We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Cove(Little Cayman)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Villas(Little Cayman)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
552
24
4
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
552
24
4
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef anubarefoot eleganceoutdoor showerowen islandfishing guidedive stafftunasunset cruisepaddle boardingfly fishingsmall islandgrand caymangreat fishingfishing resortrepeat guestshonor systemhonor bar
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We recently stayed at the Southern Cross Club during Thanksgiving week. It was our first time to visit Little Cayman having been to Grand Cayman several times, including our wedding.

Little Cayman is very quiet and tranquil and peaceful - just what we were looking for. There is not much to do other than scuba dive or fish or lie in a hammock and read a book. The island is only about 8 miles long by 1 mile wide, surrounded by pristine unpopulated beaches and clear turquoise waters. There is no need to rent a car on Little Cayman but one day we rented scooters from Scooten! Scooters! and rode the entire way around the island. On other days we borrowed bicycles from the Southern Cross Club for a short ride to the village or to the National Trust House where the Red-footed Booby Pond Preserve is located. We also saw more than a dozen large iguanas out in the open at the Little Cayman Museum.

At the Southern Cross Club we stayed in a deluxe bungalow that included a private outdoor shower that we used when we came back from a dive trip. Our room was tastefully furnished and very comfortable. It was just a short walk to the main building which includes the dining area where you eat all your meals, the main office, and the bar. Speaking of meals, this was one of the best things about Southern Cross Club. Your room rate includes breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Breakfast is made to order while lunch is served buffet style, but different every day. The evening's 3-course dinner menu is posted at lunchtime and usually consists of two choices of an appetizer, entree and dessert that you choose in advance. Anu the chef is excellent and everything he prepared was beyond delicious. Besides Anu, everyone on the staff is super friendly and we left there feeling like family. I believe there was more staff than guests and we always felt taken care of. They contribute to the friendly casual atmosphere at the resort. We also had a chance to socialize with other guests as we got to know them on dive trips, mingling at the bar before dinner, or during dinner when the tables were set up family style on some nights. Fernando the bartender was friendly and very capable of making any drink you wanted, often singing while he mixes them.

During our 6-day stay we did three 2-tank dives and one single tank dusk dive. The dive masters – Mike, Henry, and Chris – were all great. They were entertaining, safety conscious, and knew the reefs like the back of their hand, always finding interesting things. On many of the dives we got a chance to swim with the friendly groupers that inhabit the reefs. We were even lucky enough to dive with Guy Harvey one day when he stayed at the Southern Cross to promote his new documentary about saving the Nassau Grouper.

It is hard to believe that Little Cayman has only had central electricity since the early 90’s. While the Southern Cross Club has been around for many years even before that, it is totally modern and upscale and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay and attribute that to owner Peter Hillenbrand’s hospitable nature and the staff’s commitment to making every guest’s stay enjoyable, especially manager Neil van Niekerk and general manager Jen Mills who patiently removed splinters from my fingers after I slipped and fell on a dock (not theirs!). Now that’s customer service ☺ All in all, our vacation to Little Cayman and our stay at the Southern Cross Club exceeded all our expectations!

Room Tip: The deluxe bungalows have a private outdoor shower which is very handy after returning from a dive trip.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bayoumom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and I went for a 5 day get-a-way and were immediatly mezmorized by this intimate resort. The setting is surreal and the staff and food outstanding. The "Barefoot Elegance" description fits the Southen Cross Club well as it is both casual and classy at the same time. Probably best suited for those seeking total relaxation, diving and/or fishing experience as Little Cayman is a beautiful, but small, island.

We stayed on the top floor of the yellow bungalo (not sure if it has a room number) and it had spectacular views, very comfortable accomadations, even an outside shower on the balcony!

The dive staff was phenominal; from tracking down my old certification, a quick refresher course, and top quality gear. The boat is new and well set up. I especially liked the drawings and small presentation before each dive explaining what lie below us in the deep blue sea before we jumped in. These are truly "guided dives" and Mike and Christian are exceptional all the way around. And the diving is WOW.

Lunch and dinner are signalled by a ring of the bell and were tasty and healthy at the same time. Fernando is a wizard at the bar and made for some memorable evenings. While we visited, staff outnumbered the guest and were both helpful and friendly. We will be back and hopefully sooner than later!!!

Room Tip: The room on top of the yellow bungalow is PERFECT!!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have been visiting the Southern Cross Club for years and our recent visit found it at its peak of performance. The food is excellently prepared by Chef Anu who presents his high quality meals with a warm smile. We were entertained nightly at the outdoor bar by Fernando, who is an expert mixologist, creating drinks with fresh fruits tailored to each guest's desires.

There are always interesting guests at Southern Cross Club who like to vacation off the beaten path a bit and are willing to make the effort to reach a spot that's a little more remote. We were lucky to be there when Guy Harvey came over to present a work-in-progress film aimed at preserving the Grouper population that spawns annually only near Little Cayman. He stayed at and dived with the Southern Cross Club and was delightful to talk to. We also were intrigued with a couple from Houston who quietly acknowledged that he was the pilot of the Space Shuttle on a trip to the Russian Space Station.

The friendly staff, fishing guides, and highly qualified dive team work smoothly and efficiently so that guests are beautifully accommodated and can pursue any activity they desire, from fishing the flats for bonefish and permit, diving the pristine waters, snorkeling over the reefs, or just lounging in a hammock beside turquoise waters with a good book.

Southern Cross Club is the ideal place to step off the world for a bit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaribbeanTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed the week of 29-27 October 2011, just as the SCC had reopened after its annual down period. Unlike the other times I have visited, the place was nearly empty, but the treatment, the food, and the diving were all as good as ever. I was especially impressed that we managed to experience such great diving, even when the local storms made it impossible to circle to the other side of the island four of the six diving days. The other side has more noted dive sites, but I thoroughly enjoyed the nearer sites this time. The dive crew, with several familiar faces, was friendly, helpful, skilled, and professional. Back on land, the food was absolutely fantastic and the service equally good. It was an improvement that this time wireless service was available in the clubhouse, so I did not have to line up to use the common house laptop. And this time I splurged and rented one of the new bungalos, which was luxurious and well worth the slight upcharge. From now on, that's where I'm staying when I go back, as I certainly will. In fact, my dive buddies and I have already made reservations for next summer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Follansbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This review is LONG overdue since we actually stayed there in August 2010 for our honeymoon, but we wanted to make sure we left a good review anyway.
We stayed for a week at the Southern Cross Club and reserved the honeymoon suite for our stay. We were very happy about this choice for our trip. It was exactly what we were looking for. We wanted to be on a small quiet island in the Caribbean and that was exactly what we found. there is enough space on Little Cayman Island to get away and not see another person for hours. The staff was wonderful and we got to know them well since they were very friendly. They have bicycles you can use for free to get around some of the little island's sites or go to the store and restaurant just a few minutes down the road. There are also kayaks on the beach that can be used to row to uninhabited Owen Island only a few hundred yards away. The food was also excellent and there was a large variety everyday. Also upon request they will set up an outdoor torch-lit dinner on the beach for a romantic evening.
Though we don't dive as a hobby we go out on a dive while we were here. This is a diver's paradise as there are multiple diving trips a day and Little Cayman is known as one of the world's best dive spots. Since it was our first time ever diving, the instructor took all the time we needed to teach us and and the dive guide who actually took us out also was very accommodating and made the experience unforgettable.
If you are looking for a perfect place to dive or just a place to get away from the world this is it! You can get completely involved with everyone here and on the little island or keep completely to yourself and Southern Cross Club will accommodate you perfectly.
The only negative I could identify is the eelgrass right off the beach directly in front of the resort prevents enjoyable swimming but that is not the fault of the club but just a factor of location. All in all we had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend Southern Cross Club to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJBorrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews