We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
39
45
26
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
45
26
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pirate show north sound beach bar grocery store laundry mat bitter end yacht club is day trip dock slip sailboat reggae chickens sand
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We live in the BVI and have family visiting. We have visited the North Sound on numerous occasions and have usually stayed at Saba Rock. Unfortunately they were fully booked on this occasion. We had a very open mind and decided to get to know Leverick Bay Resort.

When I called to book, the receptionist was very short and said we couldn't stay on Friday night because reception closes at 6 and unless we got the 4:30 ferry from Road Town there would be no one to check us in. We booked 2 rooms for just Saturday night and said we might arrive around lunchtime. I was telephoned at 8:30 Saturday morning to find out what time we would arrive. I said after lunch and asked if I needed a restaurant reservation. I was told that the restaurant was closed now for the season but the beach bar was open.

When we arrived at 4:15, we had to sit on the steps for 20 minutes waiting for someone to come back to the office. Again the reception was less than welcoming.

We were taken to our rooms which were very uninspiring at first glance and worse when viewed more carefully. The sheets did not appear to be clean. There was sand (not ours) in the beds and hair on some of the pillows. For the price - we were not expecting perfection - but we were expecting clean! I called the receptionist to complain about the hair on the pillow and all she said was that the room had been cleaned and that "hair flies". We were also expecting nice views rather than a view of the parking lot with views of the North Sound in the distance.

We were not allocated rooms next to each other. We were very tired from a few days sailing. About 10:30 the occupants of the room next door - which appeared to be a family of 5 - came back to their room shouting and screaming so loudly that we had to knock very hard on their door to tell them to be quiet.

Absolutely the only highlight was the beech bar. The staff (unlike the receptionist) were very helpful and friendly, the cocktails and the pizzas were very good and the setting very pleasant. We might stop for lunch or a snack again -

Room Tip: As far as we could tell - no room was a good room.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank stephanie_liston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Leverick is a pleasure to stay at, the rooms are clean, simple, and there is every convenience you need for the pricing. This is easily the most affordable option anywhere in the North Sound, so it's not fancy but it is great! and everyone at Leverick is MORE than nice and helpful. A lot of times people forget common courtesy and therefore may not get the best service, but a simple good morning before asking for something will get you a long way! We had help with a shuttle to and from our room when we were carrying heavy bags and the gentlemen on the docks were more than happy to help us out anytime we needed anything. The bartenders were great and friendly, and the store has basically anything you need or forgot, and the front desk was great. We've stayed here multiple times and while it's not fancy, it's an incredible spot to spend a night or two in a beautiful place.

Room Tip: The apartments they offer are wonderful with a fantastic view of the marina and the North Sound
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kz_usvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Out of all the marinas/resorts we visited on a 7 day trip, this was our group's least favorite. We stayed overnight in a marina slip. There were so many people smoking pot on the end of the dock we felt uncomfortable leaving our kids/teenagers on the boats. The shore power didn't work for 2 of our boats so we had to run the generator all night. The dock employees were not very helpful and seemed annoyed by any request--like power. The showers, laundry, pool and bar area were rundown, and poorly maintained. The view is pretty if you ride up to the top of the area, but its just as pretty at many other places with better facilities. It was our first stay at Leverick which had been described to us a very family friendly; nothing could be further from the truth. If you are there to party and don't care what the facilities are like you might like it. If you like water, power, clean showers, and friendly service--this is not your spot.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

I generally write, fair and balanced opinions on where I stay. Leverick Bay was a huge disappointment for many reasons.

1) Physically where it was located. Although a nice view, up in the hills meant many steps, up and down. This was challenging for seniors and families with young children. It would have been good to have provided a mini shuttle every 15 minutes or so. The beach was very poor.....too close to boats and oil slicks..

2) Restaurants....good food, but extremely expensive. Wait staff had attitude and generally were not pleasant. THIS HOTEL DID NOT SERVE BREAKFAST OF ANY KIND, yet they call themselves a full service hotel. They did have a store that sold bad coffee and random pastries....if not sold out.

3) Staff in general were not friendly....and we were paying for service! On our last day we asked for help in bringing our luggage down with a shuttle. Staff were milling around but said they didnt start until 8 am (it was 7:30). At 8 they said they would try and help us and others out. MANY mosquitoes later and at 8:30 am did a shuttle arrive. Again, staff in the front office were snotty and abrupt.

4). Upon check out....surprise....and beware. We were four in a room. Originally 2, but then our kids were able to come. They charged us almost double for the two extra kids. We slept in two twin beds, nothing extra. We were told we would be charged a nominal charge forthe two extra kids. Again, almost double. We would have gotten a second room if this was the case. I felt this was fraudulent. The manager on-site was not helpful at the time, nor when i returned to Canada. She ignored my calls and I was very disappointed in the lack of professionalism.

Overall....stay away. You can do better. I would still love to hear from the hotel and have them make it right. I felt we were taken advantaged of.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mbl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I stayed here for week while on a Swimtrek vacation, and one extra night in a different room. It is a very pretty place to stay, with great views from the balconies. Rooms are spacious and clean, but could do with some renovation. Bathrooms have warm water, not hot. They have a safe for your valuables and a small refrigerator. Letica at the front desk was very helpful all week. Eating is a bit hit and miss, but the fish tacos and salad is a very good meal and cheap. They have a pirate show 3 nights a week, which seems to be very popular.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews