We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 4 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2014

Just stayed there 11/10--11/15, nice beach, great old timey feel cottages,well maintained. Owner and staff could not have been nicer. If you fly in after dark it can be very hard to find, but everything on this island is hard to find after dark.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank sloorunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2014

We just returned from a week at the Cottages and have nothing but good things to say about this amazing place.

It´s located right on one if the most beautiful beaches I´ve seen in my life and very close to some others, just as beautiful and peaceful. Excellent for swimming, snorkelling or just relaxing. What we most appreciated about Cottages on the beach was the incredible peace and quiet. The place was full and yet there was not a sound other than the gentle waves. If what you´re looking for is true peace and disconnection from the world, this is the place for you.

Our cottage had a fully equipped kitchen, a very comfortable bed, air conditioning, private balcony and a wonderful shower. The forniture and equipment are brand new, or at least they seemed brand new. Maintenance is obviously a priority at this place. They offer snorkeling equipment (great snorkeling, we even saw a turtle) and beach amenities, all in an excellent condition. The beach and the whole complex are very clean and well maintained. Wifi works great, and they also offer a computer with Internet in case you don´t have your own device.

All beaches are public in St Croix (as they should be everywhere) which is great, although on weekends (and only on weekends) many locals come to the beach and they listen to their music at a VERY loud volume. Truth is we didn´t mind this at all, but it´s worth to mention here.

A few tips:

1. Get a car. The nearest grocery store is only a 5 minute ride but it´s impossible to walk down there. There are no sidewalks. You can pick it up at the airport, which by the way is only 20 minutes away. There is a restaurant next door and it offers great food, but we found it a bit expensive, at least to eat there every day. We got groceries and cooked in our cottage, and it was really great. Also, Sandy Point National Park is a short drive and it´s absolutely wonderful. Do not miss it! They´re only open weekends.

2. Bring a LOT of insect repellent. Otherwise, you´ll suffer the consequences.

We are really looking forward to going back. We LOVED this place.

Thanks to Lyndy and Paul for their kindness, and also to Jennifer, who was really nice.

Hope we´ll see you again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Queencitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We stayed 10/4 - 10/11/14. The first four nights we stayed in the Crows Nest. Older unit, but a great charmer. Sitting outside on patio and listening to the ocean was great! The only thing that would help it is if there was a fan on the patio, sometimes was a little stuffy. Also, at night make sure you have bug spray...critters are sneaky and before you know it you have a few little bites! Last three nights we stayed in the Carnival Room. The reason the resort only gets 4 stars was because of some issues we encountered in this room. When we changed over to the Carnival Room the gas stove was not turned on. When they came and turned it on, they forgot to set the pilot for the stove. We noticed the smell and brought it to their attention and they got someone in to take care of it. However, we still smelled gas. We discovered that there was a leak in the gas line leading into the cottage. They turned the stove off, but never got anyone in to fix the leak. They had to know about the leak, because the gas was off when we moved in. We were unable to use the stove for the time we were there, and on check-out there was no offer of any sort of discount. This was the only area of concern we had.
The beach area was great. The most people we ever saw on the beach during our time there was probably no more than about 10 to 15. Most of the time from about 9am until about 3pm there weren't more than 4 to 5 people on the beach. Could use some more umbrellas. The only umbrellas we saw had tears in them. Water was crystal turquoise clear. Snorkeling right there was so good, we didn't even go anywhere else!
The common area grills were very well maintained. We cooked steak one night and the gas grills were very clean. I did notice someone was always cleaning them each day, which was great!
The staff provided great information on places to eat and how to get to various places around the area. All in all a true beach paradise and I would visit again....just get the gas line fixed.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the beach. Crow's Nest is probably the best for views and sounds of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2ReadyforVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We stayed September 24-October 1st. Although my husband was born and raised in St. Croix, this was the first time my 4 kids mother and I ventured to the island. It was AMAZING! Even with my husband being a former local, he raved about how gorgeous the beach at Cottages by the Sea was. The plum tree was an added bonus! We stayed in Cockle and Cowry which were adjoining rooms. The owner and staff was extremely helpful and accommodating to my large family and made sure we had all the beds we needed. They even had extra cookware for us to use. Our kids and I spent majority of the time at the beach, snorkeling, kayaking and having fun! (The snorkeling gear and kayaks were complimentary to use) The water was crystal clear and we got to see cool fishes, a sting ray and even a turtle! In the evenings, my husband and I would go out and watch the breathtaking sunsets! Magical! One thing I would advise to anyone traveling here is renting a car. The restaurant near by was closed and there isn't any places that I would walk to. Otherwise, there are so many places that are worth the trip such as Point Udall, Raina's chicken shack, and even Centerline Bakery to get fresh baked bread. Definitely go to Sandy Point Beach (Which is only open on Sundays from 10-4 due to it being a turtle refuge) It is another amazing beach! There were a few brief power outages on the island but their back up generators kicked right in. Overall the Cottages were clean, quiet, quaint, and just what we needed! We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Nurse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

My wife and I spent less than a week in StCroix and Cottages by the Sea was the peace we needed, We were greeted by a friendly and personable staff from the maintenance man to the housekeepers and managers. Our patio faced the beach and was a 20 pace walk from our front door. It is quaint with private cottages with all the amenities you could possibly need...we spent the daytime hours on the beach and exploring Fredericksted which is a 5 minute drive with an array of great restaurants. Our cottage was clean, air conditioned and you could not beat the view.....we are coming back this November and plan to make a trip there every 2 months until we find our home in StCroix

Room Tip: if you are a beach person like us choose a cottage on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gerryde2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
20.1 km away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
506 reviews
23.8 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.1 km away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,463 reviews
0 km away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 4 in Frederiksted
377 reviews
8.9 km away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range: €125 - €215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing