We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea View Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We (4 people) stayed here for 1 night waiting for a catamaran charter. The price was right & very clean. Not the Ritz but very clean. Would definitely stay there again. T in he restaurant was clean, friendly, not so cheap tho. It was convenient from ferry location. Would definitely take a cab, due to the hotel being on a slight hill.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor, perfect, since there are no elevators to take luggage upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 215Sandy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017

The room was small & nearly windowless, and echoed like a stairwell. Shower was either pure hot or pure cold water and never could figure out an in between setting. Cafe had decent enough food and was a very comfortable place to be, but the cafe staff seemed to go out of their way to be unpleasant towards guests. Despite the name, there's absolutely no "sea view" from the two rooms that I was in. The main road is about six feet away from the hotel and it's incredibly busy with loud traffic. Dust from the road ensures that you cannot sit on a balcony or leave a window open for any length of time without needing to wash your clothes. Road construction may contribute to this problem, but I suspect it's pretty much always dusty. The hotel is a short but very unpleasant walk along the main road to restaurants and other amenities. The pool has a gray tinge to it that ensured no guests used it in the two days I was there.

Room Tip: Try the top floor to limit road dust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Spent a Sunday night at the Sea View Hotel after a SunSail charter. The Sea View is an older small locally owned hotel a short walk from the ferry and town. If you need a new or fully refurbished 4-5 star resort the Sea View Hotel is not for you. If all you need is a comfortable room and clean bathroom with plenty of hot water, good a/c, cable TV, free strong internet, pool and can overlook minor nicks and dings the Sea View is a good choice. The hotel provides solid basics for a fair price. Would recommend and will stay there again.

Points guests should be aware of:

Room had a small TV. Get remote from receptionist. Also the wall switch to turn on the frig is hidden behind the coffee maker.

Everything you need is within walking distance of the hotel. 5 minute walk to ferry, 10 minutes to town. But Road Town shuts down on Sundays. The only store I fund open was the supermarket. Most restaurants were also closed. Ate at Pussers & The Den both ok.

Room Tip: If I were to spend more than a night or two I would try a larger room with a balcony. My room was ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

The rooms were very nice with good working airco system. The bathroom was also good with a nice shower. Room came with large balcony, but along side a road. Definitely one of the best hotels on tortola price quality wise. Def worth a visit for a short stay after sailing the British Virgin islands.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

We stayed here the night before picking up our catamaran. A clean adequate hotel with much needed air conditioning...thank goodness. Shopping and grocery stores are within walking distance. We had drinks at the restaurant in the hotel and we're charged $2 for a glass of tap water. Outrageous! We also had a large tarantula spider outside of our door the morning of our departure. *yikes*

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marnelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Road Town hotels
0.2 km away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
135 reviews
0.8 km away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
285 reviews
7.1 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Road Town
236 reviews
2.3 km away
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
#4 of 13 in Road Town
176 reviews
7 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: # 2 McNamara Road, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Price Range: €69 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Hotel is an intimate family owned and operated hotel. Located in the quiet McNamara neighbourhood of Tortola in the beautiful British Virgin Islands, Sea View is a few minutes' walk away from the sights of the territory’s capital, Road Town. Sea View Hotel offers low cost, high quality accommodations including both Standard and Studio rooms with complimentary wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing