We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barefoot Elegance is a perfect moniker”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Cross Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2017

I was at SCC 12/2-12/9/17 with a dive trip. I must say that this place has been one of the best surprises of my travels. What makes a trip different and wonderful is the level of service that one receives. The service at Southern Cross Club is top notch. There is a genuine kindness expressed from each member of the staff. The way they learn each guests name to the greetings throughout the day make it personal and very warm. Anu the chef and his staff are phenomenal with the menu and the flavors are wonderful. Patrick and Javier take such great care of the guest while dining. The bar staff is made up of Patrick and Julian. Julian is top notch. Sheri on the culinary staff is simply a joy to encounter in the morning. Her warm smile is a perfect way to start the day.

Peter the owner is accessible kind and engages the guests regularly. His warm greeting and desire to make sure the guest is happy is quite genuine and refreshing.

Ingrid manages to keep the show moving and the guests happy with incredible ease. She always presents with a smile and a warm greeting. She goes out of her way to accommodate the whims of the most discerning guests and we had a couple in our group.

My room was in one of the older buildings and was island casual. Bed was comfortable and we had everything that we needed. Interesting to note here is that there are no room keys. We were told at check-in, that there was no need. If we had something that needed real security, there was a small safe in the office. Truth is there was and likely would not be any need. This leads me to one of the more refreshing aspects of my stay. Not only do they ask us to trust the no key scenario, but they grant us trust by allowing us to get beer or wine at the bar during the day before the Julian would come on duty by ringing in our own beverages on an honor system. Trust and integrity is alive and well and that was a refreshing bonus to my vacation.

Let's talk about the dive staff. Two words : Top Notch! Service, knowledge, safety, professionalism and friendliness. Mike, Ed, Poli, Sheri and Emily had such fantastic knowledge of their environment. The dive briefings were some of the most detailed and educational I have experienced in over 500 + dives. The details on the sea life and dive plan were fantastic. I learned something knew on every dive. The kindness and pampering I witnessed them providing to guests was truly unbelievable. I watched Mike and Ed in particular turn a challenging situation into a most loyal customer. Poli, Emily and Sheri were so pleasant and sharing of their knowledge. They went beyond their jobs and truly appeared to take pleasure in their work.

Barefoot elegance was perfect. We were barefoot most of the time, but the service, food and view made it truly elegant. I reluctantly left as my vacation ended, but not without being rested and relaxed beyond any other vacation I can remember.

If you want to eat well, experience genuinely kind and warm service, dive pristine water with expert guidance and come home fully rested and relaxed, this is your place.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crashh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2017

Everything about Southern Cross is to make the guest's experience as enjoyable as possible. Every staff member, from wait staff to dive staff, has a wonderful attitude and will bend over backwards. The rooms are spacious with good AC, a fridge and coffee maker. Everything was clean and and in perfect working order. The food is very good. Dinner is usually plated, with cloth table cloths and napkins, but eating barefoot in shorts is encouraged. My wife is vegan and the chef spoke with her every day at lunch to plan her diner menu. The dive staff is professional but very warm and relaxed. Rental equipment was good. Boats were excellent, roomy and immaculately maintained. This is a concierge dive experience. Leave your gear in front of your door and the staff sets it up on your boat. In between morning dives, the staff changes tanks for you. Leave your BC, reg, fins, mask on the boat and the staff hoses it down with fresh water. This place is spendy but you definitely get what you pay for. This level of cost and service seems to attract a mostly an older, wealthy demographic.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sethgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

My family took a trip here for 7 days back a couple of years ago and I kept meaning to leave a review. This is such a special and tranquil place, it is a must visit. The experience of walking directly out of your room to feel the sand on your toes and the ocean 10 feet ahead is to die for! The property is so relaxing and the staff is the best. The rooms are very spacious and there is not a bad place to stay on this boutique property. The food was delicious and prepared fresh for every meal. The diving is some of the best in the world and the little trip from Grand Cayman to Little Cayman is worth it! Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room in one of the front villas - that way you wake up with the most beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We stayed at Southern Cross Club for the first time for a week over Thanksgiving. The service was so personalized that we felt like we were among friends, and we were especially grateful to Chef Anu and the kitchen staff who went out of their way to keep our picky eaters happy. We came to Little Cayman for the diving, which was outstanding. The team of dive leaders was knowledgeable, friendly and took great care to make sure that all divers had a good experience. The short walk from the room to the dock made it easy to get to the boat for dives. The location was exceptional, and we appreciated being surrounded by natural beauty and seeing the incredible night skies. The resort is small and peaceful and offers a great opportunity to relax in quiet surroundings. The rooms are comfortable and clean and free of distractions. We took advantage of the complimentary kayaks, SUPs and bikes, and loved interacting with the staff and visiting the local sites. We hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Antsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Perfect holiday at the SCC, our 8th, we are addicts!
Incredible diving South and North side, never fails to impress!
Rip-roaring fun at Pirates Week boogying all the way to the Iggy!
Amazing guests as always both on and off the Dive Boat!
Tremendous team, nothing is too much, prepare to get spoiled!
Eats very high calibre even for a fussy high maintenance one!
So much fun to have above, below and off the water!

Wonderful cocktails, our own Jolly Rogers going down a treat!
Every effort extended to make sure we have a great experience!
Exceptional management from Peter and his senior team!
Knowing we are back in 19 weeks’ brings on a massive smile!

Room Tip: Go for top bungalows with amazing ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poshbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Southern Cross Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Club

Address: Guy Banks Rd, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range: €237 - €409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort on Little Cayman built entirely ON a beautiful white sand beach. All oceanfront accommodations. Southern Cross Club celebrates 50 years of welcoming discerning world travelers looking for the best in hospitality, diving, dining, fishing, and world class relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Club Hotel Little Cayman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing