We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
402
349
66
33
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
349
66
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront streetbreakfast was includednespresso machinecruise shipst maartenjunior suiteshort stayboard walkshopping districthotel guestsocean viewgrand casenight lifelounge chairsan umbrellasimpson bayships
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel is probably the nicest out of all hotels in Phillipsburg. It looks like it has gone through recent renovations, and the service here is friendly.....HOWEVER, why must it be so dang loud? This was supposed to be a relaxing vacation with my husband, but the music was blasted and very disruptive.

The pros:
Decent beach
Good view from the hotel room (we reserved a beachview room)
Friendly service
Comfortable bed
New bathrooms
Breakfast buffet

The cons:
Very loud property
Unrelenting solicitors on the beach
No service on the beach (you had to get your own drinks)
Restaurants nearby are expensive and havr no local flare
Asked for the highest unit but only got 2nd floor

All in all it was a good value hotel but we will not be coming back because it was too dang loud.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Nice property with modern upgrades. Severely understaffed. 20 minutes to get service in bar area. Restaurant has a great view of the beach but same service issues. Entes took an hour and everyone seemed fairly put out about our inconvenience. I get island time, but the restaurant is trying (not succeeding) to position itself as 5-star. Lastly, rooms positioned on the street side have the added benefit of listening to thundering base of Phillipsburg local cars driving by. When we called the front desk about a room change, they said there was nothing they could do. Would not come back.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Elchilangoylaguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

This is a very old property that has been refreshed. The one thing they did not do on the last remodel was replace the old sliding glass doors. They are single pane and allow a ton of noise from the street in, if you are staying on that side of the hotel. The elevators are miserably slow and small. Still, the rooms are nice and the baths have nice amenities. The onsite restaurant and bar are decent, but there are loads of options nearby. If you want to stay in the hustle and bustle of Philipsburg, this is a good option, but I would have preferred a quieter location. The beach chairs and service on the beach is very good.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We decided to stay in Phillipsburg for a couple of days during our St. Maarten holiday. we chose the Holland House because of it's race and charm. The rooms were very well-priced because our stay was right after the high-season. The lobby is airy and includes a friendly and well-appointed bar that opens on to the beach. The hotel's restaurant is down the stairs towards the beach, and offers a great complimentary breakfast. The room was clean, well-appointed and overlooked the beach. There was a perfect patio that was perfect for afternoon drinks and morning coffee from the Nespresso machine. Very comfortable rooms, bedding and amenities. The room included complimentary beach chairs and towels. We were very happy with this hotel and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Beach view on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Crewdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

A nice hotel. The rooms are modern and well equipped. Ask for a room facing the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good . The restaurant is well designed and the food ok. Probably the place to stay in philipsburg.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank traveller_eu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews