We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little cottage in brilliant location...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Renovated miner's cottage with lovely open views over stream and countryside Cosy living area with wood floors, beams, stone inglenook and woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Renovated miner's cottage with lovely open views over stream and countryside
Cosy living area with wood floors, beams, stone inglenook and woodburner
All mod cons in the stylish, well equipped kitchen area
Cosy and sociable space
Exposed stone wall in main bedroom
Full size bunks and still space to play in second bedroom
Light, airy upstairs bathroom with shower
Stream in front of cottage
Stream in front of cottage
Hire a bike and cycle up the Mawwdach Estuary
Zip wire fun nearby
Underground adrenaline nearby
Zip World - New zip wire adrenalin rush nearby
Bounce Below - Amazing new underground trampolining experience nearby
View from up behind the cottages
Tranquil Cwmorthin Lake high above cottage
Tanygrisiau Lake
Ffestiniog railway - alongside Tanygrisiau Lake, a 2 minute walk from cottage
Quiet riverside coffee in front of cottage
Streams and scenes walking straight from the door
Friendly locals down the road
Uncrowded beaches
Meet some of the locals
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tanygrisiau, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
H L
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little cottage in brilliant location, peaceful, great views and walks”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in early November. Cottage is beautifully presented and a lovely space to be in. The only reason I haven't rated it 'excellent' is because for us, we had a 1 year old with us, and had to take our own high chair and travel cot with us...we expect to take a travel cot but it would have been good to have had a highchair provided at the cottage, as many do. Also there was nowhere to store our bikes where they would be sheltered, and as it rained a LOT the week we were there (picked the wrong week!) our bikes got soaked. They were safe enough though as we locked them out the front of the cottage as a owner recommended. Small thing also - no tin opener! But we bought one and left it there so following guests should be ok! It was very snug in the evenings with the woodburner going, lovely and warm cottage in general. In a fab location near shops if you need them - big supermarket at nearby Porthmadog, and also great fro getting to different parts of Snowdonia, e.g. beaches, cycling, mountains. We loved the walks from the front door round the reservoir and up the back to the lake. Very scenic spot, horse in the field out the front you can see from your bedroom window when you wake up in the morning, along with the little stream. Also, if you have children, there's a little park just a few metres along the road, which is great! Its a no-through road too so very quiet. Parking was always easy with off road parking out the front, opposite the cottage. To be honest, it was very nearly excellent! Just the weather wasn't! Ample room in 2nd bedroom for travel cot next to the bunk beds. Bath not full size but fine. Double bed and duvet/pillows v comfy. Lovely finish to everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Features like the inglenook fireplace, exposed wall in Bedroom 1, location and view, parking
Liked least: no high chair, no sheltered place for bikes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Carol...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage in a good location”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Moelwyn is a lovely cosy find of a cottage that offers a good standard of modern living in an old cottage. This was our summer holiday so so we wanted as hassle free as possible but at same time a good standard which is exactly what this was. It proved to be a good base for exploring the area, with plenty of beaches and castles within easy drives of the place. If it's walking you want there are plenty from the door step.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful area!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Moelwyn Cottage was delightful. Beautifully decorated with everything you need for a wonderful stay. Quiet, peaceful, with beautiful views and places to walk nearby. Great value too. We particularly enjoyed walking around the nearby reservoir and hills, a trip on the Ffestiniog railway (the train stops 5 minutes from the cottage) to Porthmadog and, further afield, the beautiful Llyn Peninsular (Llanbedrog, Criccieth, and Abersoch).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That is was a lovely place to come back to after a day exploring the region.
Liked least: Blenau Ffestiniog, the nearest town, does not have much to recommend it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay and found Moelwyn cottage to your liking. We would love to welcome you back here again anytime to explore more of what this wonderful part of Wales has to offer. Best wishes Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovetomat...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay in Moelwyn Cottage”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week long stay in Moelwyn Cottage. We had both been working manically for weeks and needed a rest and we could not have found a better place. Julia was very efficient and communicative in the run up to our stay and provided us with all the information we needed as well as answering a few questions which I had without hesitation.

When we arrived the cottage was easy to find and spotless with everything as it was supposed be. I can honestly say we had absolutely no problems during the week which in my experience seems to be quite rare with hotels and holiday cottages etc.!

The location of Moelwyn cottage is perfect - lots of beautiful walks from the front door as well as many, many more within a short driving distance. If you fancy driving a bit further to explore then Tanygrisiou is very well located for exploring North Wales!

We would definitely stay again if we return to Wales and I highly recommend you to book Moelwyn Cottage if you are reading this!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly den in the heart of Snowdonia”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful little cottage with brand new interior.Tastefully and practically designed.Self catering. Close to local amenities and points of interest.great stay.thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing