We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
53
21
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
21
3
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We recently stayed at the Liberty Inn in Simpson Bay. The owners Susan and Diane made us feel very welcomed from the momet we arrived. We were greeted with a cold drinks. The Inn is perfectly situated on the main avenue . We were able to access a brand new market accross the road for food and drinks to have in our kitchenette in our room. The Inn is situated in a perfect location where we were able to get the local buses to acces Maho and Philipsburg . By the time viewers read this, a new French pasterie shop "Sarafina's " will be opened attached to the Inn where one will be able to have some of the best pasteries on the island. This Inn is also perfectly located by some of the best restaurants on the island.

The Inn is located right on the lagoon where you can view the beautiful multi million dollar yachts and acrcoss the road from the Simpson Bay beach. The owners also operate " Turtle Tours Boat Rentals " directly from the Inn where you can rent a boat on your own and guide yourself through the lagoon.

Alex and Diane
Ottawa,Canada

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Let me get right to the point:

* Hallway and room smelled of cigarette smoke and worse yet...sewer. Yes, the sewer had been pumped out that very day! And No, the smell did not go away!
* Very unclean room. Bathrooms had open drain ways, tiles missing, mold and mildew and very old.
* No hot water! Almost No water pressure. Could not take shower.
* One towel, one facecloth and they were very dirty and threadbare. One had blood stain and had hair in it.
* No soap, not even in the kitchen but there was hand sanitizer.
* No hair dryer. No bath mat. Shower curtain stained with mold and mildew.
* Kitchen area very bad shape. Door fell on foot, coffee pot did not work, microwave did not work, no towels, two stove burners encrusted with food and rust. Cast off cutlery, glasses, dishes and cooking utensils.
* Bedside tables falling apart and only one night light working... sorta.
* Beds; thin and uncomfortable. Threadbare linens and old pillows. One per bed.
* No WI FI.
* No "free wine or water"...Cost $10. & $2. (signed posted on fridge...including cost of condoms)
* RESTAURANT UNDER CONSTRUCTION! Sunday morning drilling and banging @7:00 am!
* No parking. Park at own risk across street.
* Party beach. Not family beach. Dirty and not the best St Maarten has to offer.
Nothing good to say about this place. Nada one!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank narpa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2011

We remember you and your parents well. You were in need of a place to stay for only one night at the end of your vacation and we were glad we could help out. Unfortunately, we were unable to make you happy during your brief time with us because although we provide free WI/FI in every condo, we do not provide computers. We provide a complimentary bottle of wine to every condo, but not to every person. The optional shopping list in each unit is for the convenience of our guests for additional needs, not for what has already been provided as complimentary. Our condos are non-smoking and the marking on the towels are simply a stamp from the laundry service for sorting purposes. Regarding the construction in the front of the property, we are so proud to now have a fabulous bakery for our guests to enjoy! We believe we have said enough and an educated consumer reading your review can draw their own conclusions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed in Room 4 for one night as needed to be close to the airport for a next morning flight to Saba. Came in late and Susan and Diane had our key in mail box waiting. Water and wine cooled in refrig. Next morning they opened early so we could pay and check out early. Room was clean and comfy w/ full kitchen (we didn't use as no time). Location was great for restaurants. Bar across the street had kareokee the night we arrived. Our room was very quiet but not on the street side. Cab ride to and from airport $10 for 2.

Only negative was the shower. Hand held shower head leaked, water flow very low. More like taking a sponge bath than a shower.

I would certainly stay at Liberty Inn again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monicajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed 2 nights before flying out of the airport. Restaurants are all walkable, grocery 1 block walk, and Simpson Bay beach with beautiful sand is right across the street. Not a crowded beach and I had it all to myself for a while! Susan and Diane will help you with any questions on the area. We had a very comfortable studio room decorated with antiques, kitchen, a deck and great view of the Simpson Lagoon's beautiful yachts. Some are 2 bedrm, with yacht basin view or other rooms look across the road to the beach and the sunset. Renovation going on to add a lovely bakery in front, but did not interfere with the room accommodations.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Was not impressed when i came out of the cab,because the front area is under going repairs,but after going to the reception area and meeting Susan,everything changed. I was warmly welcomed and greeted with a bottle of wine. My room was spacious and clean with a lovely view from the balcony of the ocean. I had a very good night's sleep, the bed was very comfortable. My taxi arrangement was made by Susan when i arrived for airport the next morning. My taxi was right on time and he came to my door to meet me.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reginabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews