We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2017

I stayed for the first time at this wonderful hotel. My girl friend and I arrived on Friday June 8th and left on Tuesday June 13, her birthday. The accommodations were great, the hotel staff, couldn't do enough for you, and I mean everyone associated with this hotel were super friendly and helpful our entire stay.

The lady at the front counter, her name is Luisanny Martha. She was extraordinarily helpful, as an example. She asked us what we were doing just hanging around and not visiting all the amazing area's to see. Well long story short, she turned us on to two great restaurants, a Sun set Cruise and a beach called pearl Island. She made our stay fantastic. The restaurant Skip Jacks, we were able to choose our lobster and hold it. I picked a three pounder, and this lobster was huge and so tender, A great meal. We also had a great meal at Big Fish restaurant, for my girlfriend birthday dinner. Another great place to eat.

Thank you Luisanny for your kindness and thoughtfulness in making sure we had a great time, you are the best at what you do.

Room Tip: The rooms on the West side are all beach front and the rooms on the East side are facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELCUBANO1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel is probably the nicest out of all hotels in Phillipsburg. It looks like it has gone through recent renovations, and the service here is friendly.....HOWEVER, why must it be so dang loud? This was supposed to be a relaxing vacation with my husband, but the music was blasted and very disruptive.

The pros:
Decent beach
Good view from the hotel room (we reserved a beachview room)
Friendly service
Comfortable bed
New bathrooms
Breakfast buffet

The cons:
Very loud property
Unrelenting solicitors on the beach
No service on the beach (you had to get your own drinks)
Restaurants nearby are expensive and havr no local flare
Asked for the highest unit but only got 2nd floor

All in all it was a good value hotel but we will not be coming back because it was too dang loud.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Nice property with modern upgrades. Severely understaffed. 20 minutes to get service in bar area. Restaurant has a great view of the beach but same service issues. Entes took an hour and everyone seemed fairly put out about our inconvenience. I get island time, but the restaurant is trying (not succeeding) to position itself as 5-star. Lastly, rooms positioned on the street side have the added benefit of listening to thundering base of Phillipsburg local cars driving by. When we called the front desk about a room change, they said there was nothing they could do. Would not come back.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Elchilangoylaguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

This is a very old property that has been refreshed. The one thing they did not do on the last remodel was replace the old sliding glass doors. They are single pane and allow a ton of noise from the street in, if you are staying on that side of the hotel. The elevators are miserably slow and small. Still, the rooms are nice and the baths have nice amenities. The onsite restaurant and bar are decent, but there are loads of options nearby. If you want to stay in the hustle and bustle of Philipsburg, this is a good option, but I would have preferred a quieter location. The beach chairs and service on the beach is very good.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We decided to stay in Phillipsburg for a couple of days during our St. Maarten holiday. we chose the Holland House because of it's race and charm. The rooms were very well-priced because our stay was right after the high-season. The lobby is airy and includes a friendly and well-appointed bar that opens on to the beach. The hotel's restaurant is down the stairs towards the beach, and offers a great complimentary breakfast. The room was clean, well-appointed and overlooked the beach. There was a perfect patio that was perfect for afternoon drinks and morning coffee from the Nespresso machine. Very comfortable rooms, bedding and amenities. The room included complimentary beach chairs and towels. We were very happy with this hotel and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Beach view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Crewdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
4 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
4 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
9.6 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
5.3 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 45 | Saint Martin, Philipsburg 00393, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: €181 - €262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing