We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beachside Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Escaped the Chicago cold for 5 days with my husband and stayed at Holland House. Location was great, right on the beach, close to lots of restaurants/bars and Bobby's Marina, plus a short walk to cabs and buses. Staff was friendly, recommending lots of fun things to do while we were on the island. Breakfast was good and had a nice selection. Rooms were large, clean, and had a great view from the balcony. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting St. Martin.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 201 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2016

Each year we come here in january and February to sit and watch the world go by.
In front of us the hotel outside, shaded bar, then the beach then that beautiful sea, boats and ships. Perfect for a cool break away from the hot and busy shopping scene behind us..

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank manaos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I would stay there again. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Our stay included the breakfast buffet. It offered a nice variety of food. The room we stayed in was a small ocean view room on the 4th floor. It was clean, maintained, and had a great view. The room was directly over the lounge. On Friday night there was a corporate event with a band. My wife and I enjoyed the music. Things settled down around 11pm. The hotel is on the Phillipsburg boardwalk which is very scenic and has a lot of activity. However, the area caters to the cruise ships clients. Prices are a little higher than normal, and most restaurants/shops close down at dusk.

Room Tip: Great views in the ocean side rooms on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank landmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights after spending 3 nights on the French side. We had also just completed a week cruise and wanted to get more of a taste of St. Martin. We thought the hotel was just great. Kind of reminded me of being in a boutique hotel on South Beach, Miami. Everything is new. Bed is comfortable. Great view! Staff provides superb service. Very attentive on the beach. The cruisers come to rent out beach chairs which can be annoying but that was expected. Location is not ideal. Phillipsburg is literally just for a cruisers stop. However, great shopping! We would never come to that part of the island for our vacation. It was just convenient for us as we only had a few days and it was NYE. They have a NYE event.

The NYE event was so-so. Don't bother going to the dinner. Food was mediocre. Just go to the party.The music was horrible early in the evening (bad wedding music), though got better. Great fireworks display. Some advice for the event staff,-buy more NYE hats/headbands as ppl like these corny things. They gave one hat per table. Afterall, we are spending about 200$. They saved most of them for the ppl coming to the party.

Overall, if you are wanting to spend a few nights in Phillipsburg than this is the only hotel you should stay at.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AllieJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Spent 4 nights here with my husband and son expecting a relaxing escape from the cold in the northeast. St. Martin delivered, the Holland House fell short. To be fair, the room size was adequate, beds were comfortable, wireless was nice, and restaurant was good. However, and this is huge, we could not sleep a single night all the way through due to all of the noise coming from the lounge area. The first night, there was an event at a nearby restaurant that we could hear as if it was in the same room. The second and third nights were disturbed by the rowdy people at the bar, lingering until after 11 pm, shouting over the excessively loud music. That stuff ended by midnight, and then there was the barking of the wild dogs that roam the beach. That went on for an hour or so around 4 or 5'oclock in the morning. The final evening, we returned home from dinner to what seemed to be a company party, complete with a band and about 150 attendees. From our room (beach view, I assume all of us experienced the same) the band may as well have been in our room. So loud. Unacceptable!! Don't come to this hotel if you're looking to relax. There's no chance.

Room Tip: Beach view is nice, but you're going to hear everything that goes on in the lounge, and the wild...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rkat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
4 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
760 reviews
0 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
4 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
2.5 km away
L'Esperance Hotel
L'Esperance Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
69 reviews
5.3 km away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 45 | Saint Martin, Philipsburg 00393, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: €181 - €275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), West Indies, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing