We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sunset dining”
Review of Boca Marina

Boca Marina
Ranked #18 of 119 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Taste the authentic essence of the Caribbean at Boca Marina Restaurant & Bar. The only restaurant located in the lagoon. With a relaxing yet upscale atmosphere with breathtaking views. The idyllic and exceptional cuisines are all here, Live Caribbean Lobster, Great Seafood, Steaks and all varieties of Caribbean Specialties. Try our locally made rum that you can appreciate as a digestive for your great pleasure. We're open Monday thru Saturday for lunch and dinner and available on Sundays for private parties or functions. Ample, free and safe parking is available
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Service was excellent. Interesting menu with some unique dishes. Loved the calamari steak. Others enjoyed the nightly special that included an appetizer and dessert. Very romantic setting.

Thank JMRoss892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is built on a boat (?) in the Simpsonbay lagoon and in the evening you are treated to seeing fish swimming by.
You'll enter the restaurant via a broad "plank".
The music was rather loud, as were some of the customers.
The big johnny cakes were served before the meal.
We had escargots and pan-fried grouper, while I had the special: a three course meal for $ 25.00.
My choice: a delicious guacamole salad and calamari steak as a main. We shared the crême brûlée, and were offered a home-made after dinner drink.

Thank CaribbeanExperienced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Went here for dinner on Tuesday night...was so good went back Wednesday! The service perfect..the food from the fresh Johnnie cakes with lobster bisque and pumpkin soup...to main course (shrimp alfredo...filet mignon....flank steak, shrimp wrap) to dessert it was all great! The shot of homemade rum..nice ending!
Wednesday night was a great 3 course one price.....insanely worth the money!!
Give it a try...you will go back!!

Thank eagles7344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We saw great reviews on trip advisor and decided to give this place a try. The entrance was okay enough but a bit rough on the exterior. Inside, it was a nice place on the water. The staff was very efficient and pleasant. Food was very good. We had several different meals and all were good. So far so good, until the bill came. The food portion was just under $150 for four persons with beer but no wine. Added to the bill was 15 percent service charge which was stated on the menu. To be truthful, I would have added some more gratuity as it had been good to this point. BUT there was a 21 percent tip added ON TOP of the service charge!! This is outrageous! I have never seen this before. The total came to just over &200 for $150 worth of food. Don't get ripped off. Despite the great food, I can't help but feeling that they took advantage of us. My recommendation: go somewhere else.

1  Thank marcopoloJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherChanMoon, Manager at Boca Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Update:
Customer was contacted 3 weeks ago for more information to see if his claims were true and to issue a refund if this was correct. We have not found any of his claims in our records and customer never contacted us back, Being so this is a FAKE review

July 30th, 2016
Thank you for letting us know that our food and service was great, the gratuity of 21% was an error in the system as we do not charge this.Please email us at reservations@bocamarinasxm.com. with the date you were at the restaurant and your name and we will gladly refund you double the amount of the error.

Regards,
Christopher Chan Moon
Boca Marina St. Maarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Three years ago we went here 4x's during our 2 week visit, it was excellent food and service. Last year we went 2x's, both nights service and food weren't very good. This year in June we tried again! The food was much better but service was horrible! Very slow, (beyond island time slow), not attentive to our tables needs, when we would request something there was an attitude given and the request was never taken care of!
It is a shame because there's great talent in the kitchen and there is no talent in the mgt and/or service! I believe this could be an excellent restaurant, but they need to clean house of of the unskilled and unpolished/rude staff!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 3dn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherChanMoon, General Manager at Boca Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you for your review and helping us to improve our service.
The person that we believe was rude to you is no longer working with us for this same reason. Good Help is hard to come by, but we will keep trying. We really do hope that you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boca Marina also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Boca Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing