We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$398
US$378
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$398
US$378
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/21
Trip.com
US$398
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/21
Orbitz.comUS$378
TravelocityUS$378
eDreamsUS$378
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,123)
Filter reviews
2,123 results
Traveller rating
1,305
622
134
30
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,305
622
134
30
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street fish tacos beach chairs yogurt grand cayman westin hotel sister property small kitchen continental breakfast liquor store minute walk on site restaurant one bedroom suite governor's beach nice pool full kitchen public beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 2,123 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2018

I had an very good stay at the Sunshine Suites Resort and would return.

Pros: You get to use the Westin amenities, and it's just across the street. It is basically like staying at the Westin, but for cheaper (cost was great compared to other resorts). This location is really good. My room was clean, and included a full fridge. On-site restaurant and bar were pretty good. The WIFI was excellent!

Cons: The shower was horrible (couldn't seem to get the right temperature ever). The free breakfast was pretty bad. Bed was decent, not great.

Side note: I think it would be extremely beneficial if the resort offered a bicycle service. I found it difficult to get a bike on the island.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kilometerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2018

Thank you for the lovely, comprehensive review of your recent stay at the Sunshine Suites Resort. How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our terrific value, exciting amenities, convenient location and thoughtful touches. It’s disappointing to know that you had trouble with your shower; our staff is always eager to resolve any concerns you have. We appreciate the suggestion regarding the bicycles, and we will take it into consideration! We hope to welcome you back soon for another restful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2018

Just came back from 5 days spent at Sunshine Inn with my husband and 2 year old daughter. Overall, we were very pleased with our choice to stay at Sunshine Inn.
The check in was quick and pleasant. We got there at 1PM, which is before their check in time, but they were kind enough to find us a room early, so we can put our daughter down to nap after a tiring flight. The room itself was clean and had everything we needed. During the stay, the cleaning ladies actually worked around our daughter's nap schedule and only cleaned after we cleared out of the room in late afternoon! This is such a small thing, but it made a huge difference to us!
We were given room 133, ground floor, back of the hotel, closest to the road. At first, I was not sure I wanted to stay in the room, as I was worried for noise from the road, but we did not hear a single thing during the day or night! Not sure how they did it, but I think those rooms are really sound proof!
The first night, we did have a problem with the water - we thought we didn't have any hot water in the shower. After a quick chat with the reception, they told us that sometimes the hot and cold sides are mislabeled and voila, our hot water problem was fixed. This was nothing more than a minor inconvenience.
Sunshine Grill - as many people have stated, the fish tacos are amazing and worth a try. They are also significantly cheaper than fish tacos at the Westin. We ordered while we were on the beach one day and for CI $19 at the Weston we got 2 fish tacos, while at Sunshine Grill you get 3 for CI $17. Burgers are OK at the Grill, but nothing to write home about. We also found out about happy hour specials for both food and drinks that happen on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. I think it's from 5 until 7pm. It's 2 for 1 appetizers and a couple of bucks off beers and their signature cocktail. Definitely worth going on those days to save a few bucks.
Overall, it's definitely worth a stay here and one of the best values to be had on Seven Mile Beach. Yes, the Westin is much nicer in terms of the rooms and amenities, but in our opinion it did not justify a nearly DOUBLE cost of the hotel room. For $35 a day we enjoyed the Westin amenities and went back to our clean, reasonably priced (for Cayman Islands) room in a cute hotel with fantastic service.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at the Sunshine Suites Resort! Any time we can accommodate the special requests of a guest, we are thrilled, especially when it means a little one is able to nap undisturbed and her parents can then have a more relaxing getaway. We’re delighted, too, that our delicious food, well-appointed accommodations, helpful staff and terrific value exceeded your expectations, and we hope to welcome you back again soon for another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Really nice resort, with a nice pool, great restaurant, and convenient to the beach. They offer a free continental breakfast, which was pretty minimal, but serviceable for a quick bite before diving. Highly recommend the “Painkiller” at the Sunshine Grill.

Room was clean and comfortable. Well designed for a beach and diving vacation. They even have a dunk tank and drying lockers for diving gear.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank shepards2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2018

We’re delighted to hear that your recent stay at the Sunshine Suites Resort was everything you hoped it would be, and more! From our beautiful property, delicious and convenient dining to our special amenities for divers, we are thrilled to provide a fun, restful visit. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

Great hotel in a good location with full access to Westins amenities. It’s across the street but still closer to the beach than some other large all inclusive I have stayed at. Good value for money! There is a grocery store and cost you less close by to get food or the Sunshine grill on site was great. Small kitchen in the room to make your own food and nice to have a full size fridge.

The only minor improvements could be safes in the rooms and a bit more for “healthy” options at breakfast.

Utilize the bus only $2 for a ride. Some great restaurants in the area we tried were ragazzi, macabuca, sunshine grill, Casa 43 and sunset house. Ones I would skip are XQs, Brooklyn’s and anything right by the cruise ships. Sharkeez was terrible.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank franka04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Frank, we appreciate that you took the time to offer such a glowing review of your stay at the Sunshine Suites Resort! It’s wonderful to know that our amazing value, convenient location and helpful amenities pleased you. Thank you for your suggestions about the safes and breakfast offerings, we will discuss them as a team to see where improvements can be made. Please come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018

We really enjoyed Sunshine Suites. Granted, it is not the Westin, but as everyone else has said, you can use all their amenities. The rooms are a bit worn, but it was wonderful to have a kitchen and the place was clean. Staff was very friendly, continental breakfast was a nice bonus and it was delightful to sit outside at night in the adirondack chairs and play cards. I would definately stay here again

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

We’re delighted, Cobyn, to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sunshine Suites Resort, and that our terrific value, exciting amenities, relaxing atmosphere, delicious dining and helpful service exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews