We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”
Review of Villa des Pitons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa des Pitons
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My hushand and I stayed here, in March, 2012 and we have a wonderful time. We stayed for seven nights, and was entitled to a free catamaran cruise to the north of the Island, one of the high lights of our vacation.
Dora, Michael and the staff was very kind and absolutely marvalous. We enjoyed wonderful breakfast every morning, especially the creole breakfast. They provide a daily buffet lunch with lots of creole dishes from Sweet potato balls to christophine in a vinaigrette (never had this before but it was great). We have dinner four nights of our stay and every time, we had something different and it was exquisite. Generally, we enjoyed every meal we had at the hotel.
Our room was beautiful, with a view of the the famous, world heritage sight (The Pitons).
Some of the tours we enjoyed, are the Gros Piton trails, Pet Paul, Anse Chastenet & Anse Mamay for snorkeling. We also went fishing on a private boat charter and that was really amazing. There are lots to do in Soufriere and we look forward to our return trip. Thank you Dora, Michael, Kyle and all the Staff for one of the best experiences ever. We will difinately be back.

Room Tip: Soliel Coucher- best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a restaurant catering to large tour buses from the cruise lines, which come for lunch. They have rooms in the side.

The rooms are pleasant enough but there is no service to speak of. The owners are never available and the other staff not knowledgeable. Overall, not a great value.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montuno74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana01234, Owner at Villa des Pitons, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

I would like to first thank you for your comment and to apologize for your unpleasant experience. To say, that the owners are never there would be an untrue statement since we reside on property and also manage the business. It seems clear that you were on one of the day tours, which spends no more than an hour at the Villa, in which case I may have stepped out. We the management and staff of Villa Des Piton, try to comply to our costumers every needs, and ensure we provide the best service possible. Once again I am truly sorry that your experience with us was not what you expected. We do hope if you are ever in St. Lucia, you would allow us the opportunity to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks over the Christmas break 2011. Michael, Dora, Kyle, Freddy Kruger and all of the staff at the Villa were the best, friendliest and most genuine hosts ever! They readily offered so many interesting insights to Soufriere and advice on car hire and places to visit.Views of the Petite Piton right from our bed and so many terraces from which to soak in the best views of St Lucia!!! We qualified for the free catamaran trip up the west coast of the island and it was certainly worth it. You can walk to Anse Chastanet from the Villa (about 45mins and be prepared for some steep uphill sections). It is worth the extra 5mins walk from Chastanet to the quieter beach (and better snorkelling on the left hand side of the bay) at Anse Mamin. The chap who maintains the stone walls on this beach is meticulous about keeping the place clean and tidy and I hope he is given due recognition for his work which is beyond the call of duty. It is also possible to walk to the beach at Jalousie from the Villa (for sturdy hikers). If you do and get a drink at the hotel, make sure you get a receipt and you will qualify for the free shuttle service back up the steep hill to the main road. The shortcut around the waterfront in Soufriere will enable you to avoid the traffic on the main road out of town to Jalousie. Make sure you stop for a local meal at Martha's on the way to/from Jalousie (best meal we had on the island!).
For energetic hikers who aren't afraid of some scrambling and rope work, the guided tour up the Petite Piton with Jah I or one of his sons (he is located on the road to Jalousie and there is a big sign for his services) will make the whole trip. For the less adventurous the Tet Paul trail (just up the road from the Fond Doux estate) will provide you will some amazing views of both Pitons and some interesting information about the sustainable way of life on the island (the hike is VERY short).
In summary, if you are not looking for an all inclusive resort stay and want to be a little more in touch with the St Lucian scene, then the Villa is an ideal base from which to do this. Car hire is recommended (3 days is enough if you are comfortable hiking the rest of the time) to see the rest of the island.
We loved the Villa des Pitons and are so thankful to everyone there for making our stay on St Lucia so fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bug net.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PippaLamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have stay with the folks of Villa de Piton back in September of 2010 and found it to be a lovely place with a breath taking view of the Soufriere and the Pitons. Althought service was outstanding there were a few things here and there that could have used a make over but this wasn't a major challenge as I had a wonderful experience.
The major storm Thomas came through and place this beautiful place in a sad state, I thought it would never be the same. I was correct it"s 10 times better and just so wonderful. The owners have preformed a rebirth of Villa de Piton that has allowed the charm of Soufriere to remain but added in a lot of extras that keep the place like a home away from my home. I love the new look and changes and look forward to coming back again and agiin to visit Mike and Dora. Job well done, now I may enjoy my second home in St. Lucia again. Thanks guys !

Room Tip: Just ask for the best view if that is possiable because they all are great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caribbeanchef_19151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I went to St Lucia for my son's wedding. Dora and her family and staff made us feel so welcome for our visit. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast each morning and were served snacks and cocao tea in our room on a rainy day. The family cat and dog were wonderful hosts to the guests and greeted us everyday. We had a refrigerator with fruit and juice upon our arrival. we couldn't have been treated more graciously. They were there for our every request. The hotel is colorful, the view can't be surpassed. Our room was clean and kept cool by the air conditioning. Lots of steps!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
4.4 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
980 reviews
4.3 km away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
12.2 km away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
757 reviews
4.6 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,215 reviews
2.9 km away
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Hummingbird Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Soufriere
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa des Pitons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa des Pitons

Address: Lower La Haut | P.O.Box 262, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Price Range: €79 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside Villa des Pitons offers spectacular views over the town and the bay of Soufriere and the famous Pitons. The hotel offers two restaurants (serving breakfast, buffet and light meal lunches, and fine dining), Pool bar, two swimming pools, sundeck, Jacuzzi & Spa, and a Souvenir shop. All rooms are equipped with air condition, cable TV & Hot water. The "Standard rooms" have two queen sized beds and our "Deluxe rooms" offer fully furnished kitchenettes, locally crafted 4-poster extra king size beds, private balcony and more spacious baths. Our rates are inclusive of breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa des Pitons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Des Pitons Hotel
Hotel Des Pitons
Villa Des Pitons St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing