We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveller rating
439
173
67
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
173
67
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstortuga grillacross the streetcoffee exchangegrand caymanpool barisland viewresort feesunset cruisered sailguest roomsrum cakeconstruction noisean umbrellaroom upgradewater sportspartial ocean viewgreat resort
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 727 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed a week at the Westin and loved every minute of it! The beach is amazing. We have been to Aruba and Turks and the beach at the Westin is comparable to Turks. Although, nicer than where we were located in Aruba!! The staff at the Westin are amazing. Always smiling and upbeat!! The service is above and beyond. Can’t wait to go back to Grand Cayman and the Westin. I just wish there weren’t so many other great Caribbean destinations to visit!!! Looks like it might be Antigua next year. Love the Caribbean!!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Laurel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

The staff at the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa smiles because we love seeing guests have a great time with us during their visit. Even more so, we smile thanks to reviews like yours! The Caribbean is certainly beautiful and has so much to offer. We’re excited to read that you wish to continue exploring its many gifts. Should you return the Grand Cayman, know we will always be delighted to welcome you back. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We stayed at the Westin from 4/19-4/22. This is our first time at an SPG property since we are Marriott gold members. We decided to stay at the Westin over the Marriott, even though it costs more, due to their beach.

The hotel is about 15 mins from the airport via taxi. Taxi was $23 before tip for two people. Taxis have a prefixed rate and charge per person. So always ask before getting in about the taxi price so there are no surprises at your destination. Carry some cash in small bills.

The exchange rate is about $1USD to 0.80CI.

There are public buses, similar to a minivan, that run most of the day and are much cheaper than taxis. They cost $2.50 per person (cash only). We took the public buses to many places without any issue. Just wait on the curb for them and they’ll either honk at you or you can just waive them down.

We checked in early and they had one room available that we took. Even though we are Gold members and entitled to an upgrade if available, we were told they didn’t have anything available and were sold out. Unlike the Marriott, no one at the Westin acknowledged our SPG status. We were suppose to get a welcome drink upon arrival which we didn’t. The front desk will put a hold on your credit card or debit card for the resort fees and any room charges. They charged $600 to our card, others were charged much higher.

Here are some pros and cons of this property:

PROS:

1. Overall the hotel is in great shape and has been completely updated. The views are great through the glass once you enter from the front doors as you can see all the beach and the water.
2. The beach is great. It’s large and wide unlike many other nearby hotels. You don’t feel crowded. Usually there is no issue getting beach chairs and an umbrella. Just see one of the beach people and they’ll find you chairs and umbrella.
3. The umbrella has a small button on it so when you want to order food/drinks, just press the button and hold it down for a few seconds. It might take some time for them to come to you depending on how busy they are.
4. The hotel staff was very friendly
5. Lots of excursions are right at the beach so you don’t have to go too far if you don’t want to.
6. Great pool area
7. Beach cabanas and day beds available for rent (about $200 and up for the day)
8. Overall food and drinks were good, even though more pricier than other nearby hotels. Don’t just eat at the hotel all the time, go out to other places to eat.
9. Eat across the street at Sunshine Grill. Good food and good prices.

CONS:

1. We were given ROOM 251. It was an “island view” with a full balcony. Should be called parking lot view as it was right by the main entrance facing the parking lot. The room had not been cleaned well. There were crumbs on the cabinet and a trail of ants. We called and they sent someone up to clean the room and spray the ants. When we came back from the beach in the afternoon, the ants were back. Second call to front desk and they sent someone up again to spray. When we came back to the room at night, more ants. Third call to front desk and spray for the third time. They offered us a drink coupon and breakfast buffet.
2. Next day when we complained again, they were able to switch rooms. This time we got a partial ocean view and much better room. This room had a toilet where the water would keep running. Another call to front desk and they sent someone to fix the toilet.
3. They charge a $65 per night per room “resort fee”. One of the highest resort fees anywhere in the world! For that money, you get almost nothing. Basically they’re charging you $65 to use the beach chairs and towels. They claim all this stuff is included in the resort fee, but it’s all the stuff that is provided for free at many other places.
4. Even with the $65 resort fee, you still have to pay for all non-motorized water sports. You want a floatie or flippers for the water, that’ll run you $15. You get charged for everything!
5. 16% gratuity is added to everything. So check your bill carefully to avoid double tipping.

We were first given Room 251 and it was horrible. Try to AVOID ROOMS 251, 244, 241, and 234. These rooms should not be given out to guests. Horrible design. They not only get a ton of noise from the frint entry, but the main lobby and bar area are noisy and these rooms are horrible cause of these reasons. It’s loud from morning till late at night. If we come back to this property in the future, I would never stay in the rooms I listed above.

Go to the Marriott to eat Thurs night. Visit Caymana Bay down the street with lots of shops, bars, restaurants. Eat at Sunshine Grill across the street. Do the sunset dinner sail cruise, the Atlantis submarine, swim with the stingrays. One excursion we couldn’t do but is highly recommended is the bioluminescent tour at night. The moon phase has to be right for you to do it so book as soon as you get there. Get in the water, don’t just stay on the kayak.

Pretty much all over the island, they’ll add 15-20% gratuity to your bill. Double check your bill so your not tipping twice.

If we didn’t have the two issues listed above, I would have given this property 5 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 251, 244, 241, 235.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Yasir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Your many kind and insightful notes will be incredibly helpful to future travelers. We also thank you for offering detailed feedback. We regret that we could not resolve the issues you encountered on our first try, but are glad we could make changes to ensure the rest of your stay went smoothly. The team will be looking into the situations you described along with your other suggestions and notes so that we can learn and continue to improve our services for future guests. We value your concerns and wish to welcome you back in the future, so that we may renew your trust with a truly impeccable impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Everything in life is about the expectations you have. If you are expecting a four seasons or Ritz, this will not meet your expectations. If you are good with capturing 85% of the Ritz for 50% of the price, this is your spot.

The hotel and bar and pool are all very nice -- though not as nice as the Ritz down the street. But they have everything you need, and steps away from literally the nicest beach in the world.

Also, i was super impressed with the management. I accidentally left a pair of Rayban sunglasses on top of one of the showers near Tortuga restaurant. I left for about 45 minutes then realized I lost them. Sure enough, restaurant staff spotted them and kept them.

I have been in NUMEROUS resorts over the years where the hotel staff would have pocketed the sunglasses. Management at this resort created a solid, honest culture and I deeply appreciate that.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank superfluouschap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Your compliments to our staff are absolutely outstanding and bring a smile to our faces. Expectations certainly do influence how brightly we see the world, but wonderful guests such as you keep us motivated in our commitment to a high standard of service. From all of us at the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Like many I was torn to go to the Marriott or the Westin. After many reviews my wife and I decided to go to the Westin. Our decision was based on the Westin completing there renovations plus reading the reviews about how much bigger the beach is at the Westin then compared to the Marriott.

We have never seen the Westin prior the renovations but the final result is very nice. My wife and I travel a decent amount and have been to many other Caribbean locations. The Westin is very nice, clean, and accommodating.

During our visit we only had one minor issue regarding the smell of the toilet. It was finally rectified which is what we expected and was no longer an issue. The Westin rectified the issue and you would never of known there was an issue.

As far as the rest of our visit, we had an excellent experience. All of the staff at the Westin were great and accommodating. I was celebrating a birthday during our visit and the Westin was going to give us something in our room for this but wife upgraded this to a nice plate of desserts. When the concierge would make dinner reservations for us they would always provide us with very good recommendations plus they would tell the restaurant I was celebrating my bday. All of the bartenders were very friendly and happy. We had a great time hanging at the lobby bar before and after dinner the bartenders were awesome Especially Ollie and many others, unfortunately I have forgotten there names and I apologize to them. All of the staff from housekeeping, to the maintenance people and bellman were all very friendly and quick to say hello.

Service at the beach was pretty good the servers were all very nice as well and did a nice job of checking on guests pretty regularly to see if you needed anything.

My only complaint isn’t really a complaint and it isn’t really with the Westin. My wife and witnessed all week a lot of kids that looked as if they had no parents. I understand that kids will be kids but even though you as a parent you are on vacation you are still a parent. In many instances kids needed some parenting and there were no parents around. We saw kids throw sand at people without being reprimanded, we saw on many occasions kids jumping of the bridge that goes over the pool. Kids were jumping of the sides of the swim up bar even with adults sitting there. All happening without parents saying anything to the kids. I get kids are on vacation and want to have fun but this doesn’t give them the right to jump of the sides of the bar when people are their having a drink getting splashed with pool water which is splashing in there drinks. As I said this isn’t really a complaint with the Westin. If we return to Grand Cayman we will be sure to stay at the Westin again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Rich6556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018


Knowing you had such an excellent vacation while here is the greatest compliment you can pay us, and you offered so many more kind regards. It’s our pleasure to ensure a swift resolution to any bumps you may encounter during your stay, and we’re happy to have made adjustments as quickly as possible. You enjoyed our commitment to great service firsthand, and it’s exciting to see we could anticipate your needs in other situations. Making you feel as pleasant as the Grand Cayman sun is our specialty, and we hope to see you back the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa for another wonderful stay soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Just came back from a week at the Westin in Grand Cayman and cannot wait to go back. I was there with a few friends for a girls relaxation week away.

We were greeted upon our arrival by Kirk, with a big smile and an instruction not to touch our bags and to start relaxing. Kirk ended up being a very helpful and friendly resource the entire week. Juan Pablo checked us in and also was very helpful, and made sure the entire week that we were enjoying our stay. Throughout the week, we were very impressed with the helpful and friendly staff at the Westin, from the doormen, desk folks, servers in the restaurants, and the very friendly servers along the beach and pool.

As we learned once we were down there, it has the biggest and best beach along 7 mile beach. The very helpful staff will find you a seat on the beach, get you an umbrella, and the waitstaff is very attentive on the beach and along the pool. But the beach chairs fill up quickly, especially right along the water. You'll have to get up early to get a prime spot. We got a cabana one of the days and I highly recommend it. Plenty of shade and sun, VIP service and other ammenities that made for a very pleasant day on the beach.

The pool is also nice including a swim up bar, but also tended to be where more of the families with little kids were. The pool was closed for one day while we were there due to "some PH issues."

The restaurants are all very very good, we went off hotel for dinner a couple nights but were perfectly happy to have dinner at the hotel as well, and the lunch and breakfast options are great. In particular the breakfast buffet is very good. We did the buffett most mornings but also ordered off the menu one day and had very good meals. In terms of dinner, the Beach House was excellent. Lots of appealing options on the menu, very nice presentation, and delicious food.

There is a gym with a couple treadmills, ellipticals, the recombinant bikes and some weights. It's perfectly fine to get a workout in during the week. I was hoping they would have had a pelaton bike like other Westins I have been to but unfortunately not. I did one of the yoga classes on the beach, which was a mixture of yoga and pilates but was good, and the full body workout on Tuesday was no joke - great workout by a local personal trainer.

We got massages at the spa which were amazing. The spa is a little smaller and older than expected given the recent renovations but worth checking out

The rooms had great views of the pool and ocean, and were impeccably cleaned every day. There were three of us in one room with two beds and it was perfectly fine. Took us a couple of days to figure out the AC (it was freezing in the room but by turning off the fan it warmed up a little).

The week we were there was school vacation week, so lots of families, and there was also a wedding and a conference there, but the hotel and property never seemed overcrowded or unmanageable.

Highly recommend staying here and we look forward to returning!

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room and it had a great view of the pool and ocean
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bos7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

At the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, we are dedicated to ensuring that once you arrive, you rest in good hands. To that end, we will be thanking those whose assistance was so outstanding you mentioned them personally. They will be delighted to know you enjoyed their help as much as our beaches and amenities! We could not be more excited to read how much you loved your stay, and hope to see you for another getaway in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews