews