We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
402
350
66
33
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
350
66
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront streetbreakfast was includednespresso machinecruise shipst maartenjunior suiteshort stayboard walkshopping districthotel guestsocean viewgrand casenight lifelounge chairsan umbrellasimpson bayships
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights after spending 3 nights on the French side. We had also just completed a week cruise and wanted to get more of a taste of St. Martin. We thought the hotel was just great. Kind of reminded me of being in a boutique hotel on South Beach, Miami. Everything is new. Bed is comfortable. Great view! Staff provides superb service. Very attentive on the beach. The cruisers come to rent out beach chairs which can be annoying but that was expected. Location is not ideal. Phillipsburg is literally just for a cruisers stop. However, great shopping! We would never come to that part of the island for our vacation. It was just convenient for us as we only had a few days and it was NYE. They have a NYE event.

The NYE event was so-so. Don't bother going to the dinner. Food was mediocre. Just go to the party.The music was horrible early in the evening (bad wedding music), though got better. Great fireworks display. Some advice for the event staff,-buy more NYE hats/headbands as ppl like these corny things. They gave one hat per table. Afterall, we are spending about 200$. They saved most of them for the ppl coming to the party.

Overall, if you are wanting to spend a few nights in Phillipsburg than this is the only hotel you should stay at.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AllieJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Spent 4 nights here with my husband and son expecting a relaxing escape from the cold in the northeast. St. Martin delivered, the Holland House fell short. To be fair, the room size was adequate, beds were comfortable, wireless was nice, and restaurant was good. However, and this is huge, we could not sleep a single night all the way through due to all of the noise coming from the lounge area. The first night, there was an event at a nearby restaurant that we could hear as if it was in the same room. The second and third nights were disturbed by the rowdy people at the bar, lingering until after 11 pm, shouting over the excessively loud music. That stuff ended by midnight, and then there was the barking of the wild dogs that roam the beach. That went on for an hour or so around 4 or 5'oclock in the morning. The final evening, we returned home from dinner to what seemed to be a company party, complete with a band and about 150 attendees. From our room (beach view, I assume all of us experienced the same) the band may as well have been in our room. So loud. Unacceptable!! Don't come to this hotel if you're looking to relax. There's no chance.

Room Tip: Beach view is nice, but you're going to hear everything that goes on in the lounge, and the wild dogs that bark very early in the morning.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rkat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Very nice stay at this hotel for a wonderful price. We had an ocean view room with a balcony and it was lovely. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Wifi was okay, but not a great connection sometimes. Fridge in the room. Bathroom was fine, I wish there had been a bathtub though. Only a shower with a tiny half glass door which was not very well thought out considering water frequently sprayed all over the bathroom floor.
Food was good at the restaurant and breakfast was also very delicious with a wide variety to choose from. Staff seemed friendly and service was quick. The beach is located across the boardwalk and beach chairs and umbrellas are available. Beach service is available and will bring drinks and food which is very nice. Get out there early on cruise ship days because it gets crowded quickly as the hotel will rent chairs/umbrellas to cruise ship patrons for a fee. Water is very clear and calm in front of the hotel. Walking distance to all the shops, etc in Philipsburg. Take a taxi to the French side because that is where all the good restaurants are located. Have a wonderful stay!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank L0ve2TravelallOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We've never stayed at the hotel, but my partner have been here for drinks several times. They have a stunning outdoor lounge that is right on the boardwalk. It offers good drinks at a reasonable price. If you go just before sundown, it you'll be treated to one of the most beautiful sunsets you'll ever see.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

Loved staying a few nights at the Holland House prior to departing on a Tradewinds sailing trip. Rooms were lovely with all modern conveniences. Lobby, bar and lounge areas were all open to ocean view. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our only disappointment was the food. Buffet breakfast was included in our room rate and was adequate. We ordered nachos twice from the beach server and both times they were out of them. Our one dinner there was not what we expected. Underwhelmed yet overpriced. It was a let-down considering it was the most expensive dinner during our entire 10 day trip. Stay there but eat dinner elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pjwenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews