We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
221
65
12
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
65
12
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenbeach frontmangobeautiful beachcar rentalgreat snorkeling rightbeachfront villasnorkeling gearrock cafedaily housekeepingexploring the islandwe loved our staypalm treesspent a weekdream come truea great vacationother islands
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This was a wonderful resort on a beautiful beach in the heart of Virgin Gorda. Our accommodations were stellar as was the staff at the resort. If you like a quiet, low key, affordable vacation spot, these villas are for you! Their package deals are fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyonabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We looked all over VG for somewhere to stay and had so many reviews and recommendations... we ended up driving to a couple of places and making the call last minute but so glad we chose Mango Bay.

The setting is stunning - when you drive over the hill and see Savannah Bay for the 1st time you'll be glad you chose this resort over one near Spanish Town.

Beautiful beach, crystal clear water with kayaking and snorkelling right off the beach.

We had the ocean view studio and it was lovely - the photos really do not do it justice. The resort is incredibly well managed and the attention to detail is superb... everything is clean, well maintained and cared for and Gino is really helpful and accommodating.

Not usually one for tourist traps but the baths are fabulous - the highlight was defintely the walk through the boulders to devils bay and a swim in the most beautiful water I have ever seen!

We only spent 3 nights in VG (1 at the start in Fishers cove and 2 at the end in Mango Bay) but fell in love with it...so much so that we're coming back next year for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antigua-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

My husband and I spent 7 days and 8 nights at Mango Bay. Gino and Fellina were wonderfully kind and helpful. Our room was impeccably clean when we arrived. It was stocked with everything we'd requested and more, which was nice! I think our room was cleaned twice daily because we were always receiving clean towels, and the staff was tending to our room -- which was amazing!

I don't know if it was the date range we chose, but we had the place almost completely to ourselves, which was UNREAL!!! Mango Bay's beach, snorkeling, atmosphere, everything really, is just unreal. We felt like we were staying in our own private villa. The stars were sensational, the scenery was unforgettable, and the weather cooperated as if we'd planned it.

We went on two charters with Double D Charters out of Virgin Gorda Yacht Club, and we HIGHLY recommend it!! Our dinner (with our package through Mango Bay) at the Rock Cafe in Spanish Town was very very good.

Virgin Gorda and Mango Bay will forever be in our hearts. We cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FELSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Our group of travelers consisted of four moms on a nice getaway and we couldn't have picked a better place than Mango Bay to stay! Gino and Paulina were wonderful in helping us set up taxi and ferry rides and our car rental with L& S. We stayed in the Garden View room # 3 which was at most a 30 second walk to the beach. We felt completely safe at Mango Bay. The room was wonderful and very clean and recently remodeled. The bathroom had a tile shower, whirlpool and a hairdryer was provided. There was an outside grill which we used a few times, a microwave, a toaster oven and stovetop inside. We ate at The Mineshaft Cafe on Tuesday night for BBQ buffet and it was great. We thought the Rock Cafe was overpriced for the food we received and The Bath and Turtle down by the Spanish town marina was also a great place to eat and had good mixed drinks. We got our groceries at Buck's and Rosie's and thought Rosie's was cleaner and better organized. DO NOT miss The Bathes if you are on Virgin Gorda, they were stunning and we were there on a Monday and Tuesday afternoon and neither times were that busy. There is a nice bar called Poor Man's at the entrance to The Bathes and a great little conch shell jewelry shop on the path down to the bathes. Snorkeling was great at Mahoe Bay and Spring Bay and we were the only ones there a lot of the time. We took the kayaks provided over to Savanah Bay which was a short ride and well worth it. Mango Bay is a wonderful place to get away from it all, if you are seeking true peace and seclusion this is the place to go. I plan on returning to Virgin Gorda with my husband and children and we will absolutely stay at Mango Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mindellajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We stayed at Mango Bay (oceanview unit # 6) for 5 nights from April 14-19 and I can't say enough nice things about it!! We have traveled quite a bit but are travelers, not tourists, because I do believe there is a definite distinction. I researched our visit to VG (and the 2 nights we spent in Anegada and one in Tortola before arriving at MB) extensively and chose it very purposefully. It was everything we hoped for. We want clean, comfortable, and private accommodations in a beautiful setting on the water with nice water access and views- MB was all that. The unit was immaculately clean and adorned with fresh flowers on our arrival and we were very fortunate to be able to check in early since we arrived on a morning ferry from Anegada. Our jeep arranged by MB met us at the ferry as scheduled and we fully expected to eat breakfast in Spanish Town, drive to MB to find the location, leave our bags at the office then sightsee, visit the beach and grocery shop until check in time so we were very pleasantly surprised to be able to check in ahead of schedule.
There was a TV in the unit but we did not want nor need one so it was of no consequence to us that it played DVD's only- since we were not traveling with children we didn't need it. The telephone- something I purposely avoid when traveling- did come in handy for some local calls to restaurants and to book a snorkel excursions (since our roaming cell phone was being temperamental and surely more expensive).
The service was wonderful- Gino was friendly, accommodating, helpful and the epitome of a wonderful host. The housekeeping staff kept our unit immaculate and was very quick to ascertain our hours of waking and leaving so they always cleaned when we were away even if our schedule varied. It was very nice to leave beach towels on the porch table to be replaced early even if it was before regular housekeeping service so we could be off in the morning with fresh towels for the day.
The kitchen was adequately equipped and we did buy some basic grocery items at Buck's and Rosie's to prepare our own breakfast a couple of days and keep snacks and drinks. With comfortable porch furniture, a garden type setting with an ocean view it is great to just enjoy one's coffee in peace and pajamas! We shorted out the coffee pot one morning and mentioned it to Gino- when we arrived back "home" less than a hour later, a brand new machine had taken its place on the counter.
The beach at MB was very quiet and the first 3 days we saw perhaps a total of 4 other people a day- we felt like we had the place to ourselves. It was peaceful and very nicely supplied with lounge chairs, hammocks and kayaks for our use. We enjoyed walking down the beach, kayaking, snorkeling in the quiet and calm bay (saw turtles and beautiful fish on the reef to the right side of the bay) - even later in the week when a few other parties arrived it seemed to remain quiet, peaceful and private.
We thought MB was truly a beautiful, well maintained, very well managed and special property and would highly recommend it for people who are looking for that sort of thing. If you need extra pampering, beach drink service, or a 5 star resort then look for a bigger property but for us it was just what we sought. Happy travels. Thanks again to Gino and his wonderful staff for a relaxing and special vacation!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DnAMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews