We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$284
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/05/21
Hotels.com
US$284
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/05/21
Belair Beach Hotel
US$309
US$181
View deal
SAVE US$128
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$309
Booking.comUS$309
TravelocityUS$284
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
280
231
80
34
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
280
231
80
34
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gingerbread cake second bedroom on site car rental bel air bit dated an older resort mini mart living room room number small pool st maarten onsite restaurant ocean view through rci grocery store chairs and umbrellas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2018

I checked out of Belair on 12/1/18 owing $222.50 and charged my credit card for that amount. On 12/3/18 I received an email that due to Belair’s error the amount should have been $251.00. I immediately emailed Belair requesting how they wanted me to settle the error. When I received my credit card statement I found that Belair charged my account $251.00 on 12/1/18 w/o my permission. Completely unacceptable. Not the $28.50 difference that I was willing to pay, but the way the situation was handled. Charging my account without my permission is the reason I will NEVER visit Belair again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Passport06641315971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnergyEvans, Director at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2018

Good day to you Passport06641315971;

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. After reviewing the documentation and emails, It seems that the acknowledgement of the correct figure was made but the method of repayment was the issue. I do understand your frustration in the way that the payment was done and maybe the method of how the additional funds would be debited was lost in translation via email which could happen sometimes.

I also noticed that, outside of this issue, and based on your general survey that the customer service, the ambiance and your overall experience at Belair Beach Hotel was a good one. I am very happy with this and hope that this will be a deciding factor in your next visit to St. Maarten as well. We do hope that after your overall evaluation, you will consider us for your vacation needs.

Thank you once again for sharing and we wish you a wonderful holiday experience and a great transition into 2019.

Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

Pros: check in can be arranged as early as 1pm. The beach is amazing, and balcony/patio makes you feel like you are officially on vacation (good size), flat screen TV(s), beach and chair reservation “for the whole stay”, security guards 24x7, convenience store and car rental on site.
Cons: service is hit or miss (some are good and some are not)- this is probably the biggest downfall of this hotel, ants everywhere, loud HVAC, room layout bedrooms next to the hall - with the lights ‘on’ all night, beach towel service - no clean switch throughout the day, outdated hotel (lobby decor, cafe decor, room furniture, beach chairs caved in), lack of entertainment, check out time is early at 10am and, it is very slow (most units wait until the last possible minute to settle accounts, because it requires to give the towels back).
We like the island and plan to be back, but more than likely not to this hotel. If you can afford a better hotel, do so. If you can’t, then make the best out of your visit and you will have a lovely vacation. Enjoy!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank V1aj3r5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnergyEvans, Director at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2018

Thank you V1aj3r5 for your review;

One of the good aspects of reviews is that you get to understand more of the your clients needs, what worked and what did not work. We are happy that, in your review, you rated us 3 out of 5 and listed the benefits of staying at Belair Beach Hotel. We're sorry that your experience was not the same as most, however we have taken note of the challenges that you faced and will look into them immediately.

We take our customer satisfaction very seriously and we work diligently to ensure that all issues are resolved while you're still at the hotel. Unfortunately we may have missed you in our pursuit to make your stay a wonderful one and we do apologize for this.

We are excited, however, with the plans that we do have for our hotel. In the previous responses, we have encouraged our guests and we encourage you too, to be a part of our growth and progress. We have and plan to continue to upgrade our facilities and we do look forward to sharing the continued enhanced facilities with you each year.

We do hope that you would reconsider us for your vacation stay on St. Maarten as we continue to, in collaboration with other stakeholders, enhance our product at The Belair Beach Hotel.

Happy vacation planning!!

Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2018

Our stay was good. We noticed the staff was working hard to maintain a friendly atmosphere. The property is a bit dated but found everything in order and working. Our unit had 2 bedrooms two full baths and a full kitchen. The second bedroom is most suited for children due to size of bed and room. It does have 2nd bathroom access. The TV's were all new flat screens and had mostly USA selection programing.
The Kitchen comes complete with everything you'll need including a blender, Small oven, Microwave, Stove, full size coffee maker and a large sink. Our stay was for 6 day's and found the need to use the kitchen more and more due to save some money. We stocked up on food the second day and mostly ate breakfast from the unit.
Their is a small store with a super friendly girl who keeps pricing competitive with larger stores. I only wish she stocked ice as the property relies upon the room refrigerators to provide ice which is slow to produce and not suitable amount for vacations.
We bought several bags of ice from off property grocery stores. The air-conditioner in our room was perfect. This is a big deal for me as we like cooler dry sleeping conditions. Units are central air and fantastic.
You will find you live mostly on the patio as all the units look out at little bay. We had a full view of each and every sunset. One picture we took is of Royal Caribbean blocking the fireball which added coolness to the spectacular scenes.
Starlight Rental Car is located on-site and they're fantastic. I wish I would have had them set me up with a car from the airport. Don't take a taxi. Call Starlite rental car prior to your arrival and they'll set you up with a cost effective method of transportation of about $35 per day. Rental car is a must to fully enjoy this magnificent island.
The Wi-Fi is now complimentary but routers drop the Wi-fi signal every 30 seconds.
Lawn chairs and pool towels are aged and service is weak. Your issued one small towel with no change outs all day. Fortunately we had purchased some of our own.
The restaurant and bar is the Gingerbread cafe. Kind of pricey but the happy hour is two for one. Next door at Divi resort is Gizmo's restaurant which is very good and has a great atmosphere.
The security is very good. Each and every night a large staff of guards surround the place from the beach to the road. Very friendly too.
All in all I would stay here again.

Room tip: Lower room numbers have better view of sunset and closer to divi resort. Higher room numbers are closest to Gingerbread Cafe and Pool Area.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel30144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnergyEvans, Director at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2018

Thank you Travel30144 for your extensive response;

We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that anyone staying here will spend most of their time on the porch especially with the amazing view of the Atlantic sea and the sounds of the waves rushing up to the shore. We're sorry about your experience with the towel hut and we have addressed this as you are allowed to change out towels during the day. We're happy that you'll be staying here with us again and welcome the opportunity to make that 3 star rating 5.

Happy vacation planning and please do let us know if you need any assistance in setting up your car rental with Starlite Car rental.

Sunny smiles;
Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2018

nice beach,Not new, but well maintained. Treat you well. Has auto rental , small store, well stocked and nice restaurant. Resort fine. Some of the Island not recovered from Hurricane last year and this resort no signs.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank 266bruced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnergyEvans, Director at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2018

Thank you 266bruced for your review;

Belair Beach Hotel prides itself in having a mini market, activities desk, restaurant and car rental all very close to each other which gives our guests less time to get from one point to the next and more time to enjoy the island and the beach... we try our best to make vacations a time of relaxation and enjoyment.

While many people wish for a white Christmas, we're excited when our hills are green and our beaches are various shades of blue. This year is no exception. With the most recent rains, the island looks amazingly green, glorious and rich. Each day that passes is a testimony of the resilience of the people of St. Maarten as more and more and more the island continues to make progress to ensure that the quality of service that you receive is top of the line.

Thank you very much for sharing in this journey as we continue to make great strides in having the best product in the Caribbean.

See you soon!!

Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018

While staying at the Belair, I highly recommend Patty, the massage therapist 1 (712) 523-0368. She works magic with deep massage, reflexology pressure points, warm stones and Reiki. The hotel itself has all new furniture after the 2017 hurricane. The friendly helpful staff has many excursions available. It is on the beach and is a good location to explore the rest of the island.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank V2803KCsueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnergyEvans, Director at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2018

Thank you so much V2803KCsueh for your review;

We are happy that you had the opportunity to experience Patty and many other activities that we have on our island. After our 2017 experience, we are determined to be better than before and we are making great strides in this regard. While all of our floors have not been renovated, we are constantly upgrading our facilities and look forward to doing even more internal renovations as the season slows down. This will only enhance the current product which continues to get better and better with time.

Thank you once again for your review and we do look forward to seeing you back on the island and at The Belair Beach Hotel soon.

Happy vacation planning!!

Sunny smiles;
Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews