We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, this hotel is just as good as Tripadvisor contributors reported it to be!”
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We chose this hotel after reading its reviews, and it measured up in every way. These are the things we particularly appreciated: the large airy room, very high standard of cleanliness, super-abundance of high-quality fluffy towels, lovely grounds, closeness to the beach, and excellent nearby restaurants, grocery and pharmacy stores. What makes Villa del Mar outstanding though, is its staff. They were unfailingly friendly, helpful and full of good advice. We arrived late on Saturday afternoon without one of our suitcases. This meant one of our party living in travelling clothes until we had access to the few stores which open on Sunday. The hotel staff were in touch with our airline and kept us up-to-date about the luggage until it arrived on Monday afternoon. They also advised us about purchasing necessities to tide us over.
The only slight drawback was the very basic but adequate breakfast, which other reviewers had mentioned so we were not surprised and it didn't spoil our enjoyment.
I would love to return to Turks and Caicos, and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere but Villa del Mar next time.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor gave us privacy and a perfect view; ground-floor rooms had large windows and patios ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TOtravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 517 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed for a week in January 2012 which is the least busy of their "high season" months. Took the 3-bedroom option since my mother-in-law was travelling with my family of four. It's a combo of the 2-bedroom with a "lock-off" to the studio suite. One of the big draws to VDM is the price - the above arrangement provided a private space for my mom-in-law for LESS than a two bedroom at a resort on the beach, where she would have been sleeping on a pull-out sofa. So if you have more than two adults and two kids in your party, VDM is the way to go.

The rooms are lovely, with nice furniture, great kitchens and bathrooms and excellent housekeeping services. We were on the ground floor, and saw no bugs except for an earwig, which is more common at home than in the Carribean and may well have hitched a ride in my luggage.

Beach service was great, with ample umbrellas and chairs at the time of year we were travelling. Lots of toys for the kids to make sandcastles and they had just bought some new boogie-boards still wrapped in plastic for the adults to try (I sucked at it!) The walk to the beach is very short and should not affect anyone's decision to stay here.

Continental breakfast was nice to have, but predictably suffered from a lot of "sameness" after about 3-4 days. It kept the kids happy, and got us up and going earlier than going out for breakfast though. For the last few days, we had bought additional fresh fruit from the market and had our fruit plate and yogurt.

Bar service was decent, with a different special every night, but because it was January, it shut down at 8:00 PM every night. The bartender was free-pouring 2-3 ounce drinks, so we were not being fleeced. Rum punch punched back and very tasty.

The desk staff were very helpful. Greeted with rum punch and had bags taken to our room on arrival. Their excursion and food recommendations were all very good. They readily brought extra laundry soap to our room, since the airline saw it fit to send my wife's suitcase to Cuba, so a lot of washing had to be done (as well as a lot of shopping ).

The management were very understanding and decided not to charge us any damage for the glass top on the coffee table that my 5 year old broke - who puts a glass top on a coffee table that swings up to open anyway? We were relieved that no one was hurt.

The only negative was the WiFi. Normally I would not have cared in the least, but with the lost luggage and the need to constantly check for emails from our carrier and travel agent, the spotty internet was a real drag. And I'm not talking too slow to stream HD video, I'm talking too slow to load a simple webpage without having to refresh a dozen times. We would more often leave our iPad mail app open while we were gone from the room and eventually the mail would show up in our inbox.

All in all Villa del Mar exceeded our expectations, and we would readily return.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Villa del Mar for a week in late January following a recommendation from a relative who regularly travels to T&C. Well, we couldn't have had a better experience and all the other reviewers have said it best. Great location, great value, clean, modern, accommodating, etc. We rented a deluxe studio so we didn't have a full kitchen, but the bar fridge was just fine. We weren't planning to cook anyways and the microwave was fine to warm up an egg. Yes, the continental breakfast is rather spartan but we supplemented it by buying some yogurt, cheeses, etc., and had a great time. Pool was lovely, staff was so helpful. We rented a car so we had no issues getting around the island. Free parking at the hotel was also a bonus.

Small issue with in-room wireless internet -- it worked intermittently -- but the laptop located in the lobby of the hotel for one to use to pick up email worked perfectly and we even could tap into the lobby wireless signal if we sat near the lobby itself. All in all, a wonderful trip and great recommendation for accommodation -- particularly when the beachfront hotels were more than double the price! My wife loved the in-suite laundry facilities so she didn't have to arrive home and start doing laundry....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devoted_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

First time in Turks and Caicos and we could not have picked a better location for a first time visitor. Walking distance to the grocery store, comfortable and clean accommodation and the short walk to the beach was painless. We didn't take the normal couple days to 'break in' the vacation and found ourselves relaxed and enjoying the vacation from the minute we arrived. The staff is very helpful and happy to see you. We were on the lower level in a room that allowed us easy access to the barbecue and pool area. We would have had more privacy at a higher level, but decided the access to the pools and barbecue were worth the privacy sacrifice. The pool has a shallow walk in end that was easy to use for the pool we were closest to. The hot tub was an excellent way to end the day. There is a safe in the room and a stacking washer and dryer so you can bring less clothes and pack some snacks in your suitcase instead. The price of groceries is much higher than normally expected on vacation or those at home. Take stuff with you to munch on (Pringles and chips were very expensive) or packaged stuff like seasoned rice to complete a meal. We bought lobster tails one night and barbecued them for a lovely supper. We noted a couple days later the lobster tails were almost twice the price. Could have been we bought lobster on Wednesday and by Friday it was up in price. Watch for a deal and bring things from home that can be imported to help keep your eating costs down. The airport staff did not check our suitcases on arrival although they were giving the people ahead of us trouble who had brought in too much alcohol. We ate out for supper several times and loved all the meals we ate in TCI. Expensive but very good food compared to some places we have been. The breakfast included was bread for toast, bagels and cream cheese, juice, cereal and either oranges or bananas. Coffee and tea and milk or cream were also available. The only complaint I would have is the internet service. I brought my netbook and it was a struggle to get it to work at more than a snails pace. There is a computer in the lobby but I do not know if it was any faster. The gym was the size of a bathroom and the treadmill was not working, Walk the beautiful beach instead. All in all, highly recommend staying here either as a couple or family. If you are expecting 5 star service, this is not the place. It is great for families and there will be kids around but by mid-afternoon the pool area was very quiet. Any time we used the hot tub, we were the only ones there in the late evening. Yes, we would go back but would take the one bedroom next time as having more kitchen facilities would have been more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sun4usOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This review is LONG overdue!

I stayed at Villa Del Mar in May 2011 and had a fabulous experience. I cannot believe the deal we got on this amazing hotel!

Turks and Caicos is an expensive island, but VDM is a true gem in Grace Bay. The hotel itself is located directly behind the Grace Bay Club and you walk through the resort to get to the beach, etc. The walk is super quick and, honestly, you would spend just as much time walking from a "garden view" room at the Seven Stars to the beach as you would walking from VDM to the beach. It's just as close, if not closer, than most rooms at the big resorts.

The rooms themselves are clean and updated with modern furnishings and balconies. We loved sitting out and having a cocktail at dusk on our balcony. All rooms also have fridges and microwaves if you want to grab snacks from the grocery store.

The service was mostly friendly and attentive. The pools are okay, though the larger resorts obviously have more impressive facilities.

If you want to experience Turks and Caicos on a moderate budget while still feeling pampered, I absolutely recommend Villa Del Mar. We had an amazing stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bostonvianj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.4 km away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,069 reviews
2 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
514 reviews
0.4 km away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,903 reviews
3.4 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,586 reviews
1.2 km away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#24 of 44 in Providenciales
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: €222 - €703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, West Indies, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing