We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful well run hotel but wish we hadn't stayed in Philipsburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The hotel arranged for a car to be waiting for us (they usually ask Donovan who also happens to be choir director at the historic old church). The charge is added to your room so no need to pay the driver (other than a tip). We were welcomed heartily by Vincent who is the life and soul of this hotel - always laughing and smiling and always ready to help in any way he can. He's you go-to man here.
We had an ocean facing room which was well worth paying the little extra for e.g. waking up to see five wild parrots in the tree directly outside the balcony. The bed is very comfortable; the room has a well-stocked Nespresso machine and two bottles of water every day. You need to use bottled water in the Nespresso machine as the tap water has a high chlorine content. The bathrooms are also modern, clean and well laid out with plenty of space but the water pressure is low and you frequently need to flush the toilet twice.
The breakfast buffet has a good choice of content with good quality croissants, fruit, bacon, sausage, eggs, cereal and a fresh hot dish such as omelet or benedict is included in the price.
If the beach bar is open you sign towels out from there and return them there, at other times you have to go down into the basement at the side of the bar and get a towel from the hamper. The beach bar is often run by the lovely Chenise (sp?) who makes good conversation and great margaritas - highly recommended!
You can tell this is the best around when on the Sat night the Governors of Aruba, Curacao, and St Maarten were all here (and all at the historic old church the next morning for the 9am service).
The one drawback is Philipsburg itself. It has been ruined by the cruise ships and turned into a tawdry street of jewelry and booze shops and the boardwalk is full of cheap'n'cheerful bars with not much quality and a very poor choice of beer everywhere (unless you like light lagers in which case you're OK). We ended up hiring a car and spending most days on the beautiful beaches and excellent restaurants on the French side.
The island's hidden gem is Friar's Beach which is secluded and quiet with great sand and two good restaurant bars. Generally leeward beaches away from the windward Atlantic coast are the best.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for ocean facing room but on a higher (quieter) floor since the bar is outdoors b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

We came to St Martaan using points during the low season so our choice of hotels was limited. We found the Holland House rooms to be spacious, well appointed and clean. The bathroom is stocked with everything you need including a hairdryer. The room itself has a safe, a refrigerator, a tea kettle and a Nespresso machine. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the boardwalk and beach. The daily breakfast included a cold foods buffet, juices, milk, coffee or tea and the option to choose a hot item from the menu all of which was quite good.

While we found some of the staff to be a bit standoffish (which seems to be a common problem on the island), Vincent, the daytime desk person, was delightful and very helpful. The front desk staff arranged for all of our taxis, a rental car, dinner reservations and a massage.

My only complaints about our stay were that the air conditioning in our room was extremely noisy (It made a loud vibrating sound every time it came on so much so that it occasionally woke me up) and that the hotel is situated directly across from the cruise ship dock so our view was blotted by a different cruise ship every day. The presence of the ships also dramatically changed the atmosphere of the area. On the one day there was no ship in port, many of the shops, bars and restaurants were closed. And, when they were in port, the beach quickly filled up with cruise ship people. In general, we found the Dutch side to be more touristy and less peaceful than the French side.

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend the hotel as long as you're ok with the daily influx of 'cruisers'.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Went back with my wife to celebrate 25th anniversary. So bear with me since I'm going to jump around on everything.Airport is great especially leaving with the amount of shops and places to eat, drink and smoke.Yes they have a smoking room inside airport after you check in upstairs.When you get there and go outside there is a taxi station where they ask you how many occupants and they call you a cab(hail a cab).Its regulated that you don't pay more than 20 bucks for 2 people.There are others that kind charge up to 80 dollars so make sure you ask how much before you get in cab.Dont be afraid to ask questions or say no to anyone.Its your hard earned money and plus if they get offended you won't ever see them again so be assertive but kind.The hotel is about 15 to 20 minutes depending on traffic.
The hotel is modern and great free wifi.The beach in the front near the boardwalk is great and the water is perfectly calm.The first 20 feet in the water is all sand and then transitions to seaweed or kelp.Its near where they launch jet skis and they are people that come up to you if you want to buy stuff or offer aloe massages.Just kindly say no and they move on.Wifi is also good on the beach, it bumps off once in awhile but just wait till it finds the signal again.The chairs are free to and towels are available near the outside bar.Just sign in your name and write how many you are taking...then return them for new ones or just drop them off when you are done.Leon that was there was awesome bartender who can accommodate you with drinks, food and cigarettes.He will bring the stuff to you at your chairs.There are umbrellas also with the chairs and a small table.They add 10 percent service charge on everything and if you want to give extra it's totally up to you.I always give a little extra since they work hard.Now not everyone there are happy campers.Just like everywhere in the world some are miserable and some are happy to accommodate so expect a wide variety of attitudes and personalities.I tip accordingly.The rooms are great...we had street view though but we hardly spent anytime in the room.There is a balcony but the railings are not meant to keep little ones through so be careful if you go with kids.Safe is in the room, and also coffee machine, 2 bottled waters that are replaced always everyday,shampoo,conditioner,shower gel,sewing kit, shower caps, tissues, blow dryer, up close mirror and flat screen tv.Ceiling fan and as is available. Newspaper is given outside door everyday and housekeeping is great and accommodating.The restaurant the Ocean lounge is known to be one of the best in the island and we can attest to it.Even if you get the tapas menus and sit in the lounge you can't go wrong.The front boardwalk is awesome with shops and other bars (Dirty Sanchez is awesome).The cruise ships come in daily and that's when everything gets busy.After it leaves the town shuts down after 5 o'clock.So be prepared that there is nothing to do unless you take a cab to Simpson bay or anything near the airport which is more commercialized.So make sure you get everything you need and do all your shopping before they shut down.The back street has more stores, local and high end shops.So if you want souvenirs, jewelry, clothes, suntan lotion, pharmacy or anything you forgot from home they have it.There are dogs that roam the beach and love to sometimes lounge under your chair.Dont be alarmed for they are friendly and are taken care of by the locals.They are great dogs and yes they are well taking care of...I thought they were hobo dogs but by looking at their pearly white teeth they are well taken care of even though they roam the area.The elevator is great and stairs are available if choose to do so.Very clean and laid back with light music playing in the lounge.There is no room service but I did go downstairs and order food to carry out and they were accommodating.They even were willing to deliver to our room...of course I tipped them a little something but were very helpful.So if you want some tranquility try the Holland House and leave your worries behind.If you have any other questions or concerns please don't hesitate to contact me through TripAdvisor.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stingrayalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

I stayed for the first time at this wonderful hotel. My girl friend and I arrived on Friday June 8th and left on Tuesday June 13, her birthday. The accommodations were great, the hotel staff, couldn't do enough for you, and I mean everyone associated with this hotel were super friendly and helpful our entire stay.

The lady at the front counter, her name is Luisanny Martha. She was extraordinarily helpful, as an example. She asked us what we were doing just hanging around and not visiting all the amazing area's to see. Well long story short, she turned us on to two great restaurants, a Sun set Cruise and a beach called pearl Island. She made our stay fantastic. The restaurant Skip Jacks, we were able to choose our lobster and hold it. I picked a three pounder, and this lobster was huge and so tender, A great meal. We also had a great meal at Big Fish restaurant, for my girlfriend birthday dinner. Another great place to eat.

Thank you Luisanny for your kindness and thoughtfulness in making sure we had a great time, you are the best at what you do.

Room Tip: The rooms on the West side are all beach front and the rooms on the East side are facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELCUBANO1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel is probably the nicest out of all hotels in Phillipsburg. It looks like it has gone through recent renovations, and the service here is friendly.....HOWEVER, why must it be so dang loud? This was supposed to be a relaxing vacation with my husband, but the music was blasted and very disruptive.

The pros:
Decent beach
Good view from the hotel room (we reserved a beachview room)
Friendly service
Comfortable bed
New bathrooms
Breakfast buffet

The cons:
Very loud property
Unrelenting solicitors on the beach
No service on the beach (you had to get your own drinks)
Restaurants nearby are expensive and havr no local flare
Asked for the highest unit but only got 2nd floor

All in all it was a good value hotel but we will not be coming back because it was too dang loud.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
4 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
4 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
9.6 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
5.3 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 45 | Saint Martin, Philipsburg 00393, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: €181 - €274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing