We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a fun place.”

La Cigale Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Baie Nettle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: For the last 17 years, owner Stephane has welcomed you to the palm groves of the lagoon at Nettle Bay where, watching the sunset over the lagoon, you can enjoy the gastronomic, gourmet cuisine in an idyllic setting. Chef Malory Leroux offers daily specials sourced from the market's daily offerings, without forgetting the signature dishes: foie gras in truffle oil, lobster raviolis, Wild French sera bass. Mathieu Maini, the pastry chef, is constantly searching for new creations, such as the already famous strawberry macaroon. La Cigale brings a touch of delicacy which rounds off your meal with finesse. The wine menu, without doubt one of the richest on the island, will undoubtedly seduce you. If reservations are encouraged, it is because this corner of paradise, very busy during the season, is the ideal spot for a romantic dinner. (gift certificate - honey moon - weddings - Private Diner)
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We went here for happy hour and stayed for dinner. The food, atmosphere and staff were terrific. We going to now include this is one of our favorite restaurants to visit.

Thank BigFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

One of the best services we have experienced in a long time. Highly professional and friendly staff . You could see and taste that the chef had very high ambitions. Service and food like in a Michelin star restaurant.
We cannot wait until the next time we have the chance to return.
Thanks for making our day into something special!

3  Thank Micael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Had dinner and speaking with one of the owners was very open about provenance of food , no lying about it being local , he told us that they received fish 3 times a week from Paris in fact they had mussels from New Zealand (delicious)and on menu it was clearly stated unlike other places.very interesting menu, good service and very tasty

3  Thank everhopeful2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cigale s, Directeur général at La Cigale Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review, we were happy to host you at la cigale. We hope to see you next time,

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Cutest waitstaff... yummy food, great service and absolutely beautiful, quaint atmosphere. Would love to go again!

Thank takemiaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cigale s, Directeur général at La Cigale Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's important for us to have also the great feeling and not only the bad one.

We were very happy to host you, say hello to Charleston!

You can follow us on instagram!
Kind regards
La cigale team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Booked this restaurant for our last night in St Martin 8/8/17 - was highly rated AND recommended by friends that had visited previously. Saw the 8/6 review stating they ordered room service after their visit and became nervous. The setting is nice and the meals looked fantastic when served. I had the sea bass and I would rate below average. My wife had the lobster and it was by far the worst lobster we had on the trip. It was difficult to cut with a knife. This was our only negative meal on our visit. I do believe something has changed as La Cigale has great reviews AND it was highly recommended from friends who have visited previously. Hate to be negative....The wine was good :).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 387jasonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cigale s, Directeur général at La Cigale Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Jason, we are very sorry to read that you had a bad experience with us. We really don't understand this two very bad reviews on few days. We don't have this type of rate and complains during all the year with thousand customers who came to La Cigale?
So.... if something has changed, it could be also from the people who visit us... Something strange is happening.

It is the same chef since many years, with the same products, with the same service team, with the same owner.....

We will be most attentive to everything. We apologize again, regards.

La cigale team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cigale Restaurant also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Maho, Sint Maarten
 

Been to La Cigale Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing