We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dennis' Hideaway
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mayreau
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
David's Beach Hotel(Union Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petit St. Vincent Resort(Petit St.Vincent)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carriacou Grand View(Carriacou Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
18
18
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
18
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspent nightsrain waterplace to stayhope to returnbasic accommodationunion islandwater taxirum punchcaysdennisboatinternet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2015

My wife and I were there in September. We were the only people staying in the hotel, other than a British couple house sitting around the block that would come by for beer/WiFi. It was very relaxing and we really enjoyed our stay.

Dennis is also a great chef. We had to tell him each morning what we wanted to eat, and then he'd go out and source it. Everything was delicious. One day he overheard us talking to the British couple about how we liked curry and the next time he made us dinner, he surprised us with a traditional Vincentian curry. It was incredibly good.

It is also super easy and cheap to get to the Cays from there. Dennis can help with arrangements.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Dennis is a very welcoming person, telling lifetime stories and sharing his wisdom about life and relationships... The place is very nice! The pool and the bar are just perfect after a day at the beach. You can get a great sunset as well even though the cables of the town are a bit in the way. The town is very quiet and the inhabitants are very nice. Just next to the Tobago Cays, it is definitely a great place to stop!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adeline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We had read before that the accommodation would be basic, but we didn't expect not to have hot water. And the bed was in a terrible condition, squeaking at any move. The room and toilet were dirty and in a terrible state overall. Not even at hostel standards. But the worst of all was that, when we told Dennis we wanted to leave after the 1st night, he was rude and didn't want to refund us.
The garden, the bar are ok, the place is nice for a cocktail. But that's all, in our view.
This was the worst experience in our St Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines tour.
We went there after having read Lonely Planet and Fodors reviews. I wonder how they could recommend such a place??

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank magdaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We moored in Saline Bay for a night before heading to Tobago Cays. Hiked up the hill to Dennis' for lunch and a few dips in the pool. The pool was amazing after the hot walk up the hill and lunch was delicious. We ordered fries with our sandwiches and watched the server bring the potatoes to Dennis in the kitchen. Nothing out of a bag here! The fish sandwich was fresh and delicious. The beers ice cold. Even if you are staying on your boat like we did, go to Dennis' for lunch or dinner and enjoy the pool, the bar and conversation with Dennis. Mayreau is magical and there are mooring balls in Saline Bay.
Dennis recommended Papasan for our lobster dinner in Tobago Cays. We asked him to deliver it to our boat. The food, grilled lobster - 1/2 per person, grilled cheesey potatoes, rice and cole saw was plentiful and fabulous. We had enought left over for lobster salad, with cole slaw, rice and home fires on our trip back to St. Lucia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I first visited Mayreau Island 13 years ago. I went to visit a young boy with a rare medical condition. Since then, we've been helping him with funding and medicine. I stayed at Dennis's then and really loved it. The boy's mom used to work as a cook at Dennis's. So of course, on my second return visit in Februay 2014, I stayed again. I think the grounds over 13 years have declined a bit, but the rooms are in great shape, the food is fatantastic, and staff are excellent (very polite and responsive to whatever you need) and then there is ---Dennis! He's an icon. Everyone knows him. He's charming and a great host and cook. I really enjoy sitting with him and hearing his take on life, which is so different than ours as we seem to come from different worlds. I recommend staying because you really get to see and know Mayreau, which is a wonderful and unique community. There's no hot water, but I travel constantly in developing countries and am used to this. It might not be for everyone but for those of you who love adventure, being in the heart of a community, experiencing what the locals experience, then stay here! You'll make friends forever.

Room Tip: There is a lot of noise from the nearby barber shop which doubles as a club I guess. Pounding Caribbean rap until 2 am on Fridays. Turn on the AC and bring earplugs and you will be fine!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews