We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$167
Booking.comUS$183
Orbitz.comUS$167
PricelineUS$183
CheapTicketsUS$167
ZenHotels.comUS$313
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
21
15
1
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
15
1
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rum sebastians bvi island caribbean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2019 via mobile

I opted for a tropical garden room. There was a courtyard half the size of a tennis court with a few tropical plants, but views from room windows were of a mechanic yard and waste land. Restraunt food very average. Beach narrow and small. No swimming pool. Surrounding area was boring, no restraunts within easy walking distance. Very expensive for what you get.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 813DavidR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E595CIjamesb, General Manager at Sebastian's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

I am sorry your stay at Sebastian's did not meet your expectations. You stayed in our tropical yard rooms which are economically priced, our beach-front or seaside villas may suit more discerning tastes.

Our restaurant food is usually well reviewed I am surprised you didn't like our offerings, Sugar Mill is a short walk about 3-5 minutes away, and Da Coal Pit a few minutes further on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2019

Sebastian's is a very laid-back, lovely spot to hang out on the beach and relax. Since the trade winds are active in this area, the waves are amazing--lots of surfers to watch. The water is pleasant for swimming as well. The people are quite friendly and accommodating. We had a comfortable and quite spacious room on the second floor with 2 queen beds, a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker for a very reasonable price. Everything was very clean; housekeeping staff was most efficient. The restaurant menu had enough variety to please any taste...the salads were wonderful! If you're going to Tortola, Sebastian's is a great place to stay. Taxis are always available. Be sure to take a sailing excursion with Kuralu.

Room tip: Upstairs room with ocean view
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank IndyBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2019

My wife and I spent four nights at Sebastian's. The room was pleasant, but had no TV, phone, or WiFi. There was a router in the dining area which reached the patio, but only one plug (on an extension cord).
The water often has too much surf to swim, and there are rocks making walking into the water unpleasant. I was warned about rip currents.
During the last two evenings there was a great deal of noise from across the hall. We complained the first time, and the second time were afraid to do so because they were so rowdy. Very, very unpleasant. My wife complained when we paid up, but received no acknowledgement of the problem.
Tortola itself is a bit of a mess from the hurricane in 2017, and rather expensive when one arrives and when one leaves (arrival and exit fees).
All in all, we will not return to Sebastian's, nor to Tortola.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WillV811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2019
Serious safety incident

Booked 2 ocean view rooms on the same reservation back in July, specifically mentioned on the reservation - rooms next to each other. Called and confirmed this weeks ago. When we arrived we were told that one of the rooms was in an entirely different location, miles ("definitely not walking distance" as per the receptionist) away, obviously, this is not acceptable by any means. Why would you think it's ok to split up a family?...by miles??!!? We asked about another room, were initially told that they were completely sold out, but after an hour of waiting around were checked into a room in a different building across the street. Waited by the beach, which was beautiful. Ate lunch - burgers and conch fritters- they were fine. Our waitress was nice. Got drinks at the bar....was LITTERALLY assaulted by children (7 and 10ish) of the staff or locals (asked where they lived and they said "over there" and pointed down the street.) One repeatedly punched me and the other one slapped AND grabbed my ass!! I had to scold them very firmly multiple times and the STAFF WAS UNPHASED! COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE!! None of us could sleep. There were ACTUAL DOGFIGHTS, which were in view of the second room. The window overlooked a very sketchy backyard. The barking, fighting, yelling kept us all up. Rooms were not clean. The one room was filled with mosquitos, the other you couldn't stand in the shower.

We have traveled to the British Virgin Islands every year to sail for the better part of a decade, we always stay on Tortola the first night or two before our charter. We love the island but would NEVER return to Sebastian's. I'm horrified by this stay and extremely saddened to write this. It hurts me to write a bad review given the devastation all experienced from the storms.

Room tip: Ocean view with balcony if you HAVEEE to stay here.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ChristyMichelle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019

We have stayed here a couple of times. They have remodeled the rooms after Irma and are very nice. Clean rooms and friendly service. We would stay there again. The beach is not much, but the water and the view are outstanding. Only downside is Bomba Shack is gone down the beach due to Irma.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews