We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
L'Esperance Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alicia's Inn(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Vicky's Keys(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Heights Hotel(Oyster Pond)(Great Value!)
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Bay Beach Resort(Oyster Pond)(Great Value!)
US$258
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveller rating
400
348
66
33
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
348
66
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront streetbreakfast was includednespresso machinecruise shipst maartenjunior suiteshort stayboard walkshopping districtocean view roomhotel guestsgrand casenight lifelounge chairsan umbrellasimpson bayships
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 870 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

We came to St Martaan using points during the low season so our choice of hotels was limited. We found the Holland House rooms to be spacious, well appointed and clean. The bathroom is stocked with everything you need including a hairdryer. The room itself has a safe, a refrigerator, a tea kettle and a Nespresso machine. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the boardwalk and beach. The daily breakfast included a cold foods buffet, juices, milk, coffee or tea and the option to choose a hot item from the menu all of which was quite good.

While we found some of the staff to be a bit standoffish (which seems to be a common problem on the island), Vincent, the daytime desk person, was delightful and very helpful. The front desk staff arranged for all of our taxis, a rental car, dinner reservations and a massage.

My only complaints about our stay were that the air conditioning in our room was extremely noisy (It made a loud vibrating sound every time it came on so much so that it occasionally woke me up) and that the hotel is situated directly across from the cruise ship dock so our view was blotted by a different cruise ship every day. The presence of the ships also dramatically changed the atmosphere of the area. On the one day there was no ship in port, many of the shops, bars and restaurants were closed. And, when they were in port, the beach quickly filled up with cruise ship people. In general, we found the Dutch side to be more touristy and less peaceful than the French side.

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend the hotel as long as you're ok with the daily influx of 'cruisers'.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Went back with my wife to celebrate 25th anniversary. So bear with me since I'm going to jump around on everything.Airport is great especially leaving with the amount of shops and places to eat, drink and smoke.Yes they have a smoking room inside airport after you check in upstairs.When you get there and go outside there is a taxi station where they ask you how many occupants and they call you a cab(hail a cab).Its regulated that you don't pay more than 20 bucks for 2 people.There are others that kind charge up to 80 dollars so make sure you ask how much before you get in cab.Dont be afraid to ask questions or say no to anyone.Its your hard earned money and plus if they get offended you won't ever see them again so be assertive but kind.The hotel is about 15 to 20 minutes depending on traffic.
The hotel is modern and great free wifi.The beach in the front near the boardwalk is great and the water is perfectly calm.The first 20 feet in the water is all sand and then transitions to seaweed or kelp.Its near where they launch jet skis and they are people that come up to you if you want to buy stuff or offer aloe massages.Just kindly say no and they move on.Wifi is also good on the beach, it bumps off once in awhile but just wait till it finds the signal again.The chairs are free to and towels are available near the outside bar.Just sign in your name and write how many you are taking...then return them for new ones or just drop them off when you are done.Leon that was there was awesome bartender who can accommodate you with drinks, food and cigarettes.He will bring the stuff to you at your chairs.There are umbrellas also with the chairs and a small table.They add 10 percent service charge on everything and if you want to give extra it's totally up to you.I always give a little extra since they work hard.Now not everyone there are happy campers.Just like everywhere in the world some are miserable and some are happy to accommodate so expect a wide variety of attitudes and personalities.I tip accordingly.The rooms are great...we had street view though but we hardly spent anytime in the room.There is a balcony but the railings are not meant to keep little ones through so be careful if you go with kids.Safe is in the room, and also coffee machine, 2 bottled waters that are replaced always everyday,shampoo,conditioner,shower gel,sewing kit, shower caps, tissues, blow dryer, up close mirror and flat screen tv.Ceiling fan and as is available. Newspaper is given outside door everyday and housekeeping is great and accommodating.The restaurant the Ocean lounge is known to be one of the best in the island and we can attest to it.Even if you get the tapas menus and sit in the lounge you can't go wrong.The front boardwalk is awesome with shops and other bars (Dirty Sanchez is awesome).The cruise ships come in daily and that's when everything gets busy.After it leaves the town shuts down after 5 o'clock.So be prepared that there is nothing to do unless you take a cab to Simpson bay or anything near the airport which is more commercialized.So make sure you get everything you need and do all your shopping before they shut down.The back street has more stores, local and high end shops.So if you want souvenirs, jewelry, clothes, suntan lotion, pharmacy or anything you forgot from home they have it.There are dogs that roam the beach and love to sometimes lounge under your chair.Dont be alarmed for they are friendly and are taken care of by the locals.They are great dogs and yes they are well taking care of...I thought they were hobo dogs but by looking at their pearly white teeth they are well taken care of even though they roam the area.The elevator is great and stairs are available if choose to do so.Very clean and laid back with light music playing in the lounge.There is no room service but I did go downstairs and order food to carry out and they were accommodating.They even were willing to deliver to our room...of course I tipped them a little something but were very helpful.So if you want some tranquility try the Holland House and leave your worries behind.If you have any other questions or concerns please don't hesitate to contact me through TripAdvisor.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stingrayalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

I stayed for the first time at this wonderful hotel. My girl friend and I arrived on Friday June 8th and left on Tuesday June 13, her birthday. The accommodations were great, the hotel staff, couldn't do enough for you, and I mean everyone associated with this hotel were super friendly and helpful our entire stay.

The lady at the front counter, her name is Luisanny Martha. She was extraordinarily helpful, as an example. She asked us what we were doing just hanging around and not visiting all the amazing area's to see. Well long story short, she turned us on to two great restaurants, a Sun set Cruise and a beach called pearl Island. She made our stay fantastic. The restaurant Skip Jacks, we were able to choose our lobster and hold it. I picked a three pounder, and this lobster was huge and so tender, A great meal. We also had a great meal at Big Fish restaurant, for my girlfriend birthday dinner. Another great place to eat.

Thank you Luisanny for your kindness and thoughtfulness in making sure we had a great time, you are the best at what you do.

Room Tip: The rooms on the West side are all beach front and the rooms on the East side are facing the street were you go to shop.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELCUBANO1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel is probably the nicest out of all hotels in Phillipsburg. It looks like it has gone through recent renovations, and the service here is friendly.....HOWEVER, why must it be so dang loud? This was supposed to be a relaxing vacation with my husband, but the music was blasted and very disruptive.

The pros:
Decent beach
Good view from the hotel room (we reserved a beachview room)
Friendly service
Comfortable bed
New bathrooms
Breakfast buffet

The cons:
Very loud property
Unrelenting solicitors on the beach
No service on the beach (you had to get your own drinks)
Restaurants nearby are expensive and havr no local flare
Asked for the highest unit but only got 2nd floor

All in all it was a good value hotel but we will not be coming back because it was too dang loud.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Nice property with modern upgrades. Severely understaffed. 20 minutes to get service in bar area. Restaurant has a great view of the beach but same service issues. Entes took an hour and everyone seemed fairly put out about our inconvenience. I get island time, but the restaurant is trying (not succeeding) to position itself as 5-star. Lastly, rooms positioned on the street side have the added benefit of listening to thundering base of Phillipsburg local cars driving by. When we called the front desk about a room change, they said there was nothing they could do. Would not come back.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Elchilangoylaguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews
<