We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem with amazing views”
other travellers have booked this property
Glan yr Afon Holiday Cottage - Ffestiniog Holiday Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glan yr Afon Holiday Cottage - Ffestiniog Holiday Cottages
Warm and welcoming lounge with impressive inglenook fireplace and multi fuel wood burning stove Lovely lounge with lots of charm, comfortable seating and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Glan yr Afon Holiday Cottage - Ffestiniog Holiday Cottages
Warm and welcoming lounge with impressive inglenook fireplace and multi fuel wood burning stove
Lovely lounge with lots of charm, comfortable seating and dining area
Well appointed and equipped kitchen
The Ffestiniog narrow gauge railway at Tanygrisiau, high above the cottage
Cwmorthin Lake - a lovely walk from the cottage
Rhosydd Chapel, beyond Cwmorthin Lake - another fantastic walk amongst some dramatic scenery
Black Rock Sands, Morfa Bychan - about a 20 minute drive away
Portjmeirion - About a 15 minute drive away
Beautiful scenery and a small river at the front of the cottage
Welsh Highland Steam railway crossing at the bridge in Porthmadog
The Fairy Glen, Betws y Coed - about a 15 minute drive away
Caernarfon Castle - about a 30 minute drive away
Conwy Castle - about a 25 minute drive away
Harlech Beach - about a 20-25 minute drive away
Llyn Mair - beautiful lake and woodland walks here and only a short drive away
Great Horse Riding in Snowdonia
Antur Stiniog's Downhill Trails, Blaenau Ffestiniog - only a 5 minute drive away
Llama Trekking at Coed y Brenin & Black Rock Sands - only 15 - 20 minutes drive away
Zip World - Bethesda - about a 35 minute drive and Zip World Titan, Blaenau - 2 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tanygrisiau, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CharliesM...
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem with amazing views”
Reviewed 27 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Even though the weather was terrible for our week this little cottage immediately felt homely we'd settled in. Very well equipped and clean. Parking opposite in one of the "bays" is really useful on a narrow road. The scenery is spectacular and there is so much to see. The nearest town is only a mile or so away with a basic array of shops. We highly recommend the Lake Side Cafe down by the power station lake. Thank you to Angie and Rich the cottage owners for being so attentive and for the welcome pack of local goodies which we enjoyed! We'll be back again soon to explore some more.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2017
Thank you for a lovely review and your kind comments, we are so glad you had a lovely stay at our cottage and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm wishes, Angie and Rich.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narcotics...
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice cottage”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We just got back from a week in this lovely cottage. It is in a good state of repair and decor, and the owners have thought of pretty much every detail which made for a very pleasant stay. All consumables including things like shower gel are provided, and also some nice welcoming wine and cake. It's a charming cottage and quite cosy, and has wifi. Unlike a cheaply built holiday home, this is a properly built cottage and has central heating and a stove in the lounge so would be cosy enough for a winter stay I think. Only downsides are that there is not much outside space and being up in the mountains it is often a bit more gloomy and wet than lower lying areas. There is a playground just up the road and the lakeside café is a few minutes stroll. It closes at 4pm most days, so was closed when we went there. Apparently they occasionally have greek dinner nights on Saturdays but not the Saturday we were there unfortunately. Mountain railway station very nearby. Not much going on in Tanygrisiau itself but nearby Blaenau Ffestiniog has enough shops and restaurants for most needs and the Llechwedd slate caverns are very nearby. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider this cottage again if coming back to the area.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve E
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A valentines weekend getaway”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a fantastic weekend away in the heart of Snowdonia. Glan Yr Afon cottage is fantastic. The cottage has been beautifully renovated with a very home from home feel. Everything from the cosy lounge to the well kitted out kitchen, to the spacious bedroom and the wonderful bathroom, this is a place that makes you feel that you could easily live there. The cottage is in the small town of Dolwyddelan and the owners provide a number of walks/ mtb rides in and around the village to keep you more than busy!
A little warning to dog owners....the local farmer will shoot your dog, if it goes anywhere near their sheep (he's even shot locals dogs!) and the castle doesn't allow dogs!!
If i was to suggest any improvements, it would be to sort out the coal effect fire - it doesn't glow and the heating is a little temperamental!
On the whole this is a fantastice holiday cottage and one will will definitely be returning to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is very central in the village, with a Spar and a pub only a 30 second walk away
Liked least: The weather was very cloudy!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thank you for your comments, alas our cottage is in the small village of Tanygrisiau, about 5 miles away and I fear you may have left your review for the wrong cottage. Thank you anyway and we're glad you enjoyed your stay even if it wasn't with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth_Sm...
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage, Area and Hosts”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

As the title suggests, Glan yr Afon was perfect in every way. The welcome gifts were greatly appreciated by all (including the dog) and in all honesty there was nothing to fault about the cottage. Angie and Rich have thought about absolutly everything you would need during your stay and provided it....

The location of the cottage is ideal for exploring Snowdonia and the locality and for the best part, it's right on your doorstep. Plenty of places to eat and drink and the welcome is always warm.

By far the best cottage we have stayed in and we hope to be back sooner rather than later.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted that Glan yr Afon cottage lived up to your expectations. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Warmest wishes Angie, Rich & Billy (our dog).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dippyzx9
Llanelli
1 review
“Overall a really cosy cottage”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage is situated in a friendly little village and everywhere we went we had a warm welcome,if you want to do plenty of walking there are plenty of walks to do with amazing views,and plenty of really nice places to dine out Oakley arms,lakeside cafe and pub in village next to train station,to name a few,overall well worth
staying at the cottage well thought out plenty of information in guest book so
you have plenty of choice of things to do while staying there p's a big thank you for welcome gifts and starter pack and we are planning our return

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
So lovely to hear you had a really enjoyable time at the cottage and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Regards Angie & Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$83
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing