We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“one of a kind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karakter

Karakter
Ranked #10 of 107 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Specialized in healthy and delicious food, Karakter offers only the best: the best smoothies, salads, wines, beers, cocktails, tapas and lunches. Our lounge chairs, wooden couches and lounge cushions, paired with amazing white sand and a perfect blue sea, complete the ultimate Caribbean experience. Karakter. Your total beach experience. Just relax and we will take care of the rest...
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“one of a kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We go to St Maarten every year and never tried
this place. Trip Advisor listed good reviews so
we went, wound up going four times in two week's.
Loved the beach the food and the service. Can't
wait for next year. D.M.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    322
    92
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of my favorite beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great there early when they open around 10 or you won't get a chair.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emoore22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Okay beach, pretty good food, big crowd, exciting aircraft take off and landings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Obviously people have heard of this beach bar/restaurant - they even have someone in the parking lot to help folks find a place for their car. The service was good even with the rather large noon day crowd. The food was above average. We thought that by arriving by 10:30 we might win a couple of seats on the beach with an umbrella but wow, our fellow vacationers were way way ahead of use so we accepted the offered picnic table on the terrace overlooking the bay and enjoyed ourselves, the food, the drinks and the active crowd of ALL ages. Worth a trip.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bankofdad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
“A Must in SXM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Been to Karakter twice (on seperate trips) and each time did not dissapoint! It's a School Bus Bar right on Simpson Bay and it's a great place to relax and soak up the sun. They have lounge chairs and bean bag chairs right on the beach and there's no charge to use if you buy food/drinks.

For tapas we had the Bruschetta with Tomato-Caper Salsa & Bruschetta with Goat Cheese, Pecan Nuts & Honey, Crab Cakes (with Pineapple Salsa and Chili Sauce) and Coconut shrimp (with a Worcester-lime mayonnaise). Everything was so fresh and delicious! Had a couple Vodka Min Tings which were also amazing.

It's the perfect place to have some cocktails and excellent food while enjoying the beautiful view of Simpson Bay. Definitely plan to go back on our next trip!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IHeartSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant/bar on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We happened upon this great bar/restaurant when we stayed at Horney Toad Guesthouse this past January. What fun we had. There was a bonfire right on the beach, and we enjoyed eating in beach chairs right near the water! The waitress was so much fun.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thevandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karakter also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Karakter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing