We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
271
110
25
12
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
110
25
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day pass cruise ship st croix continental breakfast new owners rum punch an umbrella small pool sea view suite the entire staff rooms are comfortable lounge chairs the water was crystal clear small hotel full kitchen laid back great restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and I flew to St. Croix on a whim and stayed at Sand Castle on the Beach without checking any reviews. The staff is absolutely PHENOMENAL, the drinks are strong and the food is the best on the island! Our room had a gorgeous view of the ocean and pool with a little deck and kitchenette. Everything was kept very clean, we had zero problems with our room. Sand Castle is literally RIGHT on the beach, and waking up to the sound of the waves crashing couldn't get any better. If you're looking for a place to relax, this is it. If you're looking for the typical touristy trap, go to Christiansted. All of our expectations were blown away, and we'll definitely be back! Every single person on their staff is friendly, helpful and makes you feel like they've known you forever! Make sure you say hi to Bruno, Patrick, Melissa, Robert and the rest of the staff!

Room tip: We booked room 203. The view was a little obstructed by palm trees but we could still see the beach
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBsJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Sand Castle is a great place to stay if the beach and ocean are your top priority in an island vacation. The staff are all very nice and helpful, the beach is the best on the island for swimming and good for snorkeling. We found the best snorkeling to the left towards the condos they call "the compound" due to the wire fence around them, past the Cottages by the Sea. There are public parks on both sides of the Sand Castle and Cottages, but it was never a problem, some music on the weekend, but nothing too bothersome. Do wish the public areas provided trash cans as some littering in the public areas was obvious, saw some soda cans and trash in the ocean. The area in front of Sand Castle is great, and there is lots of sea glass to collect, had tons of fun picking through it while snorkeling!
Also enjoyed the long walk to the left all the way to Sandy Point, it is closed to parking in the summer but you can walk all the way from Sand Casltle, or drive down to the public pool and park and walk the rest of the way to the point. If you walk all the way from Sand Castle take beach shoes for a rocky area in between! The beach and water towards Sandy Point is even more gorgeous, and we got to see all the prints in the sand from nesting Leatherback? turtles that had climbed the sand dunes to lay their eggs.
As other reviewers have stated, it is not a luxury hotel, no night life (there was a great group on Saturday evening that we very much enjoyed at the Beachside Cafe), and you must have a car, it's about thirty minutes to Csted, but worth the drive to be on that beach. We drove all over the island, only issue is some lack of road signs, use a map and some patience!
We did a Buck Island sail with Buck Island Charters, wonderful day trip! Also did a bioluminescent night kayak tour with Sea Thru Kayaks, absolutely loved it! Visited Fort Frederik and the pier in Frederiksted, which is pretty sleepy in the summer, but still fun to walk around and see all the very old victorian buildings, some are in very bad shape. Enjoyed a day in Csted seeing the fort and other historic sights, and lunch on the waterfront. Visited Point Udall and many other beaches on the island, some we had entirely to ourselves!
Our room was a garden suite, #205, which actually had some small views of the ocean through the trees on the balcony and from the other windows. They all have shutters and no glass in the windows, which was different, but we just kept a/c off in the daytime to have view of outside, it was not too hot, even in July. We used the a/c at night and closed the shutters.
The Beachside Cafe was wonderful, ate dinner there three times, they will set up a table on the beach for you if you ask. It was closed Tues/Wed, but there are many other wonderful places to eat on the island, never had a bad meal. Turtles Deli just up the road in Fsted is great, easy to grab a sandwich and bring back to Sand Castle.
If you like a laid back casual atmosphere with great people and don't need luxury amenities you will love this place, if you like resort atmosphere with lots of action you won't. We loved St. Croix in general for it's laid back, come as you are atmosphere. We don't repeat too many places but we will be back!

Room tip: Probably would pay extra for oceanfront next time, but our suite was fine!
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clbbchlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Frendly staff, friendly guests, love the beach and ocean. Sheryl, Simone, Patrick, Bruno and the rest of the staff are excellent hosts. If you are looking for a 5-star resort with massages and souvenier vendors then go somewhere else; if you are looking for a laid back place to hang out for a relaxing vacation then this place is it. This is the side of the island to stay on if you like calm, clear water to snorkel or just swim in. lots of fish to see just a few steps into the ocean. If you stay here be sure to rent a car, there is SO MUCH to see on this little island that you will miss a GREAT deal if you don't have a car. Also, Sand Castles is a bit of a walk into town.

We had an economy room, which was good for our purposes (we didn't go to paradise to sit in our room), but it had no alarm clock or phone, so we went to k-mart and bought one as we needed to get up early most mornings for dive trips. So, bring an alarm clock.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Two_OHDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our visit to Sand Castle On The Beach was absolutely fantastic.Our room was great with a beautiful view of the ocean and pool area. It was very comfortable and had a nice living and kitchen area. All our needs and expectations were met by the entire staff and always with a friendly smile. The food was to die for and the best we had on the Island. We will never be able to eat another enchilada in Ohio as nothing will compare.to the one we ate at their restaurant.
Thanks to Bruno for making our stay memorable and Rita for taking such good care of us at dinner.

Paige and Stephanie

Room tip: Sea View Suite 208 had the best view and location.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paige R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I just returned from a summer visit to Sand Castle On The Beach, where I am a repeat guest. I must tell you about summer at Sand Castle and on St. Croix. Firstly, the quality of service, the generous hospitality from the entire staff, and the superb cuisine in their restaurant, as always, were on the mark. Secondly, I met nothing but the happiest guests I've ever encountered anywhere!.All simply thrilled with Sand Castle and their discovery. I was proud to boast of my many winter and fall visits and enjoyed making appropriate suggestions as to what to do on St. Croix. And finally I must tell you about the weather: 87, very low humidity and non-stop island trade winds almost identical to my late Feb. visit. The water was crystal clear every day for 2 weeks and I snorkeled right there to my heart's content. So, against many friends comments as to why would you go to St. Croix in the summer: I had plenty to tell them and change their attitude toward summer in the islands. All were jealous of my spectacular weather as they were suffocating from heat and humidity in the no.east. So, do not ever hesitate to visit Sand Castle in the summer, it was a little bit of heaven!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffrey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews