We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
224
165
64
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
224
165
64
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on site st maarten pool bar aqua mania full kitchen grocery store third floor burger king house keeping ocean view la patrona orient beach bedroom condo restaurants and bars pineapple car rental casino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2019

We spent a week at simpson Bay Resort and Marina with our 3 children. Our first day there we met Harry. We continued to use his services inside of the resort and also on our travels outside of the property. Harry was wonderful. Showed us the sites and got us to our destinations safely and with good prices. I recommend you give him a try when you visit. We will miss our travels around the island with him.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGonzalezS, Online Reputation Manager at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Hello Debbie. Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It has been a pleasure serving you and it is so nice that you are mentioning Harry. We appreciate your lovely word and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks in a 1 bedroom Villa in building A which is near the ocean (10steps then 5step ladder) the water is calm a bit cool clear and you can snorkel right near shore and see lots of different fish. The resort was seriously unbelievably clean, spotless on the grounds in the bathroom and in the rooms. Every staff we encountered was amazing says hi can I help you. This resort has 6 pools believe it or not it’s soooo big nothing is ever packed with people. We got moved to building B for our second week and it was a hike up the hill but the pool was to die for. A walking bit down the hill from the beach but we had enough the first week so we didn’t mind. Seriously what an amazing place. There is a little grocery store on the resort for quick things walk 500m or take the resort shuttle to Market Garden for larger groceries. The kitchen is full equipped like home it even has a blender for smoothies or colada’s.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank schoolchef68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGonzalezS, Online Reputation Manager at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We would like to thank you for staying with us at The Villas in Simpson Bay Resort & Marina. We know that you have many choices when traveling and your trust is very much appreciated. We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that our resort and staff met your expectations.
In order to continually improve upon our facilities and services, we rely heavily on feedback from our guests and for that reason we really appreciate your comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2019 via mobile

7th visit to the island- first stay here. Checked in at 12:30pm and 1/2 of our 2 bedroom condo was ready for luggage and changing. Reception was very friendly and actually came to get us in the lobby after initially telling us that our room wasn’t ready yet (check in is at 4). Lobby is beautiful & has a nice cafe. Our rooms were very clean. Housekeeping was thorough and considerate to come back if we hadn’t left yet. Pool & swim up bar were top notch & grounds are kept impeccably. The views from our balconies were beautiful day and night! (Even from our 2nd floor room). Lots of restaurants in walking distance and Buccaneer bar next door is a lot of fun. We used their beach most days. The nicer beach at this resort next to La Patrona is small and would be better had they added umbrella and chair service. There are only a few straw umbrellas here and the other side in front of the resort rooms isn’t as desirable. Overall was a great stay and we will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Brita35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGonzalezS, Online Reputation Manager at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Hello Brita. Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It has been a privilege to have you as a valuable guest. We have always made sure to provide all our guests with the best quality work. Here in The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina we consider every guest as part of the family. Thank you for choosing us.

It feels great when we are able to meet your expectations. We hope to retain this relationship for the many coming years. Any time you feel that we need to bring some changes in the quality of work we deliver, please let us know. We would be more than happy to receive your valuable suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2019

The room and view from the 7th floor of Simpson Bay are beautiful. The room was very spacious and spotless, and the balcony was perfect for wonderful scenic views of the bay. However, the furnishings and decor are a bit dated. I can't complain for the price I paid for a few nights. It was a great value for what I got! The resort has everything you need. Beach, several pools, restaurant, sports pub, coffee stand and fully-stocked bars with daily drink specials. There are also a few beach restaurants steps away and a cute little convenience store across the road where I bought some good local rum.

The only issue I had is the female staff are extremely rude, especially if you are a black woman. They need to do some extensive training in order to teach them it is not okay to treat paying guests this way. I ignored them to enjoy my stay but I should not ever have to do that. As I saw in another review, they are really tarnishing the reputation of this fantastic resort.

Room tip: Higher floors have the best views
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 74sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGonzalezS, Online Reputation Manager at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2019

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We would like to thank you for staying with us. We know that you have many choices when traveling and your trust is very much appreciated. We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay. In order to continually improve upon our facilities and services, we rely heavily on feedback from our guests and for that reason we really appreciate your comments in reference to our staff, we will put special attention to it in order to give a better service next time.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019

Be very careful choosing this hotel. I was invited as journalist for an amazing conference. Even that does not guarantee a good stay. Problems started already during check-in : First you have to wait about 40 minutes, while there is a line and receptionists are not really worried about that. Then you are offended by a receptionist who tries to tell you how you should pay a deposit for breaking or burning something. "You won't get into your room until I get cash money" Amazing statement, great start. The organizer had to call the manager to solve the situation.Then, working each day from 8 to 20 you hope you can get back to your room and rest. Not so easy, as 4 evenings I had to walk a long way to the reception to change the key. Just to tell - the key was well protected with an RFID thing, so not possible even theoretically to talk about that issue. Finally, two hours before your transfer to the airport you get a call from the reception telling you should be out of the hotel long time ago and shouting that I will see when the manager calls me. I know the organiser did everything just in a splendid way; Being invited by the local government and office of tourism is great. Being treated the worse way ever by local staff is jus unacceptable. I have no idea, if they need training or something, but this can't go like that. Even the location does not make you feel better after such staff treatment. This is more than sad.

Room tip: avoid this hotel, plus a lot of mosquitos
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tatjana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGonzalezS, Online Reputation Manager at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2019

Hello Tatjana. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you may have experienced in respect to the check-in and check-out process.
Please note that these rules and policies have never been arbitrarily adopted, but rather chosen in order to satisfied all our members and guests. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations this time and we are terribly sorry.

We deeply value your relationship with us and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best. We will make every effort to address your comments and find different ideas to surprise you next time.
Nonetheless, we really appreciate your comments, that is why we are more than thankful to know receive them.

This missed opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by. Thank you for raising this matter and giving us an opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews