We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“All around a nice property with nice people”
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Rooms are clean, there is a pool, but with the ocean just steps away, there is no need to use it unless you have kids.
The Mango Reef Restaurant is on site and offers a vairety of selections, food is very good and prices not too bad given you are on an island in the Carribean. Staff are helpful and friendly. There are planty of beach umbrellas and towels available. There are a few shops within walking distance.The property is well maitained and very quiet at night. All around an enjoyable stay - we would come back

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mickeeAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,399 - 1,403 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

We just returned from a fabulous 14 day stay at the Alexandra Resort. This was our 11th stay at the Alexandra and every time we return we are even more amazed at what a wonderful jewel we have found. The rooms, staff, grounds, restaurant, and of course the most gorgeous beach there is was fantastic. We stayed in a one bedroom in the Chelsea building and you feel as if you are home. All of the amenities that you need are in the room waiting your arrival. Everywhere you go at the resort you are greeted with a smiling face and they make you feel welcome and glad you are there. The beach service with the chairs and umbrellas waiting for you first thing in the morning to coming to see if you need anything to eat or drink is fantastic as well. My husband and I have been to a lot of islands in the Caribbean over the years and when people ask why we keep going back to the Alexandra and Turks and Caicos, I show them a photo of the beach and resort and nothing else is needed to be said! Thank you to all of the staff at the Alexandra for making our trip once again this year a wonderful memory and we will see you in February 2013!!

Room Tip: I do not believe there is a bad unit at the resort. The Chelsea is really beachfront. Of course th...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathe913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

First let me explain the "for us" part. My wife and I have traveled a lot in the Caribbean and Mexico over the last 20 years, including 11 cruises, staying at Resorts, Hotels, and private condos. What we have found over the years is we prefer to reduce our food and room budget in order to stay longer, and enjoy more activities. So we do a lot of research online (including TripAdvisor) to find what we are looking for. We look for studio or 1 bedroom condo with a kitchen or kitchenette (mainly refrigerator, microwave, toaster, and dishes) in order to make our own breakfast, and occasional lunch or dinner (most restaurants we went to on Provo severed very large portions, so we would take it back to our room and heat up for another meal the next day) to save on food budget. We also look for condos with a pool, near the beach (or on the beach), with restaurants close by. So for us the Alexandra was perfect.

We had a studio with a kitchenette for 10 nights and it was perfect. It was very clean with plenty of room for two, and a large balcony with table and chairs. There was no room inside for two people to eat, but we ate our breakfast every morning on the balcony, even if it was raining, and some lunches and dinners. There is also a washer/drying in every room which allowed us to reduce our luggage. We did not have an ocean front, but even from our 2nd floor balcony we could see the ocean, along with the pool and Mango Reef restaurant. As was mentioned in some earlier reviews the Alexandra is a Condo-hotel. Most of the rooms are privately owned and the onsite management company rents them out for the owners. But you can also rent directly from the owners - which is what we did, and the price was at least 25% lower than if you rented through the management company. The good news is other than daily maid service (which you can get at an extra charge if you want) you get all the amenities, and are treated as a regular guest. My only complaint about our room was the AC was a little loud (for us) - it took us about 5 to 6 nights before it stopped waking us up every time it turned on at night, but you just woke up, remembered you were in paradise, and went back to sleep.

From the airport we just jumped in a taxi and they took us to the Alexandra where we received a warm welcome, a cold towel, and a delicious rum punch. Within a few minutes of checking in we were taken to our room with baggage assistance. I can not say enough about the staff - everyone always had a sincere smile and wanted to help - from the front desk, to the concierge, to the wait and bar staff at Mango Reef, to the beach and grounds keeping staff - definitely one of the highlights of the Alexandra. If you need a taxi you just let the front desk know and they will call one for you. While we were there only two taxi drivers were ever used by the resort, but we found out they always had the best prices, and were very courteous. One night we were coming back from a restaurant and there was already a taxi there, so we took it instead of calling our original taxi - he stopped and picked up two other couples along the way, and he charged us more than our original trip to the restaurant. When I causally mentioned this he took a step forward, got in my face, and told me the price again. I shared this with a few others at the hotel and heard similar stories of higher prices. By the way all taxi pricing is per person, not per car/van. When we used the Alexandra recommended taxis they never stopped for other people, unless they were going to the same destination, and it was on the way.

We ate several meals at the Mango Reef and they were always very good, with large portions. Many lunches we split a meal and were very satisfied. We also rented a car for part of the time and visited many other beaches and restaurants which I would recommend.

You cannot say enough about the beach here, probably one of the most beautiful clean beaches we have ever been to. Powdery soft white sand, and clear warm water. When we went to the beach we spent most of the time floating/swimming in the ocean. There is also a bar right next to the beach (and I heard they are now serving on the beach), and a swim up bar at the pool. I would also recommend the on site excursion company - we did two snorkel excursions while we were there, and the one booked at the Alexandra was the best.

We visited several other resorts (mainly for lunch or dinner), and many are nicer than the Alexandra, but for the price the Alexandra was the best value without giving up any amenities and service. When we come back to Provo we will stay at the Alexandra.

Sorry if this was so long, but had a lot to say, hope it was helpful for those frugal travelers!

Room Tip: As noted by others there are ocean view and ocean front rooms. If you want to save money and don...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ensrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Alexandra for the second time. We love the resort and feel the rooms are perfect for us. We stayed in a studio which had a kitchenette, washer and dryer and a balcony with a view of the water. Everyone is so friendly and they work so hard. The beach is amazing. There are nice beach chairs and umbrellas. One suggestion is to try and get out to the beach early to reserve chairs and an umbrella. The restaurant, Mango Reef is located at the Alexandra and it is also great. The food is delicious and the setting is beautiful. There is a large pool and work out room with machines and free weights. It is about a 20 minute walk to the center of town from the Alexandra. There are four buildings (I believe four floors) two of which face the water directly and two that are positioned towards the water diagonally. I highly suggest staying here! We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbtraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Alexandra Hotel for 10 glorious days Feb 6 thru the 15th. We had never been to Turks and Caios before and heard it was beautiful. I picked the Alexandra right from the internet and was hoping for the best. Upon arrival, we were greeted at the reception desk by 2 smiling faces and a delicious punch. We were taken right to our room which was perfect for us. It was spotless, roomy,had a small kitchenette and a spectacular view. Our maid's name was Madeline. In all of our travels, we have never met a nicer, sweeter maid. Everyday she would greet us with a huge smile and wish us a great day. By the end of our trip we were hugging this lovely woman like she was family. Then there were the guys who met our every need on the beach. Wesle and Mitterton. They would set us our chairs, umbrella and made sure we always had a drink or something to eat. My husband and I learned so much from these most humbled people. They are the nicest people on earth. Always smiling. Always waiting for us. You could tell they loved their job. Again, by the time we left, we were hugging and taking pictures...they also felt like family. Another person who was constantly smiling and making sure we had everything we needed was Tanya the office manager. Tanya also had a permenant smile on her face. Even our taxi driver who was always at the Alexandra, Gracie, was a doll. We never enjoyed taxi rides so much! The food at the hotel was amazing. We did not have 1 bad meal. The service was excellent. Finally....the beach. There is nothing to compare it too. The sand is like powder. White and soft. The turquoise water is breathtaking. We travel all over the carribean and "Grace Bay" is in a class of it's own. We have decided to make a yearly trip to the Alexandra. It was pure heaven!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe ocean view room. It was perfect.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
5.5 km away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#12 of 44 in Providenciales
587 reviews
1.8 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,465 reviews
0.2 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Beach House Turks & Caicos
1.3 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,561 reviews
0.6 km away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive, Grace Bay | Turks and Caicos, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#20 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: €291 - €1,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, Alexandra Resort offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining with the option to book all-inclusive reservations. Guests can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. Alexandra Resort provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, bicycles, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing