We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
87
81
44
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
81
44
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar the open air lobby cove area jimmy buffet liquor store next door grand cayman beach resort construction noise excellent breakfast all inclusive package king room mini fridge seven mile main pool the rooms were nice bars and restaurants lobby area
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Being a fan of Buffett's i was excited to see this resort pop up in a deal to the Cayman's so I quickly booked it. Overall, it's fine, not bad, not awesome but fine. I wanted to be wow'ed and wasn't. I learned that the entire hotel has recently gone through a total renovation and that's good. But there is more work to be done. Let's start at the bar. The pool bar, was our first stop and the drinks were VERY dissapointing. so much so that we avoided it for the rest of the trip. The margarita was actually not good. The rum drinks were not much better. Come on folks, this is MARGARITAVILLE!!! the drinks should be great and they were not. The menu was small and not impressive food came out of the kitchen. There were more choices at the Air Margaritaville in the Miami airport than at this hotel resort. They did have a steakhouse that was pretty much empty all week i was there. Again, they should know how to do a Margaritaville restaurant and after day 1 we ate somewhere else for all meals. I don't need a $40 steak at Margaritaville.

This is on 7 mile beach and the beach was ok. for some reason they built a cove on the beach so you are sort of swimming in this small enclosed area and you dont get that feel you are on a huge island wide beach.

Now some silly stuff to complain about. The towel distribution was slow and only at one pool. one of the towels had a hole in it and when i pointed it out he said ok and tossed it in with the others. The open lobby was nice and they have a bar there they have happy hours at but all the chairs in the lobby were really uncomfortable. all the TV's and the music is of course heavy on Jimmy Buffett music, that's a good thing but after about two days I realized it was all the same music and video loop. How about Margaretville Radio???? that would have been an improvement.

The room was small, nice but small. i had a good view of the pool but the beach is actually on the other side of the condo that actually sits on the beach. it's not a problem but the hotel is actually part of a complex that includes a condo. There was nothing on the beach, no bar, no games, toys paddle boards etc...i might have used.

FYI - Coconut Joe's had a great breakfast and it's right across the street, good for lunch or dinner too, nothing fancy but good and Pepper's another good spot are a short walk away, so their are options.

If you have been to other Margaritville restaurants or resorts, this one doesnt quiet measure up. I hope they get it right. the staff was friendly, but they are clearly having growing pains. Good location, right at the start of 7 Mile Beach. you could walk into Georgetown if you wanted to and Camara Bay is a long but do-able walk too. so it's not a bad location.

In short, I wanted to be excited and I wasn't. It wasn't bad and I would probably stay again, but with lowered expectations and only if it was a good deal. It's not a showplace, just a good beach hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank captaindavebklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mville_cayman, General Manager at Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Captn Dave, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We will revisit our operation as a whole to ensure we deliver a full guest experience of one may expect at a Margaritaville Resort.

Kevin Sassano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

So disappointed in this hotel. Nothing like the website.
The hotel is dirty and the staff needs some serious training.
Mold in the pool, trash in the landscaping, and overall disrepair throughout the property.
The beach area is just sad...
We experienced only ONE staff member that understood what a smile and being customer friendly is. (The lady that ran the coffee stand in the lobby)
The front desk people are rude and lazy.
We had to argue with a staff member just to get pool towels. (They failed to give us “towel card” and then made us prove it before getting towels!) 100% their error and not even an apology.
To the owners of this hotel- fire your entire staff, bring in a clean up and maintenance crew and rework yourselves.
Sooooo much missed opportunity!!!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Stefbraudrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mville_cayman, General Manager at Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,


Kevin Sassano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I stumbled upon a good groupon deal for the Margaritaville Beach Resort in Grand Cayman, so we decided to give it a try. It turned out to be a fantastic vacation. We, along with some friends, really enjoyed our 6 night stay at this resort. Everyone that worked there was extremely friendly and accommodating. Our room looked freshly painted and was very clean. Housekeeping cleaned well and provided fresh towels and water bottles daily. When we first arrived we were all treated to a free mini margarita at the main bar to welcome us. David the bartender suggested many good places to eat. Friday night there was a happy hour with a live band, which we listened to for a short while before heading out to dinner. The band was a bit loud, but still enjoyable. The three pools on the property were clean and well maintained, and the swim up bar at one of them was a bonus. The location of the resort was great. Our second day we walked to Kirk's grocery store to purchase some snacks, which we enjoyed while spending time on the private beach swimming, snorkeling, and chatting with others who were also vacationing. We spent a few hours one day riding the hotel bikes, and many other times we walked to various shops and restaurants. This was our first visit to the Cayman Islands, and Margaritaville helped make it a memorable one.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gbpmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mville_cayman, General Manager at Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.


Kevin Sassano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Not too crowded with people, but just enough to make fun friends. Great family atmosphere! Kevin, the General Manager personally spoke with us and had a wonderful conversation about the island with us. All of the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful. Pools were sparkling clean. Steps to the 7 mile beach and perfect lagoon for snorkeling! The front desk called our taxis for us whenever we needed and had an answer for any question we had. No complaints here, enjoyed every minute at this resort and in Cayman Islands. See you next year!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mville_cayman, General Manager at Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you Laura;

We are so glad you enjoyed yourself, specifically around the island as well as our resort. Thank you for your kind feedback and staying with us and welcome the opportunity in seeing you on your next visit to Grand Cayman!

Kevin Sassano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We arrived the last week in March of this year, expecting a King room with a pool view. When I stepped onto the balcony, I had to look through the trees to catch a glimpse of a pool. We got another room. This is an old motel type building that is being renovated. That being said, you know what you are getting.The room has no dresser drawers to put clothes in, so you have to live out of your suitcase. The bathroom door is a slider with no sound barrier. There is an area rug in the room that you trip on constantly, and from talking to another couple staying here, they did too. It is not $300 a night worth plus the $35 a day resort fee for the use of the pool and beach. The pool is another story. It appears to have what looks like black algae around the grout of the tiles. The pool deck was constantly dirty, like some garden work was being done, and no one cleaned up the dirt. The cushions in the cabana were absolutely filthy. I questioned a manager about the dirty cushions and he told me that they have them "steam cleaned about once a month." It appears we must have been at the end of a month.There was no pool side service unless you got up and walked to a bar and ordered food and drinks, and then they would bring them, in due time. The breakfast restaurant was nothing to write home about in comparison to local restaurants. When we saw the other hotels in the area, we decided that we had been gypped.There was a band playing at night a couple of nights and unless you have ear plugs if you are in your room, you will be disturbed. One of the most noticed things was that no one smiled. There appeared to be people who may have been from the chain looking the place over, and the staff seemed to be huddled in small groups and appeared very concerned. And no one smiled. It was very disconcerting.

Room tip: Try another hotel.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorraineRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mville_cayman, General Manager at Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,


Kevin Sassano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews