We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”
Review of Liberty Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Liberty Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Simpson Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2015

It was our first visit to the island to stay in a hotel, and searching for hotels we found this lovely location and booked it. We were not disappointed, as the owners make sure you are taken care of and they helped to make a gig number birthday for my wife special as well. Location is the best, walk to the beach, catch a bus out front, walk across the street for Happy Hour, head up to the marina and watch the yachts come and go; close to the airport, a grocery store within walking distance and excellent restaurants in the area. They can give you good recommendations for happy hour places as well where to eat.
we truly enjoyed the stay as they suggested we change rooms to a view of the waterway in the back, it made a big difference. If you want a central location on the island, this is the place to book.

Room Tip: book a room at the back of the hotel to see the waterway and yachts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2015

My wife and I returned to St. Maarten for our 5th visit. We have always stayed at the Liberty Inn. Sadly, last year we had to stay elsewhere because there was no availability at the inn. So, we made it a point to book early this year and had the most wonderful vacation of all! Since our last visit there have been many pleasant changes like new flat screen tv's and charging stations in the rooms. The thing that hasn't changed is the unbelievable hospitality of the owners, Susan and Diane. I hesitate to write this as the Inn has become more and more popular and I risk being shut out next year when I try and book but they are so wonderful they deserve the positive recognition.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We went here purely on the reviews as they are clearly excellent. I must say that it lived up to its reputation in terms of location, price and hospitality. The pictures are very accurate which i appreciate and in fact its nicer than the photos give credit for. In all honesty, I think the price could be a bit lower though given that it is very basic but i also understand that its about the lowest price in the area so it is fair.

The owners are very kind and will go out of their way to ensure you have a good experience. I would however, work on some issues like the bed. I understand it is not the Westin but i think more efforts should be made to ensure people on vacation are sleeping comfortably. I hate to sound picky but the bedding was pretty outdated, not breathable, neither warm nor comfortable-almost irritating. and the bed itself feels very old and not conducive to quality sleep. I understand that you get what you pay for but i do feel we paid in the range of comfortable bed. There is also a strange smell which is likely just moisture but i think the place could benefit from some air fresheners or fresh flowers.

At the end of the day i have no regrets about going to Liberty Inn. It was fun, safe-it was local and perfectly positioned to travel the island and really the owners are just good people not looking to make a quick buck. There were some noises from the bar across but that doesn't really bother me. If you are a sensitive sleeper i would take ear plugs.

I would definitely consider going back if some of the above changes were made. Anyway thank you for a good experience! This island is the best winter vacation i have ever had, hands down.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Just the outstanding value deserves five stars but wait, there’s more. The location is probably the best on the Dutch Side. Everything you would want is within walking distance but it is relatively quiet. Sure, there may be music at one of the restaurants nearby but it didn’t bother me. There was the huge party and concert for the Heineken Regatta across the street but I barely heard it.
The owner/managers were outgoing and very helpful. They addressed every concern immediately. The room was clean and had everything I wanted, including a view of the bay. The place is Caribbean charming and well maintained, which I love. Some like the familiarity of a Newark Airport Hotel room; this place is not for them.
The kitchen had a refrigerator, cooktop and microwave, no oven, but I didn’t come to bake bread. They do not supply beach towels, but I did not ask.
The power outlets and voltage are the same as in the US but seldom are there enough of them for the gadget laden traveler. I suggest bringing a multi-tap or, better, a multi-port USB charger and several cords. Whenever one travels. Never plug kitchen or hair appliances into a multi-tap.
Every room is different, some on two levels so I suggest contacting Liberty Inn so they can meet your needs and preferences. This place is a real gem.

Room Tip: Call or email. Every room is diferent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

This hotel is convenient. It is close to the airport, to a beautiful beach, to restaurants, to a casino, and to a grocery store. A movie theater is also within walking distance. A breakfast is not included. The local van/bus runs right in front of the hotel and makes traveling to other spots on the island quite easy. The owners try their hardest to make the visit enjoyable. Be sure to ask them for advice, recommendations, or help with your unit. Beach towels are available as are extra keys. There is no way to get into a unit without your keys. We talked to several guests that had been locked out. Just ask and you shall receive (another set of keys, that is). In summary, it's a great place to stay, the owners are ready to help in any way, and being able to fix some meals in your unit is very economical. It was a great visit and we hope to return. Thanks to Susan and Diane.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK-Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libertyinn-sxm, Owner at Liberty Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Susan, thank you for your wonderful review. Of note to the readers, as we are an official B&B, breakfast should always be offered as an option on any website that we participate. If that is not the case, please contact us directly and we will explain to you all of our available choices. We offer the breakfast as an option rather than automatically include it in all of our plans because breakfast is not something every guest desires.
Also, it is not uncommon for guests to lose their keys, so we keep our private doorbell on 24 hours a day for those types of occurrences. Susan, you were a delightful guest and we hope you visit us again! Cheers! Susan and Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simpson Bay hotels
0 km away
The Horny Toad Guesthouse
The Horny Toad Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Simpson Bay
114 reviews
0 km away
Simpson Bay Suites
Simpson Bay Suites
#10 of 13 in Simpson Bay
37 reviews
0 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Baker's Suites
Baker's Suites
#5 of 13 in Simpson Bay
74 reviews
0 km away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
0 km away
Commodore Suites
Commodore Suites
#4 of 13 in Simpson Bay
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Inn

Address: 76 Welfare Road, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Simpson Bay
Price Range: €81 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Liberty Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short ride from the airport, we have it all! Beautifully furnished and fully equipped condos for long-term, short-term or just one night stays! We are home to the famous French restaurant, The Taste Factory! Their pastries, croissants, salads, sandwiches and entrees are unsurpassed anywhere in the Caribbean! We also have dinghy tie up from our own marina where you can view some of the most magnificent mega yachts in the world!! Just across from us is a fabulous beach where you can swim all day and enjoy the live entertainment at night! Nearby are casinos, fitness centers, nightclubs, and other fine restaurants. You don't even need to rent a car because everything is within walking distance. Come, relax and enjoy all that the Caribbean has to offer ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing