We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$237
US$214
View deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$237
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$214
PricelineUS$237
Tamarind ReefUS$237
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
105
101
27
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
105
101
27
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deep end restaurant galleon restaurant buck island paddle boards restaurant bar tennis courts patio kitchenette ocean beach feet croix stove units
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2019

We booked this hotel mainly because of their claims of snorkeling right off their beach and free use of their kayaks. What they failed to tell us was that wind waves, especially in winter, frequently prohibits that behavior. We were prohibited from using their kayaks 10 of 11 days there. We were told snorkeling was too dangerous, that a guest was swept 500 yards down the beach. I understand they don’t control the weather but they disclose this possibility with a simple “weather permitting “.

They should also disclose their gourmet restaurant “Galleon” has been closed for two years. It’s still on their website and the sign is still out on the road. This problem is all over the island. Very few businesses have updated their websites to reflect post hurricane conditions.

They should also disclose that resort is filled with construction workers, staying at a $300 a night beachfront resort on FEMAs dime. My particular neighbor would smoke so much pot that I couldn’t go on my porch. When he went to work his girlfriend would continue the smoke out. I heard her bragging on the phone that “ after he goes to work I do beach yoga and hang by the pool...” They also enjoyed playing obnoxious comedy tapes on the balcony. I called the front desk and the response was, “ oh, he’s a recovery worker , YOU will have to move..”

That obnoxious, indifferent , rude attitude is common with the locals all over the island which is why the island is filled with mainlanders doing the work.

Then there was weekly disco bingo which brought the locals, no parking for guests and tons more gonga smoke.

In sum, don’t stay here. If you must, wait two years until most of the workers are gone and they might treat you as a valued customer. Also, call and confirm EVERYTHING about your trip.

Date of stay: January 2019
3  Thank fivealpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2019 via mobile

Incompetent management. Booked our reservation in September 2018 for an 8 day stay starting February 11 through Booking.com . Received our confirmation number for our dates. We were good. NOT!!!!!
Called the hotel 1/28/19 to ask a few questions. The hotel never booked the room. Would not accept the confirmation. This time of year no rooms were available anywhere on the island. What if we had not called? What if we had just showed up? How comfortable are the lobby couches? We have cancelled our trip and now stuck with change fees for our air tickets. Thanks a bunch. You ruined our 50th wedding anniversary!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2018 via mobile

We came back. Resort is in great shape. Our room is 30 feet to the ocean. Large room, tile floors, nice bath. Restaurant, pool, beach, water sports, friendly efficient staff.

A little slice of paradise. Picture is a view from our window.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tomhemling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie K, Manager at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback...and for such a great review! We agree that we have a little slice of paradise here and we're really glad that you decided to come back and enjoy it! There's nothing better than sitting back and enjoying the sights and sounds of the Caribbean Sea footsteps from your guestroom. We strive to consistently improve so please let us know how we can make your stay even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Tamarind Reef resort is always a great place to stay! Extremely nice staff who go the extra mile to help their guests. Nice rooms with recently redecorated bathrooms, great balcony overlooking the ocean, great pool, The Deep End restaurant and Bar are top notch. The grounds are always clean and properly maintained. Very glad to see Tamarind Reef survive the hurricanes and thrive afterward. Tamarind Reef is top notch, especially for the price point they are in. Travelers can't go wrong here!

Room tip: The upstairs balcony rooms have the best view. The rooms farthest away from the bar are the quietest. No rooms are noisy.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

The amazing ladies working the front desk at the Tamarind Reef Resort the evening we unexpectedly found ourselves on St. Croix with no place to stay will forever have our gratitude. Long story short, we arrived at our original lodging in the late afternoon, and found that it was not what we expected. In fact, it was effectively closed and still under reconstruction.

We fled into the twilight with no plan and an island short on hotel rooms. Exhausted, we pulled over to the side of the road and started making phone calls. Hotel after hotel said “No,” until the wonderful woman at the Tamarind said “Let me see if I can help you.” After a short interval she gave us the good news - they had a room for the night! When we arrived, one look at their smiling faces assured us that we were in good hands. We had just spent twenty hours traveling, and had not eaten since breakfast. When we were informed there was a restaurant on site, mere yards away, I wanted to jump for joy!

It was dark when we entered Unit 6, but you could hear the ocean. I walked through the room and opened the patio drapes, and there it was-the beautiful Caribbean, just a few feet away! In two hours, we had gone from deep despair by the side of the road to having our spirits soar in an oceanfront room! It felt like a miracle, and we truly were grateful and overwhelmed at our good fortune. The clean and cozy room had everything we needed, including a kitchenette.

We spent a few minutes on the patio, kicking ourselves for not booking here in the first place, and enjoying the cool breezes and sound of the ocean. Then we showered, changed, and took a five-minute stroll over to the Deep End restaurant (and bar), where we sat outdoors and enjoyed a nice meal with some much-needed drinks. It turned out to be a perfect tropical night!

The comfortable bed and sound of the waves ensured a restful sleep. The next day, we had a great breakfast at the Deep End, and saw the many amenities offered here including a beach, a sparkling pool, ample space, numerous activities, and even a spa.

We would have gladly settled in here for the rest of our trip, but they did not have availability when we needed it. No worries, the Tamarind Reef Resort might be the perfect place for our next family vacation.

And thanks again to our angels at Tamarind Reef Resort!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FallsGirl0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie K, Marketing Manager at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and wish you could have stayed longer! We agree that the sound of the waves from all of our oceanfront rooms is one of the best sounds ever for relaxation and enjoyment. The views are some of the best in the Caribbean also! Our wonderful staff at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina is here to welcome you back anytime! We look forward to having you as our guests once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews