We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a renovated room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Get a renovated room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We came here on a special from Cheap Caribbean, so I guess, we didn't pay as much as they charge regularly, but we still paid quite a bit and expected to have a nice time. The first night we were accommodated in an old room. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. Then the person that was staying above our room, flooded his room and consequently ours, so we were moved to a renovated room. (BTW, they are working on renovations as we speak). The new room was amazing. Really nice, very close to the beach (which ended up being a little annoying, because the sound of the waves was way too loud at nights), but the difference was great. The resort itself, is situated in a great location. We loved it; the turquoise beach, with great snorkeling, great room, awesome amenities (bar, pool) and not amazing, but pretty good food on the property - we had a really good time. It felt like a honeymoon to us. So I strongly recommend this resort, but if any way possible, ask for a renovated room - you will love it.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tudysem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    389
    121
    63
    39
See reviews for
282
614
33
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week at this amazing resort. We were in one of the newly remodeled units/rooms. It was clean, beautiful and the view was breathtaking. I so enjoyed coffee on the private screened deck/porch. We spent most of our days on the beach enjoying the soft sand and the sound of the surf, however the pool area is very nice complete with comfortable lounge chairs. The entire staff from check in to check out were professional, helpful and oh so very pleasant. We will definitely return next year to this same resort.

Room Tip: We stated in building 16 on the 2nd floor - It was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

If you're looking for a hotel near shopping, casinos, or with tons of water-sports and activities - I'd stay somewhere else. If you want the most beautiful location on St. Croix (if not all of the carribean), where you feel that the ocean, the rain forest, and hotel amenities are all for you - this is it! We've stayed at other island resorts where you have to get a chair early at the beach or pool - or you're out of luck. This is the most relaxed setting you will ever find. The flip side of that is, as the hotel is in the re-modeling stage, there isn't enough business to warrant more than one restaurant for breakfast, one for lunch and dinner. It has a quiet, laid back atmosphere because the resort is empty now. Once all the villas are remodeled, the resort should be a bit more hectic, but not crazy as the number of possible rooms cannot be as large as some of the other Marriott island properties. We stayed here last year at high season and the management seemed overwhelmed with the work that needed to be done, and ran the other way when guests approached. Management this year seems more involved and seems to have a better sense of what it takes to get people to come back.
Talking with other guests, we agreed that this is the best kept secret if you're happy doing nothing! Nice to have the kitchens too so you don't have to eat out every meal!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room - some of the villas are shabby and raw from the time-share phase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akinsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I have been going to this resort for 15 years. We have seen many changes through out the years, including owners. The Marriott people know they have a good thing here and lots of potential! I think this property was originally an old Rockefeller resort..it has a lot of mahogany exteriors and interiors, and reminds me of other Rock resorts I have visited. It's not bright and shining, but rich and old. The renovated rooms very nice, a little dark, but pleasant and roomy! The older rooms are the same size, and a value to your wallet.

We still see the many of the same employees that we saw many years ago, so it speaks highly of the place. The staff is friendly and always welcomes us back. They are a fairly recent Marriott acquisition, so they are adjusting..But it's obvious to me that their new training has hit the mark.

I love this beach! There are no other resorts next to this one, all you see are mountains and water. It looks like Hawaii to me. Good body surfing. But I hate the lounge chairs! They need some new chairs to replace the blue ones by the beach entry areas. There are some better chairs closer to the main building. I recommend carrying them to where you want them. The pool chairs are heavenly.

The units that house the rooms for the most part are very close to the beach, so you have this constant beautiful sound of the ocean. The screened in porches are such a delight! The rooms are clean and maid service is friendly.

The food is good. The dinner menu is smaller than it used to be, I think most folks end up ordering a lot of sandwiches. Service is faster than in the past, though.

I sent some clothes to be cleaned and was missing an item. The staff handled it very well! They called the cleaners, who called me back, and we figured it all out. The cleaner delivered it that same day.

This is a resort for rest and relaxation. There is little going on, and I like it that way. For that reason it is best to rent a car. Fredericksted is close by and has a really good grocery store for those with a kitchenette. Drive to Christiansted and shop, they have some cute places to see. The day trip to Buck Island is always fun, great snorkeling there. Try to go on a calm day, as the Buck Island trip is out in a lot of open water. I had some great snorkeling there, saw turtles, octopus, lots of fish. However it was rough water that day, so I was really tired from fighting waves.

You won't be sorry to choose this place if you prefer r&r, and a little bit of shabby chic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JillMadamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The property and the beach were absolutely beautiful. The food was very good, probably 4 stars. The drinks were not too expensive. The location is a little remote. You need a car to get into town. Also cell service is spotty here depending on your carrier. Verizon got no servi e and AT&T you had to stand at the right place! The units were very nice with wood, etc, but the air conditioner had some problems while we were there some. They got it fixed. Some issues with the phones as well but got those fixed too. Some of the units were getting a remodel and some showed some wear, but overall this resort was very nice and fun. The staff was very nice and we had a great time. We swam in the ocean and pool, did some scuba diving, and went all around the island. I would definitley suggest going pier jumping, going into town for dinner. There is a GREAT restaurant on the way into town that has awesome food. There is another great restaurant and bar on the beach on the way into town also called... Eat @ Cane Bay. We went to the other side of the island to the casinos. I was not as impressed with that side of the island or the casino. It was OK.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgeorge77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
17.1 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
13.7 km away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
11.9 km away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
15.8 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
24.1 km away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Address: | Estate Davis Bay, 00851-3031, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing