We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but decent”
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea View Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel four times now. The rooms are basic and clean. The suites at the front of the hotel are larger but noisier from the road.

This time I stayed in a basic twin room which was ok, but could really do with having at least one chair in it; not having anywhere to sit is a problem.

The attached restaurant serves simple bar snack food, but it's good quality and reasonably priced.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2017

We stayed here 2 nights and then a third night a week later. I didn't bring my booking receipt with me but it was for the King Suite (awesome room) at $108USD. When I got there and paid cash, the room was $158USD per night. It is the cheapest I could find on the island at that so we paid it and enjoyed our stay. The bar was only open when the bartender didn't have other plans. Cold water only for first 2 nights but nice hot water on the last night. Friends had smaller room and not impressed but it was $30 cheaper. When we go back there, we will stay there again and get the King "Suite" which is just a nice size room with King bed. The balcony that overlooked the harbor also had table and chairs. It is right on the road so be prepared to hear traffic. Quiets down after 10pm. Pool was small but ok. Pleasant sitting area outside. Rooms cooled off quickly with A/C unit. Clean and comfortable. Refrigerator needs to be turned on at the outlet on the wall. Nice park right across the street.

Room Tip: King room worth the extra $30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Me-Rich20th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Sea View is a wonderful, small hotel near the ferry in Road Town. The rooms are spartan but very clean with a good shower and abundant hot water. The room has cable TV, fridge, AC and a comfortable bed. The restaurant is small but has a good menu. The chef is a master, everything I ate there was terrific. The restaurant is frequented by an interesting, friendly group of locals. The owner and staff are very pleasant and try to make your stay enjoyable. Other restaurants and car rental are all within easy walking distance. As a solo traveler I felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LouiseNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We (4 people) stayed here for 1 night waiting for a catamaran charter. The price was right & very clean. Not the Ritz but very clean. Would definitely stay there again. T in he restaurant was clean, friendly, not so cheap tho. It was convenient from ferry location. Would definitely take a cab, due to the hotel being on a slight hill.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor, perfect, since there are no elevators to take luggage upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 215Sandy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

The room was small & nearly windowless, and echoed like a stairwell. Shower was either pure hot or pure cold water and never could figure out an in between setting. Cafe had decent enough food and was a very comfortable place to be, but the cafe staff seemed to go out of their way to be unpleasant towards guests. Despite the name, there's absolutely no "sea view" from the two rooms that I was in. The main road is about six feet away from the hotel and it's incredibly busy with loud traffic. Dust from the road ensures that you cannot sit on a balcony or leave a window open for any length of time without needing to wash your clothes. Road construction may contribute to this problem, but I suspect it's pretty much always dusty. The hotel is a short but very unpleasant walk along the main road to restaurants and other amenities. The pool has a gray tinge to it that ensured no guests used it in the two days I was there.

Room Tip: Try the top floor to limit road dust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Road Town hotels
7.1 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.2 km away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
1.4 km away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Village Cay BVI Hotel
Village Cay BVI Hotel
#11 of 13 in Road Town
77 reviews
0.8 km away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
283 reviews
7 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: # 2 McNamara Road, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Price Range: €73 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Hotel is an intimate family owned and operated hotel. Located in the quiet McNamara neighbourhood of Tortola in the beautiful British Virgin Islands, Sea View is a few minutes' walk away from the sights of the territory’s capital, Road Town. Sea View Hotel offers low cost, high quality accommodations including both Standard and Studio rooms with complimentary wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing