We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WILL BE BACK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WE WILL BE BACK”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Best Hotel that I have stayed in the Caribbean so far!

Check in quick and Easy! Our Garden View Room was Immaculate.

The Beach-Amazing, Pool - Nice, Landscaping - Above Average, Pelican Bay Restaurant - To Die For....So many tasty local dishes and the Sunday Jerk Fiesta was so much fun.

The Live entertainment (Keno) made the night....

We will definitely be back to RWI..... Soon....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    649
    121
    42
    29
See reviews for
327
1,058
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey city
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We choose RWI because of the price and it was wonderful. Our room overlooked the pool and was always quiet. At times we felt like we were the only guests. We enjoyed the bar and restaurant. The staff was lovely and our room was clean. We always had towels and anything else we needed. For the price - it was a little gem!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We love this hotel. This was our third stay there! It is small and quiet. I love the fact that the buildings are just 3 stories high. The gardens are lush and the staff is very helpful. This time we took a studio and even the studios are equiped with a fridge; sink; coffee maker; toaster and microwave, making for easy breakfasts and lunches and sundowners on your patio/terrace. Studios also have a washer/dryer, which I never used until this trip. It was nice to wash some of the sun lotion out of the beach clothes before repacking. Never any problems getting towels or beach chair or signing out the beach toys - great hobie cat. Close to every thing including within walking distanct to some great restuarants like Coco Bistro and close enough to walk to Ports of Call for shopping, ice cream or a massage at Spa Tropique.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ctsailor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just got back, beautiful place, great beach, staff was unbelievable! Food was also great! but I wish someone had warned me about the "quite" pool and "quite" island. It was like sitting in a library at the pool, on the beach, everywhere. No laughing children, just shhhing from parents who would not let the kids be kids. No one talked to anyone, just stared at you if you were having fun. The natives were great, the tourists were cold! I call this island the "book club by the sea". Thankfully at times we could hear a bit of music and laughter from Club Med and felt a little bit of life going on. Just too quite for me, I don't want parties and clubs, but I would have preferred to a least speak to the person next to you and make some kind of connections. A little bit to snobby for my taste. But hotel and beach and staff were the best! Couldn't do enough for you, they need the business. Extremely pricey island though.

Room Tip: Don't stay by the "quite pool" if you are an early riser and like to sit on the verand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fofaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is our 3rd time at The Royal West Indies and I have never been so sad to see a place go down hill. My room was 721 and the dishwasher was full of rust.I called for maintenance but he said he'd let the owner know. That was it.I had to handwash everything. The microwave was rusted also. Housekeeping never cleaned very well.It looks likes they came in to just dust a little bit.
The front desk was very rude whenever I asked any questions. It seems to me like they were bothered by answering any questions I had.The excursions desk was even worse. She was very rude and gave very vague answers to my questions.They push tours like crazy and offered no advice on restaurants. I asked her to call a phone number for me and she said she couldn't find the phone number. I had to do everything by myself on the internet. Thank God for this site. It was helpful to me b/c I had no help at all from anyone at the Royal West Indies. While I was on the beach I asked the towel guy if he knew how much the bannana boat was and he said $30 and he'd call one for me, if I needed one. I said I was okay, thanks anyway.
I walked up to the bannana boat myself and he said $20. Everyone was money hungry and I was disgusted. The bar was terrible. It took 45 mins for 4 virgin pina coladas.
Bottom line...rude staff...terrible room cleaning. I won't go back.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank sylgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey B, Manager at Royal West Indies Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank for you for your comments and I am sorry that you did not have a good experience on your 3rd visit to Royal West Indies Resort. The Resort has some of the highest customer service ratings on the island and it is quite surprising that you encountered these problems. In terms of the dishwasher, a replacement was made available shortly after the complaint was lodged, however, our maintenance technician was told that it could wait until the next day, which was the day that you were checking out. The microwave does have "minimal" rust on the inside due to the salt air that all the resorts experience on the island. We have a shipment arriving soon in which that microwave will be scheduled for replacement.

Our housekeeping staff take pride in their work and follow strict cleaning guidelines which are checked everyday. Your comments will be reviewed with our Operations Manager who oversees that department.

The front desk and tour desk are both located in the main lobby. The tour desk does not provide information on restaurants and is operated separately. We have not had any complaints from any other guests regarding lack of information or knowledge on restaurants. However, your comments will be reviewed at the next front office meeting.

In terms of the "towel guy" quoting you a price for the banana boat, he is actually correct as it is $30 with most providers of this activity. There are some that offer less and some that offer more, depending on the operator. We do not keep track of their prices, especially since there are several banana boat operators. We always encourage the guest to get the quote directly from the operator as it is not activity that is offered by the resort.

The bar service has been known to be very quick, however, beach service may take a little longer depending on the number of orders and the distance of the bar from the beach. As well, drink service during the evening will take a little longer as the restaurant has been very busy over the past 2-3 months. Your comments will be sent and reviewed with the restaurant operators and the bar manager.

Again, we are take your comments very seriously and we will make every effort to rectify some of these issues that have been raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.9 km away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#20 of 45 in Providenciales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.7 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
2.3 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#15 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
3.8 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.7 km away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, West Indies, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing