We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveller rating
467
179
69
28
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
179
69
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tortuga grill coffee exchange across the street grand cayman pool bar island view resort fee red sail sunset cruise guest rooms rum cake construction noise room upgrade great resort an umbrella water sports partial ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 766 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

If you are looking for a nice looking place to stay, then you can do ok here. We checked in three days go and are here for 4 more days but for the cost of the room plus a $60 door resort fee, you would expect something to be included. Outside of the wifi (which is free as a gold member anyway), there is nothing included. Sure, there are beach chairs but only if you get downstairs before 7AM. Want to have a life jacket for your child, there is a cost. Want a snorkel, there is a cost. Want to use any water equipment, there is a cost. I am surprised they don't charge you for the towels. And Christmas dinner (we went elsewhere) for $135/person goes so far with 3 kids. When you spend the amount of money you do here, you don't want to be nickel and dimed but that is exactly what apparently is done here. I am enjoying the island but this will be one Starwood/Marriott property I will not recommend at this point.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G3920MAmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for taking a moment to let us know your thoughts while you're here. Although we are happy our property is to your liking, we regret that you are not completely satisfied. Our resort fee does include much more than Wifi like paddleboard clinics, beach yoga, and activities. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll get to enjoy it all during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

The food was very good and plenty of it and with a lot of choice. Unfortunately it was not planned very well. Too many people and not enough staff. Arrived early but due to queue didn’t get seated till 12.21. Queues for food were quite long and the plates were all in the far corner, causing people to have to fight through the queues. Staff had too many tables to look after, at one point it took nearly half an hour to get a refill. Alcohol was only served till 2.30, so what’s the point in having brunch 12-3? Pretty poor for a well known chain!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Doddy0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

While we are pleased you enjoyed our food selection, it disappoints us to know that you were not completely satisfied. Our staff strives to provide the very best in service and we regret that on this occasion we were not at our best. Thank you for taking the time to share feedback, we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited this property for our honeymoon in nov 2016 and it was undergoing major renovations. With lots of complications we were awarded with a coupon for half off our next stay that had to be used this may-dec. We went nov 2017 and when we arrived we were put in a room that was renovated but the outside was still undergoing major construction still. Our balcony was gone and scaffolding was blocking our view. We were very upset because we only returned this year because we were promised the renovations would be completed. We saved up all year to come back and enjoy the renovations that were supposed to be done. My husband called the front desk and asked to speak to the MOD. Erica came to our aid very professionally and promptly. She upgraded us to a better room and completely turned our stay around. The new and improved Resort is OUTSTANDING. All staff are very helpful and friends and Rafael at the front desk is so nice and helpful. We hope to return to our favorite place very soon!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank victoriah538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

We were happy to welcome you back, Victoria and just thrilled to hear that you loved our newly renovated property. We are glad you had an outstanding stay despite the shaky start. Thank you for sharing feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

My husband, two young children, and I stopped here as our Disney Cruise was ported. We purchased a room for day to receive the amenities and are so glad we did. The beach was powdery soft and very clean. The entry to the ocean was shallow and perfect for my 3 and 5 year olds. The water was the clearest of all I have ever seen and my pictures all looked as if I had filters on them (they did not).

The room we were given was nicely appointed with modern, clean lines. We booked through resort for a day and this gave us a room until 2pm and amenities for the resort. Service was great on the beach and the beachside restaurant. they give you an electronic band to put around your chair that you can press to request service.

There were no beach umbrellas available and it was quite hot, but at my request, the beach servers were able to bring us one after about an hour. Thank you!

I has a wonderful time here and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

We are so glad you had a wonderful time here, Lisa and it was our pleasure to accommodate you and your family. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful beach and our newly renovated guest room. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

It is the westin afterall so expectations are high and they did meet it. It's a stunning property along the seven mile beach. I love long walks along the beach so this was perfect for those long walks and trying to get your 5+ miles in daily.

the beach itself is about 5 miles, not sure why it's called the seven mile beach, i'm sure there is a story behind it.

So here is a summary of our experience (family of 4 kids ages 11 and 14).

1. we rented one room, there is a pull out sofa and a king bed so family of 4 in one room is doable although room is meant for 3 max so i wouldn't advertise that you are a family of 4.

2. 3 main restaurants on the property, never went to the fancy one (the beach house) but ate regularly at Tortuga (restaurant by the beach), menu is great and not the typical crappy hotel restaurant menu. the 2nd restaurant Fernidands, is open all day and the main place for morning breakfast, and great for dinner. has similar menu to tortuga with some additional options.

3. the cafe by the reception is open from 6a-8p and serves coffees, fresh orange juice, and pastries, sandwiches, and has plenty of options incase you are in a hurry and don't want to do the sit down restaurant option.

4. 16% gratuity is automatically added to every bill so be aware of that and the gratuity line is only if you want to tip above the 16%.

5. we were there from dec 19th-24th. hotel was full 100% occupancy so the beach did get crowded during the daytime

6. main things to do on the islands: stingray city, starfish point, rum point, eco mangrove tour, and the bio illumence tour in the evening. all are great, our favorite one was the mangrove tour with kayaks and the bio illumence tour in the evening. just word of caution, plan ahead for the bio illumence tour as it is only 2 weeks out of the month (as per moon calendar) and the early 7pm tours get booked very quickly (they have 7p and 9p tours).

side note: plenty of tour companies to book these tours but stay away from captain marvin's which is across from the hotel - they have great reviews on trip advisor but we had a horrible experience.

7. there is fosters grocery store 10 min walk from the property so it was great to get a couple of gallons of water for the room and minimize bottle water usage.

8. island is windy this time of year so packing a light sweater or jacket if you are traveling in dec is best.

9. the local currency is CI dollar and follows close to the pound value since it's a british island but US dollars will work just fine. just remember your US dollar is worth 80% of it's value at the time of this review.

10. there is Eat's restaurant across from the hotel, another option for breakfast, lunch, or dinner if you don't want to get into a taxi and go anywhere.

11. no uber and taxi isn't cheap. $40 from the airport to the hotel for a 20 min ride.

A couple of advice for hotel management to help improve the experience:
1. the pillows are awful - get better pillows pls.
2. you don't make pina coladas from scratch? why? you are a luxury hotel so you should not be using cheap premade pina colada in a box with ice and call it pina colada. please make your pina colada with real ingredients.

overall a great experience at the hotel and the island and seemed like there were more things to do in this island then some of the other caribbean islands.

if this review was helpful, please don't forget to give it a like. thank you!

Room Tip: book early to get a room with a view.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank journeyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGrandCayman, General Manager at The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

It is fantastic to hear that this was your favorite Caribbean island vacation. We are delighted that you all had an excellent time here at the Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa and enjoyed great dining and our beautiful beach. Thank you for sharing your experience and providing feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews