We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Fred(Frederiksted)
US$191
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
US$207
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
US$383
US$338
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
US$379
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
281
61
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
281
61
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorchart houselaid backfull kitchenthe crow's nestbottle of rumyour feetown mealsbeach toysother guestsrented a carfew stepsbeautiful beachst croixgrocery storesandy pointcalm waters
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We just returned from a week at the Cottages and have nothing but good things to say about this amazing place.

It´s located right on one if the most beautiful beaches I´ve seen in my life and very close to some others, just as beautiful and peaceful. Excellent for swimming, snorkelling or just relaxing. What we most appreciated about Cottages on the beach was the incredible peace and quiet. The place was full and yet there was not a sound other than the gentle waves. If what you´re looking for is true peace and disconnection from the world, this is the place for you.

Our cottage had a fully equipped kitchen, a very comfortable bed, air conditioning, private balcony and a wonderful shower. The forniture and equipment are brand new, or at least they seemed brand new. Maintenance is obviously a priority at this place. They offer snorkeling equipment (great snorkeling, we even saw a turtle) and beach amenities, all in an excellent condition. The beach and the whole complex are very clean and well maintained. Wifi works great, and they also offer a computer with Internet in case you don´t have your own device.

All beaches are public in St Croix (as they should be everywhere) which is great, although on weekends (and only on weekends) many locals come to the beach and they listen to their music at a VERY loud volume. Truth is we didn´t mind this at all, but it´s worth to mention here.

A few tips:

1. Get a car. The nearest grocery store is only a 5 minute ride but it´s impossible to walk down there. There are no sidewalks. You can pick it up at the airport, which by the way is only 20 minutes away. There is a restaurant next door and it offers great food, but we found it a bit expensive, at least to eat there every day. We got groceries and cooked in our cottage, and it was really great. Also, Sandy Point National Park is a short drive and it´s absolutely wonderful. Do not miss it! They´re only open weekends.

2. Bring a LOT of insect repellent. Otherwise, you´ll suffer the consequences.

We are really looking forward to going back. We LOVED this place.

Thanks to Lyndy and Paul for their kindness, and also to Jennifer, who was really nice.

Hope we´ll see you again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Queencitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We stayed 10/4 - 10/11/14. The first four nights we stayed in the Crows Nest. Older unit, but a great charmer. Sitting outside on patio and listening to the ocean was great! The only thing that would help it is if there was a fan on the patio, sometimes was a little stuffy. Also, at night make sure you have bug spray...critters are sneaky and before you know it you have a few little bites! Last three nights we stayed in the Carnival Room. The reason the resort only gets 4 stars was because of some issues we encountered in this room. When we changed over to the Carnival Room the gas stove was not turned on. When they came and turned it on, they forgot to set the pilot for the stove. We noticed the smell and brought it to their attention and they got someone in to take care of it. However, we still smelled gas. We discovered that there was a leak in the gas line leading into the cottage. They turned the stove off, but never got anyone in to fix the leak. They had to know about the leak, because the gas was off when we moved in. We were unable to use the stove for the time we were there, and on check-out there was no offer of any sort of discount. This was the only area of concern we had.
The beach area was great. The most people we ever saw on the beach during our time there was probably no more than about 10 to 15. Most of the time from about 9am until about 3pm there weren't more than 4 to 5 people on the beach. Could use some more umbrellas. The only umbrellas we saw had tears in them. Water was crystal turquoise clear. Snorkeling right there was so good, we didn't even go anywhere else!
The common area grills were very well maintained. We cooked steak one night and the gas grills were very clean. I did notice someone was always cleaning them each day, which was great!
The staff provided great information on places to eat and how to get to various places around the area. All in all a true beach paradise and I would visit again....just get the gas line fixed.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the beach. Crow's Nest is probably the best for views and sounds of the ocean.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2ReadyforVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We stayed September 24-October 1st. Although my husband was born and raised in St. Croix, this was the first time my 4 kids mother and I ventured to the island. It was AMAZING! Even with my husband being a former local, he raved about how gorgeous the beach at Cottages by the Sea was. The plum tree was an added bonus! We stayed in Cockle and Cowry which were adjoining rooms. The owner and staff was extremely helpful and accommodating to my large family and made sure we had all the beds we needed. They even had extra cookware for us to use. Our kids and I spent majority of the time at the beach, snorkeling, kayaking and having fun! (The snorkeling gear and kayaks were complimentary to use) The water was crystal clear and we got to see cool fishes, a sting ray and even a turtle! In the evenings, my husband and I would go out and watch the breathtaking sunsets! Magical! One thing I would advise to anyone traveling here is renting a car. The restaurant near by was closed and there isn't any places that I would walk to. Otherwise, there are so many places that are worth the trip such as Point Udall, Raina's chicken shack, and even Centerline Bakery to get fresh baked bread. Definitely go to Sandy Point Beach (Which is only open on Sundays from 10-4 due to it being a turtle refuge) It is another amazing beach! There were a few brief power outages on the island but their back up generators kicked right in. Overall the Cottages were clean, quiet, quaint, and just what we needed! We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Nurse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

My wife and I spent less than a week in StCroix and Cottages by the Sea was the peace we needed, We were greeted by a friendly and personable staff from the maintenance man to the housekeepers and managers. Our patio faced the beach and was a 20 pace walk from our front door. It is quaint with private cottages with all the amenities you could possibly need...we spent the daytime hours on the beach and exploring Fredericksted which is a 5 minute drive with an array of great restaurants. Our cottage was clean, air conditioned and you could not beat the view.....we are coming back this November and plan to make a trip there every 2 months until we find our home in StCroix

Room Tip: if you are a beach person like us choose a cottage on the first floor
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gerryde2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

We absolutely LOVED this place! We stayed in Crow's Nest which was perfect! It's not one of the remodeled units, but none the less, it was adorable and we loved it just the same! Our cottage was clean and the bedding clean and comfy as well. Some of the cottages had ceiling fans on the porches, this cottage did not, so just keep that in mind if you like constant air flow. The property itself was wonderfully kept and so darling and quaint! We loved all the extra touches, such as the laundry facility, library, basket of sunscreens, snorkeling equipment, noodles and kayaks. Our cottage was the closest to the beach, so the sound of the waves was wonderful! There's a sitting area to the side and near the front of the property that you can go to at night and listen to the other nature sounds around the area! We heard birds, frogs, crickets, etc. Blissful! The water is incredibly clear, you don't even need a mask, even at night you can see to the bottom! We felt extremely safe walking around the property at night, it was very quiet, no party crowds here! The busiest day was Sunday, which to my understanding is very common on the island, families go to the beach that day and lots of businesses are closed. The staff was great, very accommodating and helpful in every way, from providing directions and suggesting grocery stores, restaurants, etc. We went to the larger grocery store, Plaza Extra, a few miles from town on the main road. Be advised, groceries are expensive here, shop carefully! We rented a car from Judi of Croix and had no problems driving on the left! Be sure to pick up a pocket map at the airport, invaluable! Be sure to try Turtles Deli just a hop skip from Cottages into town, and absolutely try Rhythms at Rainbow Beach for the best darn Pina Colada ever! Everywhere we ate, the food was fabulous! The ATV rainforest tour is also great - all these places right in town close to the property! We ventured into Christiansted with some helpful directions from the staff and our trusty pocket map - that was also fun! We had the best vacation ever in St. Croix and would definitely stay at Cottages again! The sunsets are spectacular, and no lie, quite different each night, I have tons of pictures to prove it! Thank you, Cottages by the Sea, for making our 25th wedding anniversary trip so amazing! See you again!

Room Tip: Crow's Nest is the most private unit and closest to the beach, and being on the second floor, the views are great! The room can get a little warm, but we kept most of the shutters closed with the AC unit and it was comfortable :)
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank laroge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews