We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castaway ”
Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Cove
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

On landing early morning in little Cayman we were greeted by our pick up service from Sunset Cove on time ... We asked to be taken to the only shop to pick up some toiletries and a 2ltr bottle of water as we were both quite thirsty. I looked forward to getting some breakfast from the "Beach Bum' cafe. It took us approximately 5 minutes to reach the resort. On arrival I noticed nothing really going on in the cafe with no sign of life. We checked in and went straight to our room which thankfully had the air conditioning on and was so nice to go into. The room, although very basic and dated was exceptionally clean. We got out our beach towels and went straight to the most welcoming idilic beach set in breathtaking surrounding. We looked for loungers to place our towels on but could only find 4 chairs and a table under the gazebo. No problem as after breakfast we would ask if they could be taken out of the hut with the water sports equipment in. We walked to the cafe but all was locked up.... We waited around for a couple of hours but no one showed up. We then decided to take the bikes for a ride around and on return surely we could get something to eat. 1.5 hours later we returned and all was still locked up.... Our water had now run out. 3pm after phoning other resorts on the island we found one open with a bar open. We rode our bikes and found a great resort that made us non guests very welcome and they advised us we would be welcome to stay for the BBQ later on, of course this was an added extra on our bill but being hungry and thirsty had no other option.
We returned back to Sunset Cove later in the evening and found David sat in the cafe. He explained that being out of season all was shut and his cook was off island for a month. Perhaps it would have been good to advise us of this before we made this booking.
I would definitely go back to Sunset Cove again but only when the Cafe and sports hut is open as this was a great place with a lot of potential. And Lionel the iguana was most welcoming. Out of season I would definitely stay at the Little Cayman Beach Resort....

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank DiJones36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016

This is my second time at Sunset Cove, i was happy to visit again as my first visit was great however my second visit not so good (sorry i hate to give a bad review but after what happened i think it's necessary) - the hotel collected us from the airport which was great as it was complimentary, we were the only guests in the hotel as it is the low season the lady showed us to our room and then we hit the beach to relax.

After an hour or so we decided to head to point of sands, we grabbed the push bikes and cycled 30 or so minutes to point of sands, after spending some time here we headed back to the hotel, on the way back in the blistering heat we couldn't wait to get back to the hotel to get a nice cold drink and a bite to eat. On arrival at the hotel we were somewhat of a dehydrated wreak, i searched the hotel high and low for the lady in order to get a drink she was no where to be found, thank god we had half a bottle of water in the room!!

After an hour still no return, we sat on the balcony waiting for someone to show (bearing in mind the hotel is 20 minutes from the nearest shop) after over 2 hours i decided it would be best to cycle to the shop to get some drinks which i did, i didn't get any food as my mother assured me someone would return to feed us, they didn't.

6 bottles of water later and still no hotel staff we decide to change our flights back to Grand Cayman as we could not stay in the hotel with no food, water or staff. Unfortunately there wasn't a flight available until the following day at 9am so to much dismay we stayed. Later on that day i remembered i had a magazine with Little Cayman resorts detailed within it, i called them all there was one open which was 20 minutes from our hotel, we took our bikes and cycled to the other resort, we were so pleased we enjoyed a local BBQ and lots of water at the bar!!

Whist at the other resort I emailed David the manager to complain and i also said we needed to get to the airport at 9am and was worried as the hotel staff had gone, he advised me he was back at the resort as he had been off island. That evening on return to the resort we sat with David who was very kind and i am sure will make the hotel a massive hit, he apologised and said he was sorry he believed the lady had gone home as she thought we had gone out for the day.

Anyhow the next morning we woke up early to get some breakfast before our flight back to Grand Cayman and to our further surprise there was no breakfast and we was not offered so much as a glass of water before we left.

I understand it was the low season and time is slow however the hotel still cost us $200 for the 1 night which you would expect some sort of soft drink, also if due to the low season there is no services such as food there should be some sort of notification so alternative arrangements can be made. I did expect some sort of discount which is the only reason i am writing this review as nothing was offered in good will - bearing in mind for us to have food at the other resort cost us $150 on top of the $200 for the night in the hotel and then more changing the flights.


If you went and the hotel was in full swing i am sure it would be great this is just my own personal experience.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We wanted somewhere to relax and unwind... this was it.

When we flew in from Grand Cayman on Cayman Airways (great airline), we were greeted at the airport by David and also given the "10 Cent Tour" on the 5 minute drive to the resort.

The place itself is basic but has everything you need, the air con worked well. This is definitely the place to read a book while swinging gently in a hammock.

It has a beautiful beach to relax on and various water sport related gear to rent. We rented a couple of Kayaks and explored the coastline.

Also, and importantly for us, the staff couldn't be more friendly and welcoming. Adding that the food was excellent, we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

The hotel is fairly basic and the aircon is not always coping well. On the upside, it is set in a beautiful location on the beach -- though beware of mosquitos after the sunset. Sunset cove is isolated from other hotels on the island but you can rent bikes and the friendly local restaurant offers simple and effective dishes. The owner/manager was super-helpful and provided transfers to / from airport and diving. You can also rent kayaks.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We are not very demanding, but this is VERY basic accommodations. We could count on our fingers everything in our room: 1 bed, 1 chair, 1 dresser, 1 bar of soap, etc. Yes, you have the basics, but nothing more. The wall air conditioner was loud, but necessary, as this end of the "bay" seems to receive very little breeze. The water is not inviting, as it has lots of turtle grass (but that is same every place here). Our outside photos of the hotel and beach look nice, but close up things are a bit sad. Beach furniture was a few plastic chairs, a couple of chaises, and one hammock. The "restaurant" is only open by prior arrangement, as the cook is called in. The innkeeper was very pleasant, and seems to be trying to turn this place around. But his assurance that we didn't need a car, and could ride a bike was not good advice for us. It is 2 miles from the "town", and 90 degrees + high humidity. We liked Little Cayman, but would not return here - and the price was no bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank c7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Address: 34 Wonder Lane, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Cayman
Price Range: €102 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic place for couples, friends and families on Little Cayman. A friendly, serene, relaxed place to chill. We have lots of fun things to do directly from the white, sandy beach at Sunset Cove. We have kayaks, canoes, stand-up paddle boards and luxury beach floats available for rental, so you have everything you need right at the resort. You can kayak over to Owen Island and snorkel or hang out on the beach. South Hole Sound is a lovely, reef-protected, sandy, shallow area with ideal conditions to enjoy most any watersports. We also have bicycles available for 1/2 day or full day rental. There's something for everyone! Or on a lazy day, you can indulge in a massage or lounge in one of the hammocks at the resort. For your dining pleasure, we also have The Beach Bum Cafe which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing