We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, lowkey authentic French! The BEST!!!”
Review of Bistro Nu

Bistro Nu
Ranked #12 of 91 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We were regulars to St. Martin for 25 years, and then Bistro Nu (after we discovered it I don't know how many years ago), but then life got in the way. We returned to St. Martin and Bistro Nu yesterday. I believe ownership has changed at Bistro Nu, but it makes no difference. Actually, if anything, it's better! Love classic French food, and Bistro Nu has it in spades. And, there is something for everyone. I'm a sweetbreads, foie gras, chicken liver (hopefully you get the idea) type of girl. My husband, not so much. We both had a fabulous meal - Sweetbreads for me, a seafood ravioli for my husband. Even the french fries my husband ordered were perfect. And, yes, I know that french fries with a rich seafood ravioli probably doesn't appeal to most people. In short, Bistro Nu is a charming restaurant with delicious food and kind, attentive service. If you're into food, don't miss this restaurant. One the absolute in St. Martin.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DiscerningDaytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcpsxm, Gérant at Bistro Nu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thank you for you comente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is in an alley so outside no view but very relaxed. Inside, well look at the pictures, charming and perfectly decorated. The service is excellent and the food top. The menu is extensive with all fresh ingredients, almost too much to choose from so good for some more visits.

Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcpsxm, Gérant at Bistro Nu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup de votre visite et de vos commentaire qui sont très agréables nous esperont vous revoir bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We were recommended to experience a true French style menu and meal in Marigot in St. Martin. We loved to cozy ambience of the eatery and the wonderful service shown us by the staff. The meals were generous and flavorful and not over priced. Extremely clean and very colorful decor. We plan on returning to St. Martin next year and will be back to enjoy this jewel of the caribbean.

Eric & Jackie D.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domingo37, Gérant at Bistro Nu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thanks a million for your great feedback!
Can't wait to welcome you anytime soon Eric,
Jean-Claude, Gérant, Bistronu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Bistro Nu is tucked off down an alley off the main drag in Marigot right across from the soccer stadium. It seemed safe to park near the food truck-but I wouldn’t want to do this alone or at too late at night. The food is classic and country style French. Every dish was absolutely heaven. Although the ambiance is a bit crowded and not very fancy, the food is as good as anywhere on the island.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BoilerDaveNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domingo37, Gérant at Bistro Nu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you! We really appreciate your comment on the food as we are enjoying taking care of our customers with very typical French cuisine!
Jean-Claude, Gérant, Bistronu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

After several years of passing by, finally we visited this restaurant. It is a perfect example of a traditional French Provencal cuisine with the Creole influence. The menu is extremely well thought, the flavors are extremely well balanced, and the service is attentive, friendly, and prompt. From the appetizers to desert you will get classical homemade French food or classical Creole dishes. The setting perfectly matches to the food – You are seated in Caribbean cottage decorated in French style. The only possible complain could be the portion is too big, but the price is more than reasonable. The Chef Jean-Claude Paineau deserved nothing else but the best compliments.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fmly-Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domingo37, Gérant at Bistro Nu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thanks a lot, I really appreciate your comment and your feedback !!
Thanks a million,
Jean-Claude, Gérant, Bistronu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Nu also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Bistro Nu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing