We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
399
119
37
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
119
37
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews truffle outdoor pool san maurizio michelin star beautiful hotel wine cellar michelin restaurant incredible views three nights a wonderful stay salt pools hill overlooking main building great restaurant living room junior suite luxury hotel
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Our group stayed at this establishment for 5 nights, and sadly, it was all too short. Magnificently situation on the top of a hill, surrounded on all sides by vineyards and little hilltop villages each with their traditional Tower made for great viewing. Having you own car is highly recommended, as there is absolutely nothing for miles around except peace, quiet and stunning scenery. The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated with all modern conveniences i.e. hi-fi, Satellite TV, Coffee Machine, mini-bar & Fridge, and very effecting individually controlled heating and Air Conditioning. The rooms are located in multiple buildings, but all connected internally which makes for easy moving around. the staff at Reception were extremely helpful in effecting bookings, making suggestions on trips to adjoining villages & restaurants. The very extensive gardens were full of benches, loungers & rattan hammocks in isolated corners where one could spend an hour or two in total silence to dream or meditate. their indoor pool and spa spoilt one for choice of services and highly recommended to rejuvenate oneself. The Open Plan Kitchen in the main dining room with super views of the Garden & hills in the distance enhanced one's dining experience. The Buffet Breakfast was reasonably extensive, but as we were in the middle of the White Truffle season, the Chef's speciality of 2 freshly laid eggs BAKED in a mini-pan with a touch of Truffle infused Olive Oil, and a generous portion of freshly shaved White Truffle at table would be impossible to beat. For dinner, a visit to their gourmet Two Michelin Star Restaurant in the Cellar is a must. Situated deep underground, in high vaulted ceilings with subdued lighting from huge crystal chandeliers makes for a magical setting, with good to match. the Sommelier is more than happy to take you on a conducted tour of the very extensive wine cellar, with good recommendations which wine to pair with your dishes. We found the biggest plus being the fact that after over-indulging in the food and wine department, there was a small elevator or lift discreetly tucked in a corner to take us back up to our rooms. This facility was more than well appreciated.

Room Tip: One grade UP from a normal double ensures you have great views.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Noshir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Great hotel in an amazing place.... a very nice SPA .... the service is outstanding .... the room very confortable ... we stayed in an amethist suit .... very nice... two bathrooms and all the amenities you`ll wanna.

Room Tip: the Amethist suite is fantastic
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EFakiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Overpriced, slow staff, very touristic, no atmosphere of exclellence, though the view is spectacular. And please DO NOT take the truffle hunting. You will feel yourself fooled. Especially at the price you pay for watching the dog digging out the truffle hidden in the ground couple of hours before by the guide. No real forests around. And you will have to pay for it as well. Better go to the local truffles market and buy a pound of truffles for that price.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maxim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMaurizio1619, Responsabile reception at Relais San Maurizio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Mr. Maxim K.,

Thank you for having expressed your opinion about your stay at our house, we have thoroughly read and analyzed your review.
Our house is an example of excellence and we are very sorry that you could not appreciate the authenticity of the Relais San Maurizio 1619 we always try our best to transmit to our guests the tradition and the history of the “Langhe” .

We are very sorry that you didn’t appreciate our staff, that works every day satisfying the guests’ requests as fast as possible.

We are also concerned by the fact that you didn’t like the truffle hunt and we will transmit your critique to the hunter, guests are always very excited after this worthy experience. We do believe that we have been understanding to your critiques to the experience, for this reason we charged you the half of the price.

We do hope you will possibly be able and willing to come back to visit us again and let us do our best as our guests expect from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Located in a renovated monastery, probably the most beautiful views of vineyards and valleys you could find anywhere. Beautiful quiet grounds to stroll and explore, with a Michelin star Restaurant on premises delivers the excellent food and service you would expect. We stayed in a monastery suite, which was several connected rooms with a historic flavor. A taste of old Italy with an elegant flair.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Zigman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The hotel and grounds are spectacular. The views of wine country are even better. This hotel is in a good location in the middle of the Barbera/Barbaresco area, although fairly secluded on the top of a hill.

We stayed in room 403 and were very impressed. (I think they call it the "ruby suite").

The service was good overall, although they would be smart to invest in some English lessons for the staff and this would help international guests who are accustomed to five star properties having more English speaking staff.

The hotel was very helpful in setting up winery tours and making meal reservations for us.

Room Tip: 403 is fantastic -- two private patios; private outdoor hot tub; two bathrooms; TVs everywhere
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews