We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
175
32
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
32
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobsterluxury tentssand dunesclosest thinglight sleeperfree shuttleseparate bathroomsolo femalerain showerdinner orderwell worth the extra moneywindward sideexcellent barthatched roofnever felt unsafemodern amenitiescanopy bed
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We like to travel to quiet, unspoiled, and fairly remote places, particularly when going to a beach. Anegada Beach Club provided all of those qualities.The beach, itself, may be the most beautiful I have seen outside of Hawaii, and the hotel and restaurant provided us with a very comfortable and hospitable home base.

The tents are no longer tents since they now have thatched roofs, post Hurricane Irma, making the lodging more like huts with all modern amenities. The room, itself, is lovely and spacious, with a comfortable bed and fully equipped bathroom. The deck is almost as big as the room, itself, and we spent a good deal of time on that deck, especially at night looking at the stars of the night sky. The view of the beach from the room is spectacular at all times of day, and each time we took a walk, we were stunned by the natural beauty of Anegada and the ocean outside our door. While biting bugs are around, if the wind picks up, they are not a problem, and we only had one day when the wind was insufficient to keep them away.

The restaurant at Anegada Beach Club was excellent. We ate many lunches and dinners there and did not have one disappointing meal. Personal favorites included the Coconut Cracked Conch, the Bacon/Lobster/Lettuce/Tomato Wrap, and fajitas and quesadillas. The service at the restaurant was top-notch, and the friendly servers behind the bar had an extensive repertoire of drinks from simple to exotic.

Finally, the hotel service was very attentive overall. Every question or issue that came up was handled professionally and generously. We were never made to feel that we were a bother. Both Kasha and Laurel were always right on top of our every wish.

Our one hope for a return visit is some variety in seating on the beach. There are chaise lounges and that’s it. Some sand chairs and/or Adirondack chairs for back support would be nice. Oh, and back to the positive: there is ample shade under two long palapas over those chaises.

Waking up each day to the view and the sound of the surf is my kind of vacation. If you need or want little more, head to Anegada Beach Club.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelFan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I absolutely loved my stay at the Anegada Beach Club. It is exactly what you'd expect only better. The beachfront tents were even more luxurious than expected and the views were absolutely incredible! I thought the lack of AC would be an issue but the breeze through the canvas tents at night is so amazing that air conditioning wasn't even necessary! The staff couldn't have been any friendlier, the food was incredible (some of the best lobster I've ever had), the rooms were well kept and cleaned every day, the beach was remote and perfect for a quiet getaway, and it was just the perfect hotel for a relaxing vacation. The only thing I would possibly change about the hotel is maybe having a few more umbrellas for the beach chairs, but other than that- excellent. I got exactly what I expected for a beach "glamping" experience only better and cannot wait to go back

Room Tip: Stay in the beach tents!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 814ClaireC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Anegada Beach Club Review

The best kept secret of the Caribbean is Anegada's Beach Club (A.B.C.) If you're looking to decompress in a beautifully secluded beach experience, especially with a special loved one, look no further. Start your day with coffee or tea on your private deck as the sun rises over the calming colapse of the ocean, on a reef just close enough to enjoy, but far enough away to permit breaking waves to settle long before arriving ashore.

The Caribbean in front of you never looked better, as the sun rises to your right and sets on your left. We first happened on to Anegada Beach Club as a day trip from a BVI catamaran voyage. This isn't the craziness of a White Bay, Jost Van Dyke afternoon. A.B.C. is an entirely different kind of beach experience. Our first clue A.B.C. would be different was the half dozen or so private "Beach Tent" accommodations. Easily, these "tents" were the most glamourous I'd ever seen, hence, I suppose, the term "Glamping". These tents come complete with king beds, full bathrooms and private shaded decks. Ours included side by side soaking tubs on an extra side deck.

We reserved our A.B.C. accommodations six months later for the following winter. Three days after we booked, hurricane Irma slammed into the BVIs followed by Maria. Jamie at A.B.C. kept us updated on their rebuilding process, well completed before our arrival. The new "tents" are a combination of decking, canvas and framed walls, with hard thatched roofs. Doors on hinges and fine screens give an open air feel, day and night. The king bed has an extra netting surround, purportedly for insects. We never experienced flying insects, except for the traditional sand "no see ums" found at any beach. Insect repellent from the knees down is always a good idea on a beach.

There is no T.V., no telephone and bring your own music. The intentional lack of these common hotel improvements facilitates your opportunity to decompress. There is WiFi and cell service. We were successful with both Verizon and AT&T carriers, on international plans.

Getting to Anegada requires a little extra effort, which enhances their opportunity to keep A.B.C. a well kept secret. The closest major airport is on St. Thomas. A smaller airport on Beef Island (Tortola) accepts international flights. Anegada has an airport accepting small planes from Beef Island (hopping over from STT, for customs requirements). Ferries run daily from Road Town, Tortola. Any way you cut it, there is no direct connection from anywhere. That's actually what makes Anegada a secluded secret. You'll invest some time, to reap the benefits of seclusion at A.B.C.

Some days, the wind is perfect for kite surfing/boarding. Locals perform magnificent tricks and also provide lessons to guests daring enough.

And then there's the lobster! Anegada Lobster.

Anegada Lobster is served throughout the BVIs. The only way to eat a fresher lobster, is to do so Scuba Diving. But. while lobster is the staple, the chefs at A.B.C. create plenty of other appetizing dishes. And, don't overlook the Eggs Benedict with Grilled Asparagus for breakfast. Their's is as good as anybody's. We spent a little extra to have a lobster dinner delivered to our private deck, as a special anniversary dinner. Though our room/tent was very far from the kitchen, how could anyone have served us better?

The resort sports a single open air restaurant adjacent to the pool bar. The pool bar, small pool and hotel room accommodations are located walking distance from the ocean and beachfront tents. A second beach bar is located just behind the beach dune. On the opposite (south) side of the island is the Settlement, complete with catamaran moorings, lobster beach bars and restaurants. We never bothered to taxi to the Settlement for dinner on this trip, but have enjoyed those accommodations via prior catamaran trips.

Wish list? Here's where the comfort of "wants" conflicts with the purpose of A.B.C. Our exceptionally secluded tent was appropriately distant from the main hotel. As such, the shower water pressure and hot water was lacking. We followed our stay with a week on a catamaran. Our prior BVI experience permitted us to send a few provisions ahead to A.B.C. A small room fridge would have benefited us, but would be wasteful for traditional guests. The resort does provide a room cooler, in room coffee and a safe. You can purchase a bag of ice, if necessary. The bar will fill your ice bucket or glass at anytime they're open. Check-in is friendly, at the local shop, well stocked.

Having planned the two trips back to back, we inquired about laundry service. A.B.C. was more than willing to assist. As of this writing, on our last full day at the resort, we're not sure we wore enough clothes to require their services.

Of special note: The reader should realize I write this Trip Report almost six months to the day after Hurricane Irma changed the face of the BVIs for years to come. The Anegada Beach Club is one of few resorts actually operating at this time. Weekly news reports include lists of named beach bars now coming back online. A.B.C. did a tremendous job putting this place back together.

So, if you're looking for a beachfront hotel complete with sidewalks, crazy people nightlife, artificially controlled room temperature and cable T.V., then move on. Look elsewhere. This is not that place.

If you're looking to decompress in a beautifully secluded beach experience, especially with a special loved one, look no further.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Rock K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnegadaBeachClub, General Manager at Anegada Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

This response is long overdue, especially for such a wonderfully detailed review! Thank you for coming back to see us after the storms and for letting people know that we truly are fully rebuilt and upgraded. We are so grateful for all of the travelers who have come through Anegada this season to wish us well and keep us going. Thanks again from all of the ABC Staff!

P.S. One clarification for our future guests... check-in is at our office, which is also our gift shop, and that's what the reviewer meant by check-in "at the local shop". It's right here at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Anegada Beach Club (ABC) has really pulled out all the stops to get up and running post the devastation of Hurricanes Irma and Maria. The team of workmen is still there finishing off the renovations but the beautiful beach front 'tents' are available and looking great. As a party of 4 we took a newly finished 2 bedroom tent - two tents with en suites joined by a large common deck and with a new thatched roof. The accommodation looks impressive - it's bright and airy with super-king comfortable beds. We loved the hammocks on the deck too.

Jamie and her team could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The service was excellent as was the food; we also tried ABC's associated restaurant, the Lobster Trap, which was again excellent. The lobster of course is a must on Anegada and didn't disappoint.

ABC is great for kite-surfing. We were just content to watch; our exertions only going so far as long walks on the beach which stretches for miles. 40 minutes along the coast in one direction gets you to Cow Wreck Bay where we had a great rum punch to sustain us on our return trip.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JEP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnegadaBeachClub, Manager at Anegada Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

We are so happy that you enjoyed the new tents and look of ABC! Being some of the first guests to arrive after the hurricane, your opinion means a lot to us. Our restaurant staff would love to hear from you on the ABC Restaurant Trip Advisor site if you have the time. Thanks and see you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Anegada Beach Club is OPEN for business. We stayed here February 8-10 and “wow” were we impressed. The tents have been refurbished with excellent craftsmanship to include thatch roofs and better bathrooms. The view of Anegada’s beautiful ocean water can’t be beat. From our welcome tour to the bar/restaurant, the staff has provided excellent customer service. If you are looking for a secluded “getaway” with a beautiful beach and wonderful people, ABC is your place.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TripTimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnegadaBeachClub, Manager at Anegada Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thanks very much for the wonderful review! We are so happy to be back and welcoming all of our fun and friendly guests! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews