We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
455
174
69
26
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
174
69
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tortuga grill across the street coffee exchange grand cayman pool bar island view resort fee sunset cruise red sail guest rooms rum cake construction noise an umbrella room upgrade water sports partial ocean view great resort
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We spent nearly a week here at the tail end of August before school started for the kids. An overall mixed experience at the Westin.

Pros:
====
- The beach is wonderful. The access from the hotel to beach could not be easier or simpler. Walk past the pool and there's the beach. The beach itself is one of the nicest we've ever been to, on par with Grace Bay in the Turks and Caicos. Soft white sand and shallow for quite a ways out.
- Water sports personnel from Red Sail Sports were friendly and helpful. We took some kayaks outs as our kids like to sea kayak.
- Shops and coffee shop were nice. Coffee shop did not have espresso for the first 3 days of our stay, since apparently there's only one guy who fixes the machines and he was on vacation. But the pastries were good and they had a good selection of other snacks and drinks.

Neutral:
======
- Food was ok. Basic resort food. We ate at the breakfast buffet, Tortuga grill, and room service. Nothing stood out as particularly good or bad. Yoshi Sushi and the Sunset Grill across the street were our preferred dinner options. And Peachtree frozen yogurt.
- Staff were generally polite, but not particularly friendly or helpful. Definitely did not compare to the super friendly staff at places like the Four Seasons Hualalai or Rosewood Tucker's Point Bermuda.

Cons:
=====
- Rooms were very generic. They could have just as easily been rooms at a Westin in any city in the US, except for some really minor "aquatic" touches. Don't expect to be wowed by the room.
- Housekeeping needs to do a MUCH better job. There were stains on the furniture, tables, and carpet from previous guests. Very obvious ones.
- Ants! It's a bit of a saga, so I'll describe our ant adventures more fully in the next section.
- While other parts of the hotel were renovated, the pool was definitely not. The surrounding concrete is old and worn. The pool bottom surface was rough and both our kids scraped their feet on it. The tile on the side is broken in places (under the bridge) and I'm frankly shocked it hasn't been repaired. The paint is worn in places.
- Concierge staff were not too eager to help. And when they did, they were often curt and dismissive.

ANTS!
=====
On the fifth floor no less. On our first night, we noticed lots of tiny ants in the shower. They were coming from a hole in the corner of the bathroom and probably seeking water in the shower. We called the front desk to let them know. They sent up someone to spray some commercial insecticide, but that's all. The hole was not plugged.

The next day, we noticed ants by the front of the room. After closer examination, they were streaming in from the "patio" door (NB: The patio was about 1 inch wide) and gathering food from a large brown stain on the carpet. There were a few other brown stains in that area, as well as around one of the beds. After *5* calls to housekeeping and the front desk, they finally sent someone up to spray some more commercial insecticide in the room. I called again to request the carpet be cleaned, and assumed it would happen while we were out. It never happened, or they didn't do much cleaning, since when we returned later in the day, the brown stains were still there. However, the insecticide had killed all the ants, but we spent the rest of the vacation with a room that smelled like commercial insecticide. Bodies also were piling up near the shower from the previous spray. Overall, we were VERY dissatisfied with the service. No one followed up from house keeping or the front desk.

Outings:
=======
- We did the breakfast with stingrays outing. Great experience, great staff. The boat leaves early, but that means it beats most of the other boats to the stingray area which is great, since you have it to yourself for 30min+ before the hordes show up.
- We saw a little of George Town shopping areas. They were the normal jewelry shops, souvenir shops, perfume/makeup shops, etc. Nothing too amazing or different.
- We did the submarine outing and were a bit disappointed by the lack of things that we saw. Could have just been a bad time of day or unlucky.

Conclusion
=========
While our stay at the Westin wasn't bad, and we quite enjoyed the Grand Cayman overall, I have a feeling we would have been happier at the Ritz or the Kimpton Seafire. When we visit the Grand Cayman again, I doubt we'll stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to our resort for your end-of-summer vacation, Ken, and we thank you for investing the time to share such thorough observations with us and other travelers. While we were delighted that you enjoyed your overall Grand Cayman visit, we regret that we did not fully exceed your expectations and apologize for any shortcomings you experienced that negatively impacted your stay. Please know that our team will be reviewing all of your candid feedback to ensure that any outstanding issues are alleviated or improved upon for the future. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and hope that we will have the opportunity to host you all again in the future, so that we may truly win you over by providing you with the positively memorable stay you expected and deserved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Upon entering the lobby and the impressive open view to the ocean your experience will only get better. The staff and amenities are exceptional and you immediately relax into island time. In our humble opinion... there is no reason to look at other hotels on Seven Mile beach.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidschmidt2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

David, what a joy to read such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa. Our staff is passionate about providing you with a relaxing, memorable stay while you enjoy our luxurious property and the stunning Seven Mile Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Grand Cayman for our 10th wedding anniversary. We had the most amazing and memorable time there. Candacy went above and beyond to make our trip so special! On our anniversary, she did an amazing job to help us celebrate the occasion.

We felt that everyone at the hotel was very professional and helpful. The hotel facility is modern and beautiful and located next to amazing snorkeling, boating, and paddle boarding.

The main restaurant was incredible for a “toes in the sand” beach table, a beach BBQ party and an incredible sunday brunch. Best on the island.

We can’t wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shigeno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Shigeno, we are honored that you and your husband chose to celebrate your special occasion at the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed our beautiful property, delicious dining, exemplary staff and exciting location. We would love to become part of your annual anniversary tradition!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Could not ask for more! This is a lovely hotel on a PERFECT beach. During our stay we also visited the Ritz Carlton and the Marriott. Their beaches cannot compare being very narrow and therefore very crowded. As a matter of fact, the Ritz Carlton Hotel is across the street with a bridge over the street to provide access to the beach. Why would you pay Ritz Carlton prices to be on the other side of the street!?!

Grand Cayman is expensive. Expect to overpay for everything, but you cannot go wrong with the Westin.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leere2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

It is a delight to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay, including our beautiful property and convenient access to the breathtaking Seven Mile Beach. Please allow us to welcome you back soon to the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

My now-husband and I had the best time at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach and Spa. He is an SPG Platinum member. We paid for the hotel through points. We arrived on July 26 and stayed until August 3. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. We reached out to the concierge about things to do before our stay, and Candacy wrote back within 2 days with a LONG list of things to do, see, restaurants to eat at, etc. We found this SO helpful. She was there at check in to personally say hello to us. The hotel was very clean and we had no problem with room service. The hotel was kind enough to surprise us with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne when they found out it was our honeymoon. We were also upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room.

Shanika a the front desk was so nice. Our room was not ready when we arrived (check in was at 4, we arrived around noon), but the front desk called and emailed us to let us know when the room was ready.

Rene and Delroy at the front door were always friendly whenever we entered/exited the hotel. We kept saying that we have never stayed at a hotel where we felt the staff genuinely cared about us - they would address us by name, ask how our day was, asked what excursions we had done that day, etc. It was so great to feel taken care of.

We qualified for complimentary breakfast at Ferdinands and ate lunch at the Tortuga Grill most days. The food and drinks were good, but there were some days where the beach service was slower than others. You can't really complain too much though when you press a buzzer on your umbrella and people are personally delivering food and drinks lol

We enjoyed the outdoor movie night with free popcorn! We also enjoyed the ease of booking excursions and dinner on site.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!!!

Stayed: July 2018
2  Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Wow, what an absolutely amazing review, Kelly! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. Our staff truly cares about the guests, and they will be delighted to hear your thoughts. Relaxing on the Seven Mile Beach, enjoying a delicious meal in one of our beautiful restaurants, and taking advantage of some of the incredible activities on the island are all ideal ways to get the most out of a vacation. Reviews like yours help other guests discover us and enjoy peaceful, refreshing getaways at the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa. Congratulations on your wedding, and we hope to become part of your anniversary celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews